We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotel Website
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
lizdiscovers
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom

True relaxation at this beautiful and amazing resort

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Feb 2024via mobile
Superb experience, in a character full resort hotel, in serene and beautiful grounds with amazing service. This sums up our amazing stay just now at MesaStila.
From arrival to departure the staff makes you feel special. We stayed in Arum Villa which had all comforts and is very spacious. The beautiful antiques are well preserved.
The Club house has a relaxing atmosphere and reminds of the colonial pastures. We enjoyed our complimentary afternoon teas here. The food is very good, we especially enjoyed all the Indonesian dishes.
Recommend you book a spa treatment and enjoy the complimentary yoga in the morning.
You can trust the resort with booking your visit to Borobudur and Prambanam temple.
We look forward to come back at some point in the future!
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Arum villa, best to fly to Semarang as is slightly closer than Yogyakarta
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MesaStila Resort and Spa, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 19 Feb 2024
Dear lizdiscovers,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at MesaStila! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed everything from the beautiful grounds and spacious villa to the attentive service and delicious food. We're especially happy that you found the Club House relaxing and the Indonesian dishes enjoyable.

We appreciate your kind words about the spa treatments and yoga classes, and we're glad we could help you arrange your visits to Borobudur and Prambanan temples.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Your sincerely,
The Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$90
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
32.9 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$231
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
34.5 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$50
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
33.5 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$30
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
28.4 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$55
  • Priceline
22.2 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$66
  • Priceline
21.8 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$60
  • Priceline
21.0 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$87
  • Priceline
33.6 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$544
  • Expedia.com
    AU$583
34.3 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$380
  • Priceline
36.3 km from MesaStila Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Magelang
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
408
122
33
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
408
122
33
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee plantation arum villa central java jungle gym nearby volcanoes complimentary activities red restaurant yogyakarta airport hammam clubhouse yoga jamu mountains nature indonesia tour massage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2024 via mobile

It is such a relaxing and serene clean environment. What a warm welcome, an excellent villa upgrade. Everything has been thought of to ensure an optimal experience of our stay. We will definitely go back again. A taxi to travel further to Surakarta is perfectly arranged and a nice taxi ride with Slamet. A special tour of the coffee plantation, special snacks and delicious kopi tubroek!!! Delicious 3-course lunch. Our dinner was also delicious and this morning our Javanese breakfast. It is our travel program that we travel further today, but it is recommended to spend the night in the middle of greenery.

Room tip: Remember good walking shoes
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 627brendab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MesaStila Resort and Spa, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear 627brendab,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the serene environment, warm welcome, and villa upgrade. We put a lot of effort into creating a relaxing and memorable experience for our guests, so your feedback truly means a lot to us.

We are delighted that you appreciated the special touches like the coffee plantation tour, local snacks, and delicious meals. We are also happy to hear that Slamet and our taxi arrangements met your needs.

It is always rewarding to know our guests leave with a desire to return, and we would be honored to welcome you back again soon. Perhaps next time you can stay longer and immerse yourself further in the beauty and tranquility of our location.

Thank you again for choosing our establishment and for sharing your positive experience with others.


Your sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2023 via mobile

One of the most stunning resorts we have had the pleasure to stay at! The hotel is beautiful set within its own coffee plantation. Our room looked directly at a backdrop of volcanos with mighty Merapi visible on occasions.

As with nearly everywhere in amazing Java, the staff were brilliant but the standout was the food! It was off the scale good! Shame they did not do wine by the glass but that was a small irritation.

We also used the incredible Hammon Spa and pool.

We would love to go back and spend more than the two days we had!

Room tip: Get a room with a view of the volcanos.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peterhT326CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MesaStila Resort and Spa, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Dear peterhT326CH,

Thank you for sharing your incredible experience at Mesastila! We're delighted to hear that you found our resort stunning, enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, and were impressed with our staff and exceptional cuisine. We appreciate your feedback about the wine options. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a longer stay whenever you're ready to return.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2023

This is such a special place. The grounds are incredibly beautiful, the houses are wonderful examples of Javanese colonial architecture, the food is just fantastic as are the cocktails, the people are so incredibly friendly and the surroundings are magnificent.
Some past reviews have mentioned they felt the rooms are over priced. I totally disagree. Consider that you are also helping the up keep of a historically important coffee plantation and that almost every house is originally an antique Javanese house, lovingly transported to the coffee plantation by the owner to save from ruin. It is a labour of love and the entire grounds are yours to reside and explore during your time there.
Other reviews also mention that some of the rooms are dark. Yes some are however, these villas are (or inspired by) traditional Javanese homes- one from the past Sultan of Solo. Keeping cool and having dark and elegant wooden interiors were and still are all important and preferred.
This is a special place that is embracing and protecting a traditional and elegant Javanese aesthetic. It is unique and not like anything else.
Thank you for having us.

Room tip: Good to bring a bit of extra water if you want.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoannaD1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MesaStila Resort and Spa, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Dear JoannaD1117,

We're truly honored to hear that you found Mesastila to be such a special and unique place. Your appreciation for the grounds, Javanese colonial architecture, food, and friendly staff means the world to us. We're committed to preserving the rich heritage of this coffee plantation and the traditional Javanese aesthetic. Thank you for your visit, and we hope to welcome you back to our unique retreat in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2023

We booked a tour of Indonesia through Turquoise Holidays who suggested, and arranged, a fantastic itinerary for us.
The first stop on our tour was the MesaStila.
We were picked up at Yogyakarta airport by our Destination Asia guides (arranged through Turquoise) and it was a couple of hours drive north to the hotel (the traffic was extremely busy!)
The hotel is set in a fairly remote jungle area north of Magelang and has fantastic views of the nearby volcanoes and jungle. We were welcomed at the Club House with a cold drink and told about all the facilities on offer. There is a spa and gym (and even an outdoor “jungle gym”) a restaurant, sunset lounge bar, tennis courts.
There are complimentary activities including yoga, a tour of their own coffee plantation, batik, Javanese dance and a guided village walk.
The villas are set in large grounds on the side of the hill and are all very private with stunning views.
Our agent at Turquoise had mentioned that we were celebrating our 30th anniversary and we were upgraded to an Arum villa. Staff had also prepared a lovely cake for us!
The villa was very spacious and had a large “double bath” as well as double sinks and a shower. We had a covered terrace with a view of the volcanoes and an indoor dining area.
Each day we had breakfast at their Java Red restaurant which included western as well as Indonesian specialities. They also served a “shot” of jamu (an Indonesian health drink) with a range to choose from – very interesting!!
We went on day trips to the Borobudur and Prambanan temples (with Destination Asia) which are both withing striking distance.
We also enjoyed a tour of the hotels coffee plantation, saw how they process and roast the coffee they harvest and had a taste in their coffee shop. We bought some beans to bring home.
We even managed some pool time when the weather allowed.
Dinner was a mix of western and Indonesian food with amazing cocktails (Java Spice was my favourite) and some decent wines. All the food was excellent.
The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. It was quite quiet at the hotel (we only saw two or three other couples) but this gave it a peaceful and relaxing vibe.

A great place to stay and explore central Java.

Room tip: It is quite remote, and traffic is very busy, so be prepared for long drives to get around (upside: the scenery along the way is beautiful)
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mesa Stila, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2023

Dear Chocgirl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay with us and for choosing MesaStila Resort and Spa as your accommodation in Central Java. We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed exploring the region.

Our team works hard to provide excellent service and create a memorable stay for our guests, so it's truly rewarding to know that we met your expectations. We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to have played a part in making your visit to Central Java enjoyable.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to MesaStila Resort and Spa in the future.

Once again, thank you for your positive review.


Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2022

Poorly maintained villas with damp pillows & bedsheets, dark interior, low quality toiletries and spider webs in the bathroom corners. The quality of service and standard of facilities do not match the five-star hotel rates we're paying for. One particularly disappointing experience was a racist remarks made by the duty manager to us. Also, the resort is not baby-friendly, our requests to reheat our baby's food was refused with no satisfactory reason.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hen_limbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mesa Stila, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2023

Dear hen_limbri,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is extremely invaluable to us concerning to the highlighted areas for improvement.

Our room division team encompasses Housekeeping, Landscaping and Engineering always checked to the expected arrival rooms implementing 2B (Bersih/Cleanliness and Berfungsi/Fully functional) to ensure that our guests enjoy an optimum room experience contributing to a well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. Each room at MesaStila has been reconstructed and decorated from an authentic Javanese antique wooden house with art collections.

As for a basic request on re-heat the foods of your baby, we apologize for the inconvenience experienced, this should not happen as we had SOP in place to handle such a request. We are improving the communication among our team in Front Office and F&B so that such unnecessary failure will not occur again in the future.

Our pledge at MesaStila is to care and be friendly to all our guests. We implement our commitment in delivering services with a Tulus (serving with a whole-hearted) which accentuate the magnificence of the environment, the people and the culture. Built within a charming coffee plantation and surrounded by natural beauty, cool mountain-air and lush vegetation, MesaStila Resort and Spa is a perfect place to relax and unwind from the busy city life. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews