We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
9
40
65
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
40
65
31
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Don't stay here if you have asthma or don't like the smell of cigarette smoke because it's everywhere, even in the bedrooms and the restaurant. Took ages to get an omelette at the egg station, and unless you are down for breakfast in time, the selection is very soon limited. There was a toast station but no bread but plenty of juice, coffee etc and some fresh fruit. Be warned.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rockiealto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 February 2018

Dear Mr. Rockiealto,

We apologize for your inconvenience that you suffered due to cigarette smoke smell during your stay in our hotel.
Now our hotel management has decided to divide smoking and no smoking area in the lobby and restaurant area.

We thank you for the comments on our services. We will take some action to improve those area immediately.


Thank you and regards,

Dewi Juita Purba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Was there for 2 nights before we head back home and the only things thumbs up for this hotel is the brekkie spread.We were amazed on how interesting the spread was till our 2nd day,we were speechless that there was absolutely nothing else on the table including bread! We then realised they were short of manpower so we waited and do people watching.

Room was clean but water from taps and shower seems yellowish rusty colour and I make sure I did not swallow them when I brush my teeth.Wifi was a sore. Very bad signal as well. Our sink was chocked in day 1 and day 2,our toilet was leaking and cannot be flush so we have to spray into the bowl after each "session" and finally managed to hv them fix it.

Room smell stale and no safe in room resulting we hv to bring our passports each time we leave our room.

No depths of indication in the pool,left us wondering where are the safety measures...

Our room was booked through our driver so we eere not sure how much per night cost but we then we found out it was charged on S$80 on normal rate where there is the rate stated near the recep area.I am sure with S$80,facilities can be improvised.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank INAYREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 February 2018

Dear Madam/Sir,

Please accept our most sincere apologies for all inconvenience during your stay with us. We thank you for bringing those issues to our attention and we will work on those areas improvement immediately.

We do have some of rooms with safe box and on progress to complete for all rooms. But we have safety box provided at our Front Desk for in house guest for free.

Thank you for remain us about depths indication in the pool, we'll take action soon.

We do hope for another chances to serve you again, with a better product and services.

We understand your disappointment and and we are very sorry for that.

Thank you for your understanding.

Yours sincerely,

Dewi Juita Purba
PA to Managing Director




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Good things about this hotel:
- Walking distance to the only decent attractions in Medan (Masjid Raya and Maimoon palace)
- comfortable beds
- friendly staff (but they don't speak English)
- Lots of ATMs near the hotel entrance
- several decent local eateries across the road + Indomaret nearby.

Bad things about this hotel:
- People smoke everywhere (it's a common thing in Indonesia). When you enter the lobby, you "fall" into a cloud of smoke. Some rooms smell awfully of smoke.
- The pool is dirty and not tourist friendly. There are very few foreigners in Indonesia, so when people who stay in the hotel see foreigners by the pool (especially women in bikinis), they get their cameras out and start filming. And if you ask them to stop, they don't understand what the issue is. Complaining to the staff doesn't help (most probably they will start filming you too)
- There are lots of mosquitoes everywhere.
- Wifi is available only in the lobby.
- There's moss on the walls in some bathrooms. We had to change the room.
- They cater for weddings and big events. Which means that all the guests from out of town also stay in the hotel. There might be 6-8 people in each room, and they start their day very early. Shouting from room to room at 5 am is completely normal. Very noisy.

The most dangerous thing about this hotel - it's one of the biggest hotels in town, and very popular with foreign tourists - therefore there are lots of cases of bag snatching and jewellery snatching in the neighbourhood. Be very careful!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elsynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraEAM, Owner at Garuda Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Elsynor

We do sorry to hear your experiences, first of all thank you so much for your comment toward our hotel, we believe for your next coming stay with us you will find more improvement toward our service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We had a big room for 3 people, even if we were only two. The sheets and the bathroom was clean. They smoke inside the building, even in the aisle, but our room didn't smell that bad. You couldn't open the window, so the air wasen't so fresh. But still it was okay in compilation to other hotels we've been.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SophieR2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraEAM, Manager at Garuda Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Ms. Sophie

Thanking in advance for your staying with us in Garuda Plaza Hotel. Thank you so much for your good comment for us, We are happy to welcome you again for the next staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We hoped (from the pictures) to come to a very nice place, and we looked forward to lay by the swimmingpool. We came and the staff was okay, but the staff was'nt really speaking english... we ordered some food but got the wrong drinks than what we ordered... ok no biggie... we went to the pool for a swim but there were no sunbeds, so we layed on the stonefloor on our towels. While we were swimming around we busted on of the staffs filming os on the phone!... we slept nice though in comfortable beds, but when we went to breakfast it was soooo crowded and filled with screaming kids... not a good experience and i think you can find way better placed for the money!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank nannakoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndraEAM, Manager at Garuda Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dearest Nannakoehler

Thank you so much to spend your holidays in medan and also to thank you for your comment toward my staffs who could not speak english well, to increase our service to all of our guest especially from abroad, at this present we have trained our staff in english speaking. for your next coming stay with us hopefully our staffs could speak english well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews