We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate in romance & luxury ”
Review of Kubu at Mandapa

Kubu at Mandapa
Reserve with Chope
Kubu at Mandapa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 983 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 50 - USD 75
Description: A tropical breeze and the soothing sound of water set the mood at our signature bamboo restaurant. Kubu also offers an intimate space with having 9 private cocoons overlooking the Ayung river for you to enjoy fine Mediterranean-European cuisine in the option of A-la-carte or degustation menus. Further, an extensive list of European wines is accompanied for selection as well.
Restaurant details
Description: A tropical breeze and the soothing sound of water set the mood at our signature bamboo restaurant. Kubu also offers an intimate space with having 9 private cocoons overlooking the Ayung river for you to enjoy fine Mediterranean-European cuisine in the option of A-la-carte or degustation menus. Further, an extensive list of European wines is accompanied for selection as well.
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

A simply stunning setting & incredible food, I highly recommend Kubu for a special occasion. It is expensive but for us it was a once in a lifetime experience. From advice on TripAdviser we reserved a cocoon months in advance. Our booking was for 6:30pm which was right on twilight time. If I had my time again, I’d book a little earlier because there would be better light for you to fully appreciate the beauty of the setting. We chose the degustation menu option which had 8 courses & the food was some of the best I’ve ever had. Our waiter was so attentive & surprised me with a birthday cake & song. Also, they adjusted the menu for me to be gluten free as I have coeliacs disease which was very much appreciated.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank PeeDeeStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear PeeDeeStation,

Its a pleasure to read that how Kubu and the team went above and beyond to create a memorable experience for you. The team takes pride in customizing the meal to suit to majority of the requests, including the gluten free request. The culinary team would like to thank you for highlighting the 8 course served to you during you meal. We hope you will continue to spread the word for Kubu and get a chance to visit us again. Thank you.

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We reserved a private cocoon again this time and highly recommend getting one if you are coming to the restaurant

We had the 'Essential' degustation menu with wine pairing and we enjoyed every dish. They were well presented and tasty and we had such a great time that we couldn’t believe three hours had gone by when we left.

I must mention our waiter Widi who was phenomenal, thank you for looking after us so well Widi!

Thank you all for such a memorable night.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 809SarahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Sarah W,

On behalf of Widi and the entire Kubu team, I would like to thank you for your lovely comments and support. It gives us great pleasure and motivation to hear that we lived up to your expectations, even beyond. It was a great choice to take our chef’s tasting menu for your first time. Hope you will book another cocoon whenever you are back to Bali. Thanks and see you soon!

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Having spent 2 weeks travelling around Bali, we decided to make our last night special and went to the highly recommended Kubu restaurant. It did not disappoint.
We chose to have “The Essential” menu along with the suggested wines. Everything was fantastic, the impeccable service, beautiful views and amazing food. Highlights would be the ravioli and one of the tastiest helpings of beef I have ever had.
Could not recommend this experience more highly. Best food we had in Bali.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Ger F,

Thanks for writing a review of your dining experience with us. It seems that we were able hit all the marks with our service, food and ambiance during your visit. Thank you for highlighting the dishes you’ve enjoyed during the meal especially the ravioli and the beef. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back soon. Thank you (again) for your appreciation!

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Dinner was perfect, we eat my husband, my son and me. It was just perfect done. Perfect seasoning. The meat the fish everything perfectly cooked. Special Thanks to Chef Bayu and team. Also thanks to Executive CHEF Maurizio Bombini.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank WorldOfCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear WorldOfCaro,

Nothing gives us more pleasure and strong motivation than to hear such wonderful comments like yours. The team thoroughly enjoys creating such memorable moments for our guest. I thank you on behalf of Chef Bayu, Chef Maurizio and the entire team. We cannot wait to welcome you with open arms once again in the near future. Thanks and see you soon!

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

I decided to make an account. So the first place that came up to my mind is the Ritz-Carlton Reserve Indonesia.

What can i say i loveeee the people here. The level of service at this hotel was truly exceptional and hey best in class.
From the minute we arrived we experience such an amicable service.The hotel tour and very detailed explanation.
The restaurant with the most beautiful view. The rice paddies,fresh air and beautiful nature will give you the ultimate experience to enjoy lunch.

Simply unbeatable.
We will be back soon!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happyg0lucky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aghpt, General Manager at Kubu at Mandapa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear happyg0lucky89,

Thanks for such thorough review of our service, view and the overall ambiance of the resort. It is the small details that make the difference and we are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy those. As you mentioned, we couldn’t agree more that during daytime you can take in the breathtaking view of the property much clearer, but we can also assure you that nighttime at Mandapa is as magical as daytime. We really hope you will continue to be our great supporter and be able to bring your friends and family in the future to visit. Until next time. Thanks and see you soon!

Warm regards,
Ana

Ana Gorjão Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kubu at Mandapa also viewed

 

Been to Kubu at Mandapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing