We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply OH MY GOD!”
Review of The Sayan House

The Sayan House
Ranked #64 of 892 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 18
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Sayan House RESTAURANT offers a Japanese-Latin Fusion cuisine. The Chef has used his world-wide experiences of tastes and cooking to unify them in his plates, giving traditional dishes a new look and flavour. In the open-air environment of our home, you may enjoy an elegant yet cozy dining experience in various settings: - Two main dining areas hosting up to 70 seats namely the Dining Room and Veranda. The latter unveils an exceptionally stunning view of Sayan from the edge of its Cliff, overlooking the Ayung river and gorge. - We furthermore provide a private dining space, The Guest Room, which seats up to 10 people. - Lastly, a Teppanyaki grill table with a specially selected menu is available for 7 seats, where our Chef prepares each dish to perfection in front of you. The Sayan House BAR also specializes in beverages - offering a wide selection of drinks from the house's own signature cocktails, wine, to premium whiskey brands. We ensure the quality of our homemade beverages by using only the freshest ingredients. Our bar encompasses three main areas: 1. The main House Pub 2. The first-floor Garden Room where you can enjoy the garden view and gentle breeze, and 3. The Living Room at the second-floor mezzanine, a place to sit back and relax while having a good glass of cocktail or whiskey.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I would go back to Ubud just to have their food again. Simply outstanding - such a perfect fusion of Japanese and Latin cuisines. The Foie Gras nigiri, the Los de Sashimi, Sashimi del Peru, the Latin Wagyu... delishhh! MUST do if you're in Ubud - gem of a place, and the view absolutely complements the feel of the open air restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vasundhara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, Reservation at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Vasundhara M

Irrashaimase, warmest greeting from The Sayan House.

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to wrote a review and shared it to your lovely family and friends regarding your dinning experiences with us recently.
We were fortunate to have you here. And glad to know that our product, service, view and ambiance met your expectation.
Your comment has been forward to our entire team to know how much you enjoyed it and for better motivation in the future.

Once again, thank you so much for your excellent review about us. All of our staff missing you and hope to welcoming you soon in a very near future.


Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

The atmosphere warms you. You feel comfortable and confident, so much so that within seconds I announced that I wanted to have my wedding here. I could instantly imagine the faces of my friends and family smiling and laughing on the dancefloor. I just have to wait to be asked for my hand in marriage I suppose (no pressure Boyfriend!). The ambience and music sooths you into a soft lull and the music soon beckons you to the dancefloor like a lover to the bed.
The first course tasted like what it feels to come home to your family home after an extended time away. The familiar tastes, smells and feeling envelop you and take over your tastebuds. After that first mouthful…everything seems to just melt away.
The mushroom soup was incredible. That first spoonful was like a hug from an old friend, warm and familiar yet containing all the complexity of an old friendship. The tacos turn a small morsel into a colourful journey through Mexico, the flavours exploding in your mouth like patas de mula on Mexican Independence day.
The first mouthful of the pork ribs can be described only as the feeling of slipping into a bed of satin sheets, writhing around with the smooth flavours and ‘melt in your mouth textures’. As for the corn, it is like a first boyfriends kiss, warming you, welcoming you to more.
After bathing in the warm glow if the ribs and corn the grappa was a rude awakening to the reality that is life, but it soon warms my body in rhythm to the thunder that beckons from beyond
The wine warms my heart and soul and takes me back to midnight teenage drunk skinny dip swims where you sit under the stars and think you’ve figured out the meaning of life…only to discover the wine is just really, really good.
The tiramisu feels like rolling around the jungle floor on mushrooms, where everything is lovely and warm and fuzzy but the herbaceous undertone of the green tea reminds you that yes you are still rolling around on the jungle floor.
The chocolate tart can only be described as a dirty lover who entices you back again and again…you know he’s bad but you just can’t help yourself. He too will leave a soft but bitter taste in your mouth which you will not forget anytime soon.
We’ve never eaten food that made us feel so much. This food fell into our hands and into our hearts. This wasn’t dinner; this was an experience…a journey that took us to every corner of the globe…to all of my places and to all of my favourite people.

PS I was drunk on great wine (available on the delightful Sayan House Wine list) when i wrote this

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ilovefood131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, Reservation at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear ilovefood131

Irrashaimase, greeting from The Sayan House.

Thank you very much for taking you valuable time to wrote a very detail review and shared it into TripAdvisor.
We are highly appreciate your compliment about us, and very delighted to know that we could made your dinning a memorable one. We'll pas your compliment to our entire team to know how much you enjoyed your dinning with us and as their motivation for better in the future and always do our best to our valuable guests.

Once again thank you very much for your excellent feedback recognition about us. All of our staff missing you. And we hope we still have a chance to welcoming you again at The Sayan House soon.

Have a nice day !.


Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

It was such a nice lunch...and this was the first time for all of us...long-time residents of Bali. The chef kindly came out to explain to us a dish that we were absolutely delighted with and sent us a tasting bowl for the flower seeds that were part of the recipe. Clean dishes at the end. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank eveningstar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, Reservation at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear eveningstar12

Irrashaimase, greeting from The Sayan House.

Thank you for your review and shared it to your lovely family and friends recently.

We are glad to read and hear your comment that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We are really appreciate that our food and service exceed your expectation. We hope it is going to be your good memory for having lunch during your destination to Bali.

We'll pas your compliment to our entire staff to know how much you enjoyed it. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Sayan House in a very near future.

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

The building and location are absolutley beatiful, matched by an outstanding menu. Japanese/South American fusions sounds unlikely, but it works brilliantly. Excellent service, reasonable prices, all together a great night out.

Thank Frequentflyer990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, Reservation at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Frequentflyer990

Irashaimase, greeting form The Sayan House.

Thank you for review us on TripAdvisor.
What an amazing feedback comment about us. We are really appreciate for your excellent recognition about us. We hope we still have a chance to welcoming you again at The Sayan House in a very near future.

Have a nice day :)

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

The place is beyond awesome with a perfect view. The ambience was exquisite. Service and food were beyond expectation. Worth the travel and price.

Thank tan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, Reservation at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear tan c

Irrashaimase, greeting from The Sayan House

Thank you for your review and shared it to your lovely family and friends recently.
We are so glad to know that you had a memorable experienced with us, and our product and service exceed your expectation. We'll always strive for doing our best for our valuable guests.
Thank you so much for visiting us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Sayan House.

have a nice day :)

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sayan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing