We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandala Desa
Nearby Hotels
USD 336*
USD 219*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 165*
USD 136*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 695*
USD 220*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 343*
USD 311*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 321*
USD 258*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 177*
USD 139*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 231*
USD 117*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 206*
USD 166*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 111*
USD 98*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 720*
USD 550*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
288
25
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
25
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview suiterice fieldssukawati art marketdutch ownerafternoon teacycling tourreal balirural areaarrange tourscoffee machineswimming poolwarm hospitalitythree nightsquiet placeperfect place to relaxnasi gorengevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had hired a car on August 25, 2012 to drive us from eastern Bali, where we stayed after a few days of scuba diving, to Ubud. I had booked the Mandala Desa based on previous Tripadvisor reviews, but somehow didn't think it was so far from Ubud center. Our driver had a hard time finding it, as it is not only south of Ubud itself, but in an area of rice paddies a few minutes drive from the main road. My fault, I kept telling him 'Ubud' but it is about 7 kilometries south of Ubud center.

However, once we arrived, it was wonderful: a spacious bungalow with a view of rice paddies, large bathroom, comfortable bed, and everything we wanted to relax and celebrate an upcoming birthday. One day the hot water turned cold, and a word to the staff and it was fixed (gas cannister needed replacement). The pool is clean, the area is quiet, and there are movies and books for guests to use.

Our birthday started out with a surprise cake at breakfast, which we nibbled for two days. Yum. The cooking was excellent, and I am particular about the spiciness of my food: the hotter the better and they didn't let me down. Finally, the Dutch woman who oversees the place is a delight, as well as her young son and the entire staff.

About the location: the hotel provided a car to take you to performances, central Ubud, etc, even on short notice. However, I preferred our bungalow to the bustle of Ubud, so except for one dinner and a shopping trip, we stayed in our bungalow to just simply relax.

One unexpected surprise: with a stay of three nights or more you get a free transfer to the airport.

Thanks Mandala Desa!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cklonowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Ubud becomes a busy noisy city, losing its charms.
Get away from the heart of the city is my advise if you want to find a relaxing place.
Mandala Desa, is perfect to enjoy the silence and the rice fields atmosphere.
Don't think it is too far away. The Mandela Desa supply a free "taxi service" to get to Ubud.
Do not hesitate !

I would love to get back there!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Mandala Desa ticks all the boxes for a quiet, calm, relaxed, and refreshing stay. We recently enjoyed 5 nights and didn't want to leave!

I absolutely loved the location and was holding my breath as we pulled into the villa.
The villa is outside of the hustle and bustle of Ubud and each day that we spent away from Mandala Desa, we loved returning and stepping foot back to our tranquil villa. This special spot is for travelers who want to tuck away into the rice paddies and just enjoy being in Bali. Yet, you are close enough to go to Ubud and enjoy all the local activities. We enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service into town on a daily basis and the drivers were always dedicated to getting us to our yoga classes with a smile and on time. The owner, Jacinta, gives complete attention to detail and ensured that anything we needed was taken care of.

As vegans we were selective as to where to stay and also had special diet restrictions- and we give 5 stars to Jacinta and her staff for accommodating our food requests. We were known as the 'rabbits' by the end of our stay, but couldn't have been happier with the fresh organic vegetables, salads, brown rice, and fruits that were given to us. Thank You again for listening & understanding the importance of our food requests. We enjoyed every meal whether it was under our own private villa or under the stars by the pool.

We stayed in the private villa that is separate from the main building and loved the quietness of the space. It has it's own lanai with sitting area and private outdoor shower. Housekeeping is fantastic and it was always fresh and in perfect order when we returned from a day out.

We enjoyed the bikes that were on property to use and took a little adventure through the rice paddies. A definite must! You will be immersed in Bali immediately and enjoy the secluded back roads that wind through the paddies near the villa.

Internet speed and connection is fantastic! It had lightning speed - and this really made my husband happy as he was able to get a bit of work done!

I would absolutely recommend to stay at Mandala Desa and we will be returning to the calm retreat in the future! It is the ideal spot for the traveler who is looking for a private and calm oasis outside of Ubud. If you are looking for specific activities ask Jacinta for her advice and she will be able to help you plan an excellent itinerary for your trip.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was the most calm, relaxing and refreshing villa that I've ever stayed in Bali. Nestled comfortably amidst the rice paddies 15-min away from the ubiquitiously touristy Ubud Art Market, Mandala Desa was more of an experience rather than a stay at a vacation rental. We had rented a 2 bed Superior Suite as we went along with parents for a family holiday. The place is very spacious with a large dining room, huge living room and 2 nice bedrooms furnished in woody Balinese style. The balcony is the highlight as its huge and this was where we spent most of our time lazing around. You wake up to birds chirping and sleep to mausic of crickets and frogs. This was very good value for money especially after a Seminyak Villa. Food was very wholesome and fresh and Jacinta went out of her way to ensure that our demands of vegetarian food were met quite adequately. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

we spent 4 nights in this lovely place. the room was actually an individual villa, with large room and a private garden. the swimming pool is really nice, great for children as well. people are friendly and helpful. the shuttle car service to and from Ubud is very flexible and convenient. it is close to Sukawati market (ideal for shopping) and located near the rice fields. it is very quiet, ideal for a relaxing break, far from the very crowded Ubud...we highly recommend this place, which provides an excellent value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Céline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews