We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Historic Place in Makassar”
Review of Benteng Somba Opu

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Located in southern part of Makassar. Somba Opu Fort is a historic place. When we come here, the location on Google Map is off by about 1 km. So we lost to some location with traditional Sulawesi Houses. There is also a museum here to see traditional tribe and history of Somba Opu. The fortress itself is not like usual fortress. It is mainly a earthwork / brick-wall on only one side with semi destroyed building which was their rally point.

It is said that Somba Opu Fortress is completely destroyed by Colonial Force, so it is in the middle of uncovering project, though the project have been going on for years with slow progress

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank sunggiardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

5 - 9 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

The area is quite large, there are several traditional houses from different area/tribe/kingdom of South Sulawesi are being displayed.
The remaining of the Benteng/Fort itself is not that much. I believe it needs much more excavation, hence more everything. Just short visit to take a look at & take pictures of the remaining was all I need at that time. It needs to be taken care of more seriously if we want to attract more visitors.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank fr4nc1sc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

I am fond of historical site and was excited when I went to Somba Opu Fortress, only to find:
- Somba Opu Fortress is in poor condition, there is no clear signage on the exact location of Somba Opu Castle entrance. Hence, the taxi driver dropped me like 15-20 mins walk to the "real" entrance. Tips: you should ensure you go to the entrance of Gowa Discovery Park, from there you can see the entrance of Somba Opu Castle.
- Technically - you can only see the remnants of the bastion and no other else. Although there are replicas of traditional houses of South Sulawesi tribes, either you can not go inside due to it's locked or a group of people rent it for events.
- I managed to walk to the bastion which took 15-20 mins walk from the entrance, there was not much to see, spent 10 mins to take photos and called it off.
- Make sure if you go using rented car, as there is very limited public transport in this premise.

The story behind this fortress is very inspiring, sadly it is not well maintained.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Itsjamesnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Sadly this place is not very well managed, but it's interesting nevertheless. The wall itself is already run down and you have to walk about 10-12 minutes from the entrance to reach it. At first I was confused where the wall/fort is because there's no clear map or signs to give you directions. There's nothing to do here apart of sightseeing, which you can finish in within 15-30 minutes. There's a lot of different traditional ethnic houses from different parts of Sulawesi but what I find weird is that there's people going in and out of the area using scooters, so the whole location seems so urban already. From the city center it took 15-20 minutes to get here by car. Not really a must visit but if you can't go to Toraja yet curious of what the infamous Toraja houses look like, you can go here to see the replica.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank pictureperfect06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This wonderful site is in need of some freshening up. There is still much to see and it's a good place for a quiet evening stroll.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benteng Somba Opu also viewed

Makassar, South Sulawesi
Makassar, South Sulawesi
 
Makassar, South Sulawesi
Makassar, South Sulawesi
 

Been to Benteng Somba Opu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing