We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden resort in Surabaya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Surabaya
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Set with many trees and big pool.
Bed extremely comfy...
Polite. Friendly and helpful front office. Big tumb
The house keeping was very help full.
Can not tried the breakfast due short trip...
Clean room....

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ChelikIsmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear ChelikIsmu,

Thank you for staying with Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites and thank you for taking your time to share with us your stay experience.

We are excited to receive your positive feedback and definitely it will be shared among the team. Your feedback will surely become a motivation for the team to continue in maintaining the same service quality, or even better.

We hope that you continue to choose us as your preferred Hotel. As such, we are always looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Ganjar Laksmana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Bed is extremely comfortable and room is very very spacious. The general architecture and atmosphere is great. BUT I would like it is it was a little cleaner in the public spaces and if the food was better. (Food was actually horrible). Cleanliness could be largely improved: the chairs in the dining room were totally dirty.

Room Tip: We got the garden view room, and it was great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Alexia L,

Greetings from Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Thank you for taking your time to inform us on your experience during your time at the hotel.

Having read to your writings, we sincerely apologize that few issues were not up to your expectations. Please rest assures that we will address these issues to the related department for further follow up as we avoid for the same issue to occur again in the future.

We hope that you still reserve the confidence for the hotel. We believe that should you returned to stay with us again, you will experience a more enjoyable stay compare to the previous one. Thank you

Sincerley,
Ganjar Laksmana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The hotel will meet the expectation for those who loves resorts style hotel. Landscape wise - it's quite nice. Currently staying in room 343 with garden view. It's literally room with giant old tree at the front - so not quite a garden view.
Room is very nice, well done. They picked timeless interior style - i can tell that this is an old hotel but the ambience is not creepy like some of old hotels (pardon my superstitious). Garden and resort is typical novotel hotel elsewhere.

The room - I like it, comfortable bed , very spacious room, very nice interior. Hygiene standard is met. Bathroom - Almost Perfect - I wish they add more amenities (i could not find showercap, apparently it's provided upon request). This room has balcony, so for those of you who smokes, this actually helps.

Okay now let's speak about the service. Now i understand why this hotel don't deserve 5 star title. Services have been very basic - as basic as budget hotel. There is no door man, no concierge. Upon arrival you'll meet receptionist with very basic hospitality skills. There is nothing wrong with these ladies, but you would expect more from hotel in novotel level. It's surprising that they only have security guard to carry my luggage.

Lobby doesn't cater guest needs for meeting point - they only have small pastry shop so this means they don't have space if you have somebody that picks you up. another thing was that they don't have access for disable in the lobby and they uses stair much (i didn't see elevator in this hotel)- so i'd imagine it would be difficult if you travel with elders with wheelchair or kids with stroller.

The waiter in the cafe works very..very.. very... slow.. It was also surprising for me that the waiter asked me to come to him when i asked for the bill (i actually wanted to laugh so hard as this is a very very rare case for a service in hotel). Congrats novotel surabaya, you're the first :)

Overall is just okay. When you are running out of option, novotel is convenient enough for international traveller. If you are local, i would recommend you Artotel (for you with lesser budget) or Bumi Hotel for those with extra pennies, the discrepancy is not that much.

Recommended for : solo traveller or couple that wants quite time. Not very much for family. I would say that novotel surabaya should not be in your top of the list of option when you travel to surabaya

Value for money : No (i think my office paid IDR 850k for a night through agent), i would pay for IDR 400k. I would recommend you Bumi Hotel for this price although you need to pay slightly higher)

Location : just average

Will be back : Only if i don't have better option

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gparamitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear gparamitha,

Thank you for choosing Novotel Surabaya as your preferred accommodation during your time in the city. We glad that you would spend your valuable time to share with us your concerns.

Having read to your feedback, we regret that few of our product and services still not meet your expectations. Relates to the your concerns on our F&B service, we have taken an appropriate measure to resolve this issue. We pay our utmost concerns on the services quality that you have mentioned and definately improvement has been made.

Trust that you still choose the hotel as your preferred accommodation should you returned to the city again. As such we are always looking forward to welcoming you back in any near future. Thank you

Sincerely,
Ganjar Laksmana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We have had an exceptional experience every time we stay at this Novotel. An attentive and interactive staff combined with luxurious accommodations make this an obvious choice for couples or families. See our friend Trias for any needs during your stay, and you will be guaranteed a wonderful trip!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank wernzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear wernzd,

Thank you for staying with Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites and thank you for taking your time to share with us your stay experience.

We are excited to receive your positive feedback and definitely it will be shared among the team. Your feedback will surely become a motivation for the team to continue in maintaining the same service quality, or even better.

We hope that you continue to choose us as your preferred Hotel. As such, we are always looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Ganjar Laksmana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I've stayed in this hotel several times, but with the new renovations to the rooms, it feels like you're not in Surabaya anymore. This Novotel has a really chill Bali vibe that relaxes you with the center pool that gives off this relaxed feeling of the resort. My 3-night stay was OK, could be better with some minor improvements.

I got some mosquitos in my room, and some ants that were eating my welcome cupcakes, maybe some fumigations and planting lavenders on the huge garden pool would be wise to reduce the number of insects.

The AC froze because apparently it can't be turned down too low. I think it's time to update the AC or just make sure that it cannot be turned too low (below 10 C) otherwise you will need to put it to outside temperature (+30 C) so the ice melts, and it melts all over in front of the bathroom.

Breakfast was OK, I think it could be better if they do not just serve halal food.

Room service was great, the foods are delicious and fast, and most are available 24 / 7. The pizzas are fresh, and it's unfortunate that it isn't available 24 / 7.

There are no elevators or ramps for disabled guests to get to the lobby as far as I know, which is quite weird.

Curtains are really good to block the light.

Room Tip: Get pool access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ivander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganjar_Laksmana, Manager at Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Ivander A,

Thank you for staying with us and to share your valuable experience during your time in Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites. It is a pleasure to receive a positive feedback.

We will share your experience to our team. We believe that this feedback can be a motivation for our staff to continue in improving our quality of services to our guest. For issues that may or has happened, your suggestion and comments is paramount for the hotel.

Related to your concerns over the mosquitoes and ants, we have taken an appropriate measure to resolve this issue together with our pest control team. We regrets that such unpleasant experience should happened during your time at the hotel.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the previous one.

Sincerely
Ganjar Laksmana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
1.2 km away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#32 of 137 in Surabaya
712 reviews
3.1 km away
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences
0.4 km away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#19 of 137 in Surabaya
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Fairfield by Marriott Surabaya
3.5 km away
Garden Palace Hotel
Garden Palace Hotel
#45 of 137 in Surabaya
289 reviews
3 km away
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
#34 of 137 in Surabaya
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Address: Jl. Ngagel no. 173-175, Surabaya 60246, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range: $53 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the main business district of Surabaya. For business trips and holidays, this hotel is the perfect destination, offering conference facilities, a fitness centre, outdoor pool, tennis courts, activities and Dolfi Kids Club. Our 209 well appointed rooms offer comfort and convenience. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax and unwind in one of our two bars. This is not just a business hotel, but a holiday resort in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Surabaya Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing