We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one day spa trip review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“one day spa trip review”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

i didnt actually stay in the resort as i only went for the one day spa trip.

the spa was pretty good! 2.5 hrs of massage, scrubbing, soaking in the tub with flowery stuffs that are supposed to help u relax (i dunno what they are :p).. overall pretty good experience. i paid about 150SGD for the whole package, which includes the ferry, the spa and a lunch. as i went alone, the lunch was a little too much for me. there were 3 dishes and 1 soup. quality of food.. so-so, but i wasnt expecting the best so..

i took the first and last ferry to and fro Bintan from Singapore. therefore i had about 2-3 hours of free time after we minus off the spa, lunch and traveling time. great! i spent it on the beach. nice view but u are not actually on the beach. there are a few beach chairs and umbrellas lined up near the beach, where u can watch pple kite surf and listen to screaming girls going on repeated banana boat rides. that sucks.. but overall still a pretty quiet place as the beach is a good 1hr car ride away from the jetty, thus making it not so popular for tourists.

i will definitely consider going back again as this is the best spa package i can find for a really quick R&R getaway. the only one-day package available!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NeeGooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    144
    129
    38
    24
See reviews for
80
135
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tanjungpinang
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I spent our family holiday on Chinese New year 23-25 Jan 2012.We have a wonderful vacation while staying at resort. Our rooms has balcony and sea facing. The staffs are friendly and helpful.

Food served tasty with many choices of meal on breakfast.

We have experience our vacation with satisfaction.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bintan_island
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanjung Pinang, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This resort is really good enough for my family and me,especially the Family Room which locate in the hill,has a nice garden view and sea view , all the facilities were great! Towel was cleaned, and the single bed in Family Room was huge.This resort also has 2 restaurants , one is called Asiana Restaurant is a Western Food Restaurant and the other one called Sun Moon is a Seafood restaurant,the seafood was fresh and delicious .
If we want go to Bintan Cabana Beach Resort ( Bintan Agro sister resort ),it will provide us a free shuttle bus.At Bintan Cabana Beach Resort the water is very clean,the sands are very white and no crowds when we were there. We had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariani l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Overall, decent stay. Spent 4 nights there, Sunday through Wednesday. The weekdays were quiet--very nice to be able to avoid the hordes.

The photos on the website are deceptive. The resort is nowhere as fancy as the photos look. The good beach is at Bintan Cabana, about a 15 minute ride away by (free) shuttle. Clean water, marine life (hermit crabs!), quiet, no crowds when we were there. Agro has most of the facilities. There is a simple cafe at Cabana. Good food, friendly staff. There is also good, affordable no frills food at the Agro bistro, nice friendly staff. Would have liked more local and vegetarian food options on the menu. Excellent sour sop juice! Good breakfast buffet--Not stellar, but simple, good variety and coffee was very good.

The rooms were okay. Clean enough, but there was no shower curtain (yes, there was a curtain rod) so the bathroom flooded after every shower, which was kind of gross. We had a room overlooking the pool and had a partial sea view (obscured by a big tree). Sun Moon had good food but a little pricey by Indonesian Standards. Did not use the kayaks or other of the marine sports facilities, as they were pretty expensive. Did not do island hopping either. With its expanse of clear, calm, shallow water, Cabana would seem a logical place for kayak rentals, but there were none.

One part of the resort that marred our experience was the mini zoo, whose presence at a beach resort, in itself, is bizarre. Management absolutely NEEDS to deal with this issue. The zoo is on the "under construction" end of the resort, away from most of the action. It was a very sad collection of animals. The housing conditions were terrible. There were a few caged rabbits on a raised enclosure, with a wire floor. No clean grass or appropriate bedding. There were parrots in small cages, with no source of mental stimulation. There was a concrete pen with a few tortoises crowded in a small pool filled with filthy water. There was a separate pen with a pair of chickens. The hen looked sick and miserable, and did not move while we were there. She was crouched in her little enclosure. A rooster was in there with her. His feathers looked bad. NONE of the animals had clean fresh water. In fact, two pens had NO water when we were there. We checked on three separate occasions. We spoke to the front desk about the lack of water at least twice. Most of the staff looked confused. Then someone indicated they would talk to "landscaping" about it. Next day? Still no water.

The resort has a lot of space, and if they insist on having a mini zoo, they could certainly provide good, humane conditions for the animals. They sure have enough staff hanging around to take better care of the animals. My advice would be to start with simple internet research on what constitutes appropriate housing for the animals they have.

Here are two good starting points for management, which I hope reads these reviews:
http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/small-pet-care/bird-care.aspx
http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx

Overall, good for the beach and clean water at Cabana, good for the food at Agro. Good getaway from Singapore.
If anyone visits, please check on the animals and make sure they have water. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
244 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The resort is old and has not have good service. But that aside, what is really irritating is they intentionally mislead people by putting crystal clear waters and nice beaches which ARE NOT their property but you need to take a boat to reach that island, and can only spend a couple of hours. You pay SGD60-80 for the trip.

Their own beach is muddy water not suitable for swimming at all, with rocks and sludge. I think the resort should be honest. They have NO swimmable beach at all.

Rooms and service so so. Swimming pool always crowded. They have a swimming "pond" near their lobby. For kids only. Really not worth the effort going there.

Room Tip: Ask them if they have a nice clean beach or if you have to take ferry and pay to go to an island for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.9 km away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
569 reviews
40.8 km away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
38.9 km away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,500 reviews
35.4 km away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
36.0 km away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Property: Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km. 36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price range (per night): $91 - $163
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Agro Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the East coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing