We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good. Needs better management or knocking down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #463 of 568 Ubud B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not good. Needs better management or knocking down”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My wife and I spent five nights here and were very disappointed. Having arrived quite late, we were shown to our room by a helpful worker, who neither told us when breakfast was, where it was, or left us with a key. Within minutes (and I exaggerate not) of the door closing, a cockroach crawled across our inside window. By morning, we were woken by the sounds of the air-con, which was making a beeping sound and in need of fixing. Breakfast, once found, was a disaster. Sat at a table overlooking workers noisily build a new swimming pool, we were pointed towards a table with make your own instant tea or instant coffee. No fresh coffee in on of the biggest coffee producers in the world, is shameful. These were the only choices we were given at breakfast. On each morning we were given juice (no choice), fruit in a bowl (often brown) and cold food. One day it was warm scrambled eggs on cold bread, another day it was cold poached egg on cold bread...and if you don't like eggs? Go figure. Appalling.

The hotel management (all very nice people) gave us a new room as the AC issue was an ongoing one apparently. In our new room, we found more cockroaches (one in the toothpaste pot!), the light above the bed flickered on and off and we had two ant attacks -- one inside the room, and one all over the outside door handle, which meant we couldn't lock up due to bites..and boy did they bite. When we asked for some bug spray, the hotel staff said they didn't have any. Now considering this hotel is surrounded by lush jungle/countryside, its a bit odd. In addition to frogs coming under the door of the room on a couple of occasions, we also had one night where moths attacked -- coming through a hole in one window -- ten at a time. We were woken up in the middle of the night by the sounds of mice running between the walls and squeaking. The bed-sheets didn't smell too fresh and were stained, while the shower was weak and ineffective.

Ubud is a lovely place to visit however, which made the hotel's failures so glaring. The food scene in this little town is amazing -- better than Jakarta! We arranged two superb trips (mountain biking and rafting), but were surprised when one of the hotel staff asked why we booked online when his brother could have arranged everything. Well my friend, we actually emailed the hotel before we arrived, and asked for help for excursions, but got little or no help. Final point, when asking the hotel top help sort out a taxi for a excursion and transit to the airport, we were offered a service for 300,000 rupiah. On the street we went to a local taxi driver and got the same deal for half price. To cap, location great, town brilliant, staff good -- hotel itself needs better management.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MungoJerrysBeard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    30
    13
    21
    25
See reviews for
13
46
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I`m very disapointed, disapointed to stay in this hotel. The personnal need a triple confirmation to pickup you in bali (but you paid 22$ for this service). It's not a calm place, you have sound of the hammer for breakfast and all the day. The price is very expensive (50$ on website but 60$ when you book). This hotel is a nightmare please don't go here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank florent d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Online booking, double confirmation on air port pickup and it still didn't work. The latter was simply forgotten, and the first, advance booking, let me think to find a prepared clean room. But unfortunately the bath was dirty, the bedding and mosquito net torn, and no light sufficient for reading. The setting is nice, some staffs also. But there is a big BUT: it is a building site and no chance of getting a quiet hour during the day anywhere on the premises, be it in the rooom or outside. This is not worth the money at present. Some staffs were not attentive at all. Heavy rain and no one there to help with an umbrellato make it possible to get breakfast without being soaked. Checking out, and no one there to help with the luggage or calling a taxi. BUT, someone came after me in the street and questioned me in public if I had paid (I had the night before, but obviously staffs do not communicate) - this was very embarrassing. I had checked out earlier than expected because of the building site and noise. Now, I am very happy to have left. Sorry, but no recommendation for this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radlust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I guess it is an open air environment but having a rat in our room two nights in a row was not cool. Matahari was recently listed in Lonely Planet so they are building in every corner of the property. The sound of the hammer echoed in our room for the duration of our stay.

I think the growth has gone to their heads an thus the quality of the cute little B&B listed in the LP is well, outdated.

The staff was nice, the breakfast was mediocre. Better to go down the block a few feet and eat at the Bali Buddha and also find somewhere else to stay.

This is my 8th trip to Bali and I wouldn't stay at the Matahari again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I visited Matahari back in the 90s and came again for a week stay in June 2011, taking advantage of the 25% discount.

This place is great. Great location, just near the Post Office and great restaurants, as well as the Palace and Markets.

If you're used to staying in Youth Hostels for your accommodation, you'll find this place a delight.

Come with an open mind, and whilst the high tea isn't everything it's made out to be, and the Wifi is intermittent, this was still the best place of nearly a dozen b&b's I managed to poke my head into during my stay. The staff make you feel like family, the breakfast Pavilion and valley ravine place you in the middle of paradise, and the plunge pool overlooking the ravine is divine.

Will definitely come back to stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 km away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 198 in Ubud
326 reviews
1.7 km away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#52 of 198 in Ubud
636 reviews
1.7 km away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#68 of 198 in Ubud
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.4 km away
Nirvana Pension
Nirvana Pension
#183 of 554 in Ubud
52 reviews
0.7 km away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#21 of 568 in Ubud
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Jl. Jembawan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price range (per night): $34 - $83
Hotel Class:2 star — Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flourish with authentic Balinese hospitality and discover the mystique of old Ubud in "wish is our command" colorful themed huts including abundant daily room service breakfast and formal afternoon tea in botanical pavilion while watching Balinese girls make traditional spiritual offerings. Find repose in air-conditioned Elizabethan library decorated with antiques or reinvigorate in jungle-side bath. Our eco-friendly bungalow in a secluded ravine is a seven-minute walk from Ubud Center/Palace. Hassle-free transportation and in-room massage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matahari Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Cottage Hotel Ubud
Matahari Cottage b&b
Matahari Cottage Bed And Breakfast Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing