We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of a complete facelift”
Review of Splendid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splendid Inn
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Malang
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This is a very tired and run down place that is dark and dingy and somewhat eccentric. It does have a huge amount of character and feels somewhat homey and relaxed. The room we were given was close to the road and noisy and quite dirty. The bedding, curtains and towels were all dirty, overused and in need of replacement. The bathroom was not adequate, being very old and the shower did not work well; it took about 10 mins for the hot water to start running. The toilet did not work well.

The staff are friendly but do the minimum and sometimes could not be found at all.
The wifi did not work in the rooms. The swimming pool is clearly not maintained.

This place is cheap but not good value. Its location is excellent, right next door to the Tugu which has a very good restaurant,the Melati, which is not expensive, and has a fantastic menu. It is a short walk to the Alun Alun and to the train station.

I noticed that some of the rooms at the Splendid are being renovated so perhaps it is getting the makeover it desperately needs.

It is a shabby old place and quite dark. I may stay again if they renovate!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nztrailfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

6 - 10 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the gate next to Tugu Hotel very late at 1AM. We were shocked since it was so dark, no one was there and it looked like a long-abandoned building.

After we got to the lobby, everything went alright. Staff were super nice. We got a spacey room with huge glass windows and bathtub with a warm shower. Yes, everything looked old (and might feel creepy if I had stayed alone) but we had a good sleep and shower.

Breakfast was delicious classic Nasi Goreng, tomato juice (too much sugar!) , tea/coffee and banana.

The swimming pool looks nice, but the area - like most part of the hotel - needs a facelift. The hotel has a really great potential to be a nice and budget version of Tugu Hotel.

Location was great. Whether you're going around on foot, by becak (rickshaw), taxi, angkot (public van), GoJek (online motorbike taxi) and Uber; everything was easy!.

We had the hotel keep our backpacks for two days while we were staying in Batu. Came back to pick them up and called the taxi to the airport from there. The staff were helpful.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank OpaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

nice inn... I felt comfortable enough to stay here with my friends. The location is very strategic, near Town Hall, train station, and markets. This inn is old, but it is still god. I loved the furniture here, and wooden Javanese crafts. This inn is so exotic, no wonder many foreigners come to spend the night here.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank lidwinaarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The Splendid Inn is an old Dutch colonial establishment which hasn't changed much over the last 70 odd years. Furnishings and fittings add to the overall feeling of being transported back in time. Its a bit rough around the edges but that is to be expected from such an eccentric old 'lady'. It also has a pool which was a great relief from the humidity. We enjoyed 5 days of relaxation and good service while in Malang. I would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: rooms are all a bit worn but clean, the back of the hotel is quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitcrunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Old big rooms, not.too clean
Perfect location and if renewed would be a good.hotel because the building has.some stymied this hotel would cost 150.000 (its more expensive) my review would be good because for a low budget hotel is ok

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank joaquin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malang hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Santosa
Hotel Santosa
#40 of 60 in Malang
28 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sahid Montana Malang
1.9 km away
Hotel Serayu
Hotel Serayu
#32 of 60 in Malang
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Mirabell Hotel & Concention Hall
7.6 km away
Solaris Hotel Malang
Solaris Hotel Malang
#18 of 60 in Malang
98 reviews
0.5 km away
Whiz Prime Hotel Basuki Rahmat Malang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Inn

Address: Jln. Mojopahit, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Malang
Price Range: $23 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Splendid Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splendid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing