We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandala Desa
Nearby Hotels
USD 343*
USD 310*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 255*
USD 211*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 230*
USD 122*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
USD 418*
USD 244*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 718*
USD 540*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 298*
USD 215*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 267*
USD 230*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 175*
USD 153*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 365*
USD 253*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 176*
USD 132*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
288
25
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
25
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview suiterice fieldssukawati art marketdutch ownerafternoon teacycling tourreal balirural areaarrange tourscoffee machineswimming poolwarm hospitalitythree nightsquiet placeperfect place to relaxnasi gorengevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was the most calm, relaxing and refreshing villa that I've ever stayed in Bali. Nestled comfortably amidst the rice paddies 15-min away from the ubiquitiously touristy Ubud Art Market, Mandala Desa was more of an experience rather than a stay at a vacation rental. We had rented a 2 bed Superior Suite as we went along with parents for a family holiday. The place is very spacious with a large dining room, huge living room and 2 nice bedrooms furnished in woody Balinese style. The balcony is the highlight as its huge and this was where we spent most of our time lazing around. You wake up to birds chirping and sleep to mausic of crickets and frogs. This was very good value for money especially after a Seminyak Villa. Food was very wholesome and fresh and Jacinta went out of her way to ensure that our demands of vegetarian food were met quite adequately. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

we spent 4 nights in this lovely place. the room was actually an individual villa, with large room and a private garden. the swimming pool is really nice, great for children as well. people are friendly and helpful. the shuttle car service to and from Ubud is very flexible and convenient. it is close to Sukawati market (ideal for shopping) and located near the rice fields. it is very quiet, ideal for a relaxing break, far from the very crowded Ubud...we highly recommend this place, which provides an excellent value for money accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Céline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Mandala Desa is wonderful! My family (husband and son, 8) felt like we had rented a home with a semi-private pool, cleaning service, chauffers and good food! The staff was accommodating and friendly; the room was spacious and comfortable; the breakfast was delicious - as were the other meals we ate in the hotel. While there aren't any close by tourist restaurants to walk to, we took advantage of the free shuttle to Ubud and had a few meals there. We would combine a dinner in Ubud with a dance performance or a lunch with souvenir shopping and the driver would pick us up whenever we wanted. The traffic en route to Ubud was a pain, but after dealing with the traffic a few times I was immensely grateful I had chosen a hotel outside of Ubud, which I hadn't visited in 20 years. Mandala Desa is close enough to the action for a family with a child, but quiet enough to feel like a bit of old Bali...yes, I sound like an old fogey but I miss quiet rice paddies!
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaSethElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We spent 4 days in Mandala Desa and it was amazing in every way. It was exactly what we were hoping to have while sightseeing Bali. It is located some 20 minutes car-ride from Ubud, next to a small rice field so location was perfect for us since it was an ideal base for day trips across Bali. They offer a free shuttle service to Ubud which is great and they also provide a driver for more distant locations. 450.000 IDR for 10hrs. Our driver Ketut was great and very enjoyable company so we ended up visiting all important temples and locations with him. All of the staff are extremly pleasant and helpful and the owner Jacinta is very welcoming and kind.
We stayed in a private villa and it was clean and free of bugs. There's a hidden outdoor shower and a huge patio overlooking the rice field.
If you're looking for a quiet, clean place that can arrange a lot of activities and has a good food, I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

In retrospect, our stay in Mandala Desa was the highlight of our three week holiday on Bali and Gili Trawangang.

At first we were a little hesitant, since its location is about 10 km outside of Ubud. Once we arrived, we knew we had made the right choice though. A superb location, well kept spacious living - and sleeping quarters, a very service oriented staff and a pool to die for! Add to that a free shuttle service to the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a great choice of food and drink, a super friendly and attentive owner Jacintha, a relaxed and flexible attitude from all staff, and you have found yourself the perfect hide away to come back to after a day of whatever activity you have chosen to expose yourself to.

We would sit down on our terrace every night to witness what we called the "national geographic-show"; watching the swallows and bats competing for their food over the rice fields, listening to the "tock-eh's" of the geckos and enjoying an invariably pictoresque sunset ensured a perfect ending to the day.

The first floor room offers the best views of the surroundings, but quite frankly; all of the rooms are impeccable and great.

And then there are the nice little touches: bikes to use during your stay, an abundant array of up to date dvd's for the media hungry among us and a very well working wifi, all free of charge.

Sometimes Bali can be a bit heavy on the hustle and bustle, and you're never sure if the people you run into are really friendly, or just want to make a quick buck. Rest assured; you can let go of all those doubts when you arrive here.

A genuine gem, both for couples and families with children. 10 out of 10! Highly recommended for those who like to come back to peace and quiet after a hard day's work of being hassled for "transpor" or whatever the busy streets of Ubud have on offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sundayboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews