We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Fall in Love with Rose Moon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fall in Love with Rose Moon
Sunset at Rose Moon. Sunset from the terrace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Fall in Love with Rose Moon
Sunset at Rose Moon.
Sunset from the terrace.
Evening at Rose Moon.
Lounging around.
A modern European spring mattress and elegant mosquito netting to keep you safe at night.
View from the inside bedroom.
Your bed.
Spacious modern design and indoor/outdoor living.
Living room with day bed.
Kitchen with dining table.
View from the kitchen.
Have your coffee anytime!
The clean white lines of Rose Moon.
Bathroom in Rose Moon.
Bathroom is comfortable and all in white.
Bathtub and Shower outside.
View from the al fresco bed.
Rose Moon's pool.
A 14m communal pool
A 14m pool (with a children's splash pool) in the communal grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bistrobun...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed ”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We planned to stay here for 4 nights with our 5 & 7 year old children. We loved the idea of staying in the countryside and the photos on the website of the property looked beautiful. The reviews were also great - we thought we were onto a winner, how wrong we were.
The whole experience had an ominous start - we originally thought we had booked a 2 bedroom villa (as advertised) but then realised after booking and looking closer at photos it was a one bedroom with a small bed in the lounge and a day bed outside by the pool. This layout isn't really appropriate for small children so we asked the management if we could move to another one of our their properties but was assured it would be fine and it would work well for us. We decided to trust the management on this. Guess what? It didn't work for us - we couldn't hang in the lounge when the kids were sleeping and the outside bed was too exposed to the elements and had no linen and fans to sleep on at night. I would only recommend this layout for a couple or a couple and another adult.
When we arrived our first impressions was that the property was very tired and dirty looking. All the kitchen equipment was exposed and was unclean, surfaces in the villa were dirty and the fridge interior was filthy. I didn't feel comfortable eating the breakfast they prepared for us because of this. The interior design is all white which lends itself to be hard to keep fresh and clean looking so the squabs etc all had stains and marks on them.
There is a dog on the property too which is a rescue dog, there is a warning about him in the visitor guide; that he has had a bad life etc and not to go near him or the other dogs. Twice he tried to nip at my 5 year old son, all cudos to the manager for looking after these dogs and putting a warning in the guide but they should not be around guests especially small children - they obviously know he is temperamental as the security guard would stand in front of it to protect us as we walked pass - not ideal.
There is no air conditioning in the property, only fans, on our first night our kids couldn't sleep as the bed in the lounge is in a little alcove with no direct fan on them. So the the kids slept in our bed to keep cool that night. We told management in the morning and they did bring us a stand fan which would of helped the situation if future events didn't mean the kids would spend yet another night in our bed.
In the morning as we were relaxing by the pool my husband saw one of the farm workers pull her pants down and do a poo in the rice field. I do feel sympathetic to her as when you got to go you got to go and this is probably what she always does as it is a working farm but it isn't something you want to see when you are relaxing by the pool on holiday - it also put us off a walk in the rice fields!
We then went out for the day and when we came back there were droppings all through the house - over surfaces in the kitchen and on the back balcony. When we went to bed that night we saw rats had chewed holes in the roof and were running around inside the exposed rafters. My kids were so scared that they slept in our bed again that night. Fun times for all! (That is Kiwi sarcasm if you couldn't guess). We couldn't wait to get out of there ASAP, if the property wasn't so isolated we would of left there and then. In the morning we swiftly packed our bags and left early in the morning.
We contacted management and they said no one had ever spotted rats before - which is hard to believe as the droppings are everywhere and there are holes in the roof from the rats. They also suggested I was mistaken and probably saw a lizard - they were definitely not lizards! They said the droppings were from lizards however the previous Bali villa we stayed in had lots of lizards but no signs of droppings. To Russell's the owners credit he did promptly refund us the last two night stay that we did not end up having but that didn't fully make up for such a terrible experience and the hassle of having to move.
I hate having to write a bad review especially of a small business but this place is not fit for occupancy and some serious pest control and hygiene measures need to happen before anyone else stays there, however as our complaints at the time were not taken seriously I doubt this will happen. Whilst the villa was not super expensive it isn't cheap either and I would expect much more for the money that we paid. I think we are lucky that we are only going home with a bad memory rather than with rabies. We feel so sad we had to experience this and feel an obligation to warn others before they book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Hi bistrobunni - thanks for your feedback. We've paid careful attention and you'll be happy to know we have repaired the roof (a coconut branch had made a small hole and it was easily fixed), installed airconditioning in the master bedroom (it's now beautiful and cool all year round), given our staff a refresher to lift our high cleaning standards, revised our maintenance schedule and procedures, and are monitoring the new regime closely to ensure that the villa remains in the beautiful condition shown in the pictures.

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay. It's never nice to have a less than wonderful experience.  Our Balinese staff always try their hardest to look after you like family. It's the Balinese way of hospitality and I'm sorry that our villa was not suitable for you. 

I trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay and returned safely home.

Best

Russ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
292LimD
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Traveled with souse and 2 adult children. Rose Moon is truly an amazing local living experience, in luxury: your own small pool, outdoor shower with fish watching you as you wash off, and a very quiet nights--listening to the sounds of the frogs and other animals as you sit outside watching the rice fields. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

It is a little hard to find the place which is good, especially in the highly touristic area of Ubud.

If you cannot stand sharing a space with a few insects and geckos, don't stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and design
Liked least: ants in the kitchen, gas ran out in the last night--no hot water.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and the bathroom is really something special. We're definitely tucked away from the busy tourists of Ubud so it's wonderful you found us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V5146FSka...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A heavenly place to stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Absolutely loved this place the moment we walked in. Stunning sunsets over the rice fields, plunge pool which my son absolutely loved. There was an option to sleep outdoors in the most magnificently luxurious bed complete which was heavenly. The service was helpful and not intrusive and made us the most amazing breakfasts every day. Loved it!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Wonderful to have you stay and so glad you enjoyed the luxuious al fresco bedroom! We love our staff too and glad they made you our most amazing breakfasts!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inspiredf...
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“was sick throughout and still enjoyed my stay there..”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa has an amazing design with stunning view, exactly how the pictures described it. The perfect place to relax and unwind. It was the first villa experience for my hubby and he didn't want to leave! The staffs were incredibly lovely, and our breakfast every morning was wonderful. I was unwell in ubud, so the pool with the view helped a lot to make my stay a very calming one (good for speedy recovery :D). We arranged for cooking class in the villa and it was such fun and educational. I am already recommending my friends to come here on their next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
I'm so glad your managed to enjoy yourself in spite of being sick Diana. The pool and the sunset view are fantastic and the peace and quiet in the villa make it very peaceful and great to rest - especially if you're arriving from a busy city life. No wonder your husband didn't want to leave :) We're grateful you chose to your stay with us and you're welcome back any time!

Best

Russ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hutcho69
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As beautuful as the pictures”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A peaceful and beautiful villa with rice fields front and rear. The villa is modern and open planned with huge glass doors that open the living area to the cooling breeze and the stunning views. The bedroom is large and the doors on two sides can be opened to the stunning views and the gentle stream that floats past a few feet away. The shower and bath are private and open air and are accessed by walking across steps set in a beautiful pond filled with coy. The villa has an inside daybed and a luxurious outdoor bale/bed from which you can take a nap and listen to the birds and the occasional sounds of the fields being attended to. The villa has a deep infinity plunge pool from which we spent hours just floating away the time whilst watching over the amazing views of rice fields with mountains in the background. The views in the early morning and evenings are breathtaking. A larger communal pool is also available to use.

The staff are lovely, polite and happy people from the local village who make you feel at home. The breakfasts were cooked to order and were divine. A favourite was definitely the banana pancakes with coconut syrup. The manager is friendly and ensures that everything is up to your expectations. A driver is available from the villa and was one of the most beautiful souls we have met. The trip to Ubud is 10 minutes and journeys further afoot can be arranged.

We definitely plan to return. The stay at Rose Moon Desa Bulan was the highlight of our many trips to Bali.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, private, stunning views
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thankyou so much for your kind words! I'm glad you love our villa as much as we do. And yes our staff are amazing, our manager is outstanding and our driver Nyoman is the loveliest soul ever. We're proud of our designers too - they put their heart and soul in to the villa and it really shows. Take care and come back again. Best. Russ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing