We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ubud's version of the Trendy Seminyak Pool Club Scene”
Review of Jungle Fish

Jungle Fish
Ranked #114 of 861 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Jungle Fish is a “must do” in Ubud, where you can experience swimming amidst the lush jungle, in the beautiful landscape of the Ubud area. Open-air split-level restaurant and pool bar perched on the side of a ridge overlooking the Osh River Valley, Jungle Fish is located just 10 minutes’ drive north of Ubud. It is part of the Chapung Se Bali Resort & Spa*****, a luxury Resort well known for its airy, designer, private pool Villas. Presiding over the menu is Executive Chef, Wuisan Chandra, from Borneo. He sets a new standard for the modern, Mediterranean kitchen with Greek overtones, dishes explode with bold, exciting Asian flavors. Jungle Fish sets itself apart from other restaurants by having extensive organic gardens which are scattered throughout the Resort. Price : 100 000 IDR/adult, 50 000 IDR/child, 400 000 IDR/hanging bed/cabana/cave.
Restaurant details
Description: Jungle Fish is a “must do” in Ubud, where you can experience swimming amidst the lush jungle, in the beautiful landscape of the Ubud area. Open-air split-level restaurant and pool bar perched on the side of a ridge overlooking the Osh River Valley, Jungle Fish is located just 10 minutes’ drive north of Ubud. It is part of the Chapung Se Bali Resort & Spa*****, a luxury Resort well known for its airy, designer, private pool Villas. Presiding over the menu is Executive Chef, Wuisan Chandra, from Borneo. He sets a new standard for the modern, Mediterranean kitchen with Greek overtones, dishes explode with bold, exciting Asian flavors. Jungle Fish sets itself apart from other restaurants by having extensive organic gardens which are scattered throughout the Resort. Price : 100 000 IDR/adult, 50 000 IDR/child, 400 000 IDR/hanging bed/cabana/cave.
Reviewed 5 July 2016

After reading a few press articles on Junglefish, my husband and I decided to get on our motorbikes to find this place everyone seemed to be speaking of, so we could check it out ourselves. It's an adventurous ride getting there, if you're trying to find it on your own, although some well placed signs along the road make it a little easier.

I can understand why Junglefish wouldn't appeal to everyone, especially those who come to Ubud for enlightenment and peace and quiet. But, it is what it is. And what it is, is a very trendy, pool bar, with lots of beautiful, young, people sunning themselves by the pool, taking lots of selfies and cafe del mar type lounge music playing all day.

If you go, expecting this type of environment, then you will know what you're in for, just surrender to the luxe holiday lifestyle and enjoy yourself. The location is stunning, perched on the side of a ravine that leads all the way to the river below. There's the opportunity for doing some people watching, sun tanning and cocktail drinking. When we visited, to sit by the pool there was a minimum spend of 100,000IDR (around $10AUD) which could be put towards food and drinks. We decided to have lunch and some cocktails there and ended up spending around 400,000IDR, which considering how much we enjoyed the food and drink, wasn't too bad for the type of establishment it was. You would pay a lot more at Potatohead or Ku De Ta.

The food we tried was sensational, the caramelised goats cheese salad stood out for us and was one of the best salads I have ever eaten! The pool was refreshing and shower and toilet amenities are clean and modern. the staff were polite and attentive at all times. They will provide you with pool towels for your stay there, so all you need to bring are your swimmers and a change of clothes. It's a nice escape from the heat of the day, and has a Seminyak type of vibe. A great alternative for those who want to stay in Ubud, but don't want to miss out on the lounge-pool-club vibes that you usually only find by the beach.

1  Thank MeLLe_BuRn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Management at Jungle Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear MeLL_BuRn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this very nice review. We are glad to know you appreciated our facilities and cuisine. We do our best to create a unique atmosphere and experience and we will keep improving ourselves. We hope you will come back soon to visit us, thank you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 294 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Nice view,but that's all
Been here twice,not coming back
It's hard not to notice how bad the place is being run,not just the food,but bad organization can be seen just by watching locals struggling with their work,you'll wait for everything,and when it comes it'll be disappointing..
(For example they even forgot to charge us a bottle of not cheap wine)
Too bad,potentials off place are really great,but that's all

Thank kronan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Management at Jungle Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear kronan9,

Thank you for sharing your point of view on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the dish you have chosen and we hope you will find one you would like more if you come back. Our menu offers a wide choice of different kind of dishes. We do our best to improve our cuisine, organisation and service.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

This is about maybe 30 minutes away from Ubud center......I hired an ojek to drop me off/pick me up to this place.The pool is really really nice.....and the VIEW is excellent...
The staff are friendly and very accommodating too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paolodecastr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Management at Jungle Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you liked the pool and our beautiful view over the valley. Our staffs do their best to satisfy guests and we are happy that you appreciated their service. We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

The pool is amazing.. but the food is just average.. a litle offroad before we can reach this place.. if u want to came into pool area (even if you are dont want to swim) they charge you with 100.000 rupiahs.. not a spot for food.. but if u want pool with scenery, u should try this venue..

Thank Aldo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapung, Management at Jungle Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Aldo T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you liked the pool and our beautiful view over the valley. Unfortunatly it would be difficult to control if outside guests come to swim or if they only want to seat near the pool, that's why the entrance fee was applied.
Regarding our dishes, we are sorry that you didn't appreciate the one you have chosen. As you may have seen, we have a large choice of burgers, pizzas, salads, platters to share, desserts and ice creams to enjoy near the pool... If those lights meal do not suit you, you can also eat at the lunch restaurant upstairs and choose in our mediterranean-asian fusion menu. We hope you will find something you like more next time you come to visit us. Our staff is available to assist you in your choice.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Wow, what a fantastic place, wished we had of stayed longer.
Restaurant was nice, food was great and the pool was just beautiful.
We stopped by for some lunch a quick swim.
Very reasonably priced for the scenery and attentive staff.

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jungle Fish also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing