We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nursanti_akbar
Jakarta, Indonesia

Large Resort next to Progo River

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Apr 2023via mobile
This is not a brand new resort, but it continuous to expand. They now offer vila with private pool as well as new executive room.

I stayed at the executive room with private porch situated in front of the main restaurant.

The area of the resort itself is a downhill slope facing the Kulon Progo river. You can enjoy some activities next to the river such as badminton, chess and also rafting along the river.

With a large area of the resort, in my opinion, they need to increase the number of staff especially in regard to cleaning and house keeping so that the cleanliness will be maintained better and any room services will be quicker.

The bed is comfortable and towel is fresh. They offer a basket of local fruits which is also a nice touch.

It is worth to note that since this location is in a downhill slope, the pathway is a little bit steep, however a shuttle bus is always ready to pick you up, and transports you up and down within resort.
Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: Bring suitable shoes for walk around resort Magelang is city with high density of rain
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fransiska S, Other at Puri Asri Hotel & Resort, responded to this review
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Management Hotel Puri Asri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$228
  • Expedia.com
    AU$243
  • Hotels.com
    AU$221
  • Priceline
13.8 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$75
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$121
  • Agoda.com
    AU$64
  • Hotels.com
    AU$107
13.6 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$47
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$47
6.5 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$448
  • Hotels.com
    AU$450
  • Agoda.com
    AU$402
  • Expedia.com
    AU$506
13.6 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
AU$64
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • eDreams
12.6 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$273
  • Hotels.com
    AU$321
  • Expedia.com
    AU$363
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$361
13.8 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$112
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
14.3 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$293
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$284
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$229
  • Hotels.com
    AU$255
16.4 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$118
  • Booking.com
13.9 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$65
  • Agoda.com
    AU$56
  • Hotels.com
    AU$58
14.2 km from Puri Asri Hotel & Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Magelang
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
71
103
37
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
71
103
37
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room main restaurant large area private pool river badminton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

Been staying here a few times during the pandemic.
Now that we're looking for a long-time stay, we had asked for a quotation (multiple times) to the appointed personnel: the gentleman from Sales and some ladies from FO, who both only giving a false hope and not doing their job to at least give a rough quotation.
They also don't have synchronized answer regarding the health protocols and requirements we need to bring to the hotel.

I must say that the security, housekeeping and waitress from the restaurant are doing terrific job; such an unfortunate that those who sits behind the desk are not being empathetic and accommodating at all.

P.S. The hotel needs to be more strict with the wearing the mask policy outside the room since we've witnessed there are plenty of guest who's just mask-free every time they're out.
Put more a mandatory sign to wear a mask throughout the property please. Not only in the lobby.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cescay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PURI ASRI MAGELANG, General Manager at Puri Asri Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your valuable comments and feedback during your stay with us.
We do apologies for all the inconvenient.
We are highly appreciated as we have taken note for our review to serve better services.
Again thank you for your time and we hope to see you again in the future

Warm regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Puri asri magelang hotel & resort is located in the heart of magelang city-central java. The hotel has a big land spread with rooms and so peaceful. I like this hotel because this hotel has several facilities such as an outdoor swimming pool, bbq place, kids playground, terrace spa and restaurant with good view.
The staffs are friendly and helpful. The room is clean, good bedsheet, clean bathroom. There is a wifi in the hotel room.
Over all, Puri asri magelang hotel & resort is a good place to stay in magelang. Enjoy!

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snavi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PURI ASRI MAGELANG, General Manager at Puri Asri Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your valuable comments and feedback during your stay with us.
We are highly appreciated as we have taken note for our review to serve better services.
Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future

Warm regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2021

We stayed there during the pandemic, the hotel implements a good health procedure so we feel safe to stay there.
Lots of outdoor activities so it's very suitable during these times.
Very recommended if you are looking for a resort with fresh air and a beautiful view.

Room tip: The best view is Superior room type
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alesis05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fransiska S, Lainnya at Puri Asri Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2021

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Management Hotel Puri Asri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

I was visiting Puri Asri Hotel & Resort in December 2020.

It was located at the valley of Progo River. The resort comprises of a 20 hectare hilly area with in garden jogging tracks and many outdoor activities.

I was staying in a room located in the upper part of the resort, just across the restaurant. The room is quite soundproof despite of the loud music from the restaurant.

Room is clean and very comfortable. Guests can relax, enjoy fresh air and the landscape from the porch.

Covid-19 protocol was quite strict. Thumbs up to the management for the effort to ensure safety and comfort of all guests. Upon checking in we were required to submit rapid test result. In the restaurant, mask is mandatory, and food is served by the waiters despite being a buffet meal.

Food is simple and quite limited for the standard of 4-star hotel.

The highlight of the resort is the scenery. Beautiful mount Sumbing, is visible from many parts of the resort. Those without the view of the mountain still can enjoy the greeneries of the Progo River Valley.

Tips: It's much cheaper to book direct to the hotel compared with booking online.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank erwinelias1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PURI ASRI MAGELANG, General Manager at Puri Asri Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Management Hotel Puri Asri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020

Hidden in a fantastic and natural scenery in the center of Java, a few minutes away from Borobudur temple, this absolutely unique resort is a destination itself. You won't believe the extention of the land until you actually walk around it and its unique and pretty singular concept worth the visit.
Here, nothing but nature and breathtaking ricefields, a river, amazing swimming pools and kids areas that are authentic gifts for families and kids, but also a spa, and hundreds of rooms, divided in several categories and so well distributed in this huge resort that you will have the feeling to be alone.
The Royal Village is dedicated to super premium facilities and enjoying one of them is the most perfect way to introduce yourself to what traditional and authentic javanese luxury is: all the materials, the design of its vintage rooms and the quality of the installations are a reflection of it.
But the most unforgettable part of your visit will, without any doubt, be the people who manage the place. The staff is amazing, their smile, attention and KINDNESS are priceless and they have a genuine, pure and honest generosity you will never forget.
I highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: December 2020
3  Thank osirismartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PURI ASRI MAGELANG, General Manager at Puri Asri Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2020

Dear Ms. Martinez,

We love to have you here with us and able to enjoy Magelang in a short time.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Management Hotel Puri Asri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews