We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Formosa
Nearby Hotels
USD 39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 54
USD 47
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 60
USD 44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aryaduta Manado(Manado)
USD 52
USD 46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 90
USD 62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The 4 Fish(Bunaken Island)(Great Value!)
USD 79
USD 49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Onong Resort(Manado)
USD 98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 151
USD 125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 789
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
1
7
11
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
7
11
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Back to Manado again a bit later this year. Formosa fully booked so had to use another hotel. Not happy. Tiny room, rotten breakfast and only black coffee or tea. We left our phone number at Formosa and luckily after two days they phoned and told us they had a cancelation. We were there in 10mns. It felt like going home for us. Much nicer cleaner and bigger rooms and very good choice at breakfast and nice staff. There are plusher hotels in Manado but for the price you wont beat it. This may be our last stay here as next year our house should be built but we will still visit Formosa for a meal in the cosy restaurant and to say hello to the staff who made our stays so nice in the past.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view. Manado tua looks beautiful rising from the sea and there is often a lovely sunset. Good class rooms are still very reasonably priced.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerrySelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Back to Manado again earlier this year in May. Looked at other hotels but still stayed at formosa. We just like it. We like the staff, the cleanliness, the location, nice sea views of manado tua from some rooms and good breakfast, everything from fried rice to muffins and toast and jam. Menu for evening meals could be better but after all its unlikely you would eat all the time in the hotel. There is a good range of eateries all around the hotel from karioke bars to good fish restaurants and also kentucky chicken. The hotel menu is ok if you do want to eat in. We think the restaurant is cosy with nice views. The main drawback for some may be the absence of a swimming pool in the hotel and no beach. if you want that you would be better staying at nearby Bunaken. We have always been vary happy staying at Formosa and for the price we think its very good. We will be back in manado may 2012 and wont be staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor with a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerrySelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

british strangers in monado. liked location so stayed. clean rooms friendly staff nice views. nice restaurant and breakfast. reasonably priced. we think a little gem and will be staying there for the third time again this year [during may]

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerrySelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Went to Manado for the 1st time. No clue where to stay. Decided to give this hotel a try (3 stars hotel). Pretty basic. No swimming pool, rather small room, no bath tub. If you like local food, you'd find them surrounding the hotel. A bit far from the main mall of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikonian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mintalah kamar yang mempunyai view laut.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews