We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
4
42
30
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
42
30
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fried rice tugu hotel hot water colonial mansion bits and pieces java dancer rooms are large train station alun alun malang city reasonable price dutch architecture ac
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the gate next to Tugu Hotel very late at 1AM. We were shocked since it was so dark, no one was there and it looked like a long-abandoned building.

After we got to the lobby, everything went alright. Staff were super nice. We got a spacey room with huge glass windows and bathtub with a warm shower. Yes, everything looked old (and might feel creepy if I had stayed alone) but we had a good sleep and shower.

Breakfast was delicious classic Nasi Goreng, tomato juice (too much sugar!) , tea/coffee and banana.

The swimming pool looks nice, but the area - like most part of the hotel - needs a facelift. The hotel has a really great potential to be a nice and budget version of Tugu Hotel.

Location was great. Whether you're going around on foot, by becak (rickshaw), taxi, angkot (public van), GoJek (online motorbike taxi) and Uber; everything was easy!.

We had the hotel keep our backpacks for two days while we were staying in Batu. Came back to pick them up and called the taxi to the airport from there. The staff were helpful.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank OpaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

nice inn... I felt comfortable enough to stay here with my friends. The location is very strategic, near Town Hall, train station, and markets. This inn is old, but it is still god. I loved the furniture here, and wooden Javanese crafts. This inn is so exotic, no wonder many foreigners come to spend the night here.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank lidwinaarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The Splendid Inn is an old Dutch colonial establishment which hasn't changed much over the last 70 odd years. Furnishings and fittings add to the overall feeling of being transported back in time. Its a bit rough around the edges but that is to be expected from such an eccentric old 'lady'. It also has a pool which was a great relief from the humidity. We enjoyed 5 days of relaxation and good service while in Malang. I would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: rooms are all a bit worn but clean, the back of the hotel is quieter..
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitcrunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Old big rooms, not.too clean
Perfect location and if renewed would be a good.hotel because the building has.some stymied this hotel would cost 150.000 (its more expensive) my review would be good because for a low budget hotel is ok

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank joaquin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

the room is good enough for traveller who want to find some new experience about old and classic hotel in malang. The location is strategic , in the center of malang city, you can go everywhere without afraid of distance.

be enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IGedeAuditta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews