We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
3
9
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3
9
6
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2011

As the other reviews have noted, this place is really simple. But so is Sumba - at least for now. There is no hot water and nothing, really to do. It reminded me of the kind of lodges we used to find in Maine or the Adirondacks.

The wood frame buildings are a bit ramschackle, but our bedroom was clean and so was our bathroom. We looked out over a beautiful and empty beach, which we had all to ourselves. It was wonderful for walking and swimming.

For a very reasonable price, the staff took us on a tour of traditional villages in nearby Kodi and arranged for stops at several beaches in western Sumba that are truly spectacular.

Food was really good and so was the service. They picked us up at the Tambolaka airport for free. The drive to the resort was a short one.

There is no internet here, no TV, and even cell phone service is a bit spotty - you have to stand by the main check-in building to get service.

There are horses on the premises to ride, though we didn't try.

Word is that developers are buying up beach property all around Sumba, so this kind of experience probably won't be possible for much longer. Experience it while you can.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank planetterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2010

It's very hard to describe our stay at the Newa (pronounced Neewah) Sumba Resort. It was a combination of all that has been said but we had a wonderful time and the staff were outstanding. It was very run down and not so clean, but mainly because it was so run down. Perhaps stupidly so, we didn't realise there was no hot water, and there were a lot of power outages. The amount of food that was served to us was ridiculous. We had to ask for much less to be served.

If you're looking for beautiful beaches with not one other person there, and to visit traditional villages and also be the only people, in fact you're going to be the only people anywhere, this is the place for you. Newa has its problems but the alternative places to stay from what we saw were worse.

We had an extraordinary time and really enjoyed it. Newa has problems but it's still worth it.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This hotel provides you with your best oppotunity to relax on your own private beach. The snorkeling was pretty good just in front on the hotel. The food at each meal is plentiful and delicious, local cuisine. The staff was very accomodating and nice. They even provided us a car and driver that took us to the local villages and other beautiful beaches. Visiting the villages is a bit adventurous and not for the faint of heart, but certainly a unique experience.

We had a great time.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaag_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2008

NSR is certainly not for those who are looking for an elegant place to stay. This is not Nihiwatu and it is definitely not like Bali. The island itself is a real off the beaten track place. Just as we like it. However, it is within easy access of the airport. It took only about 45 minutes flight from Bali, away from the tourist route. For us, it is a perfect place to just relax , unwind and do nothing. We found our room and bathroom very clean. It was cleaned every day. The bed was very comfortable and there was AC. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Coming in August was a good thing since it was downright chilly in the mornings due to the Winter season in Australia. The temperature rises quickly during the day though. The food simple but mostly organic and freshly made. It's delicious homemade food. We had all of our meals there plus a snack with tea & coffee in the afternoon.

We especially like the beach. It has a blindingly white sand and very clean! Unlike some beaches in Bali where you have to watch where you sit. In most days, we were the only people here. We had the whole place to ourselves. Sometimes some fishermen boats passes by. The snorkeling is excellent. You can just swim over to the reef and encounter marvellous sights!

We happened to be there at a time when it was a full moon. So in the afternoon, the tide was really low. People from the neighboring villages came to the beach to harvest seaweed and crabs. On our last night there, there was a moon eclipse. The sky was so clear and the night was so dark that we could see the Milky Way, which thrilled our little boy. When the moon finally came out again, it was so bright we didn't need flashlights to go back to our room. Other places with electricity are miles away.

We also went on day trips which the hotel arranged. We went to Kodi beach, Watu Maladong beach (not sure if I got the name right) , traditional villages and a spectacular waterfall. The hotel was very helpful in arranging everything. They also packed us lunch.

The hotel could benefit with some TLC and the staff, though very friendly, need English lessons. The manager who lives in the premises, speaks very good English and doesn't seem to mind to assist us 24/7. We put an above average rating since we're comparing it to other extablishments we checked-out in nearby towns. They are usually not more than rooms rented by local families.

Maybe one day soon we'll go back there again. It's nice to know that there's a place to trully get away from everything. If you like a bit of adventure this is a place for you. It sure is different from the Jersey Shores!

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cmwbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2007

This resort was maybe nice a few years ago but it is sadly now looking tired and run down. The location is isolated making it difficult to get to other parts of the island of Sumba. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean but also dark and gloomy. We referred to our room as 'the cell', such a shame when one considers the fab location (overlooking a beautiful white sandy beach). The staff are pleasant but also seem a bit tired and run down. Not many guests pass through this area now and it shows! Meals are basic and this place is certainly not worth the money.

Date of stay: February 2007
3  Thank Karpy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews