We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
94
61
30
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
61
30
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raw food steam room detox program zen villas coconut water juices and smoothies colonic irrigation healing massage green juice herbal tea spirit package hot ginger river room spa treatments body and soul rice fields new wing
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

i only stayed in the spa that belongs to this hotel. the spa looks run down. the treatment was really lousy. i ordered 2 hours massage and scrub. the massage was terribly superficial consisting of basic strokes. the scrub was no scrub. just applying the scrub and hardly scrubbing. clearly the masseur didn't feel like working. so the treatment ended after 1 hour and 20 minutes (includiing shower after).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Gerald1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Ubud Sari is a gorgeous gem north of the main road. Staff was welcoming when I arrived, and my room was very spacious with a patio door that opened out to a small ravine and lush greenery. I loved the breakfast they provided with the room. The food at the restaurant was the highlight of my stay there. The zucchini pasta is divine!

Spa amenities are also included, steam/sauna. There is a yoga class daily in the morning (a small additional charge) that is good for beginners, more of a hatha class. They grow a lot of their own produce and the gardens have a lot of cute spots to hang out, read, relax. Overall, highly recommended if you are in ubud for relaxing/detoxing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank losAngelesgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Sweet and tranquil. Most fasters aren't eating, so the restaurant is a quiet place away from traffic. It's a little old and tatty, but sweet. The herb garden is nice

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The staff are friendly, the treatments and services were great. Not fit for a princess, but I'm a rustic traveller. I loved my bungalow made of natural woods and overlooking a gorgeous waterfall and pool. I do recommend a solo trip. They limit the creature comforts, like 'tv' but there is wifi in the lobby and there's a lot to do around ubud. You receive a program with your weeks activities planned out. A lot of the day is taken up by treatments but there is still time for shopping and other activities around ubud but not enough time to do activities out of ubud, like the zoo or water park etc.

Room Tip: Zen illa's are wonderful, Zen Villa 8 was sensational. Zen Villa 7 is closer to the lobby but a little more rustic, all the Zen Villa's are different layouts
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I'm a bit torn in my review of the place. Some things were great, others not so much. I did a two week retreat and it probably wasn't the right thing for me in the end. Other people who I was there with did find it to be a great positive experience.
On the up side, the resort is almost self sufficient in growing much of its produce for its raw menu. The service in the restaurant is excellent, always fast to order, things take a little while to prepare but thats because it's all fresh! They could use a new blender to improve the quality of the smoothies, but the juices are excellent and the variety of raw delicious food is amazing.
The program is not individualised and is drawn up without any consultation with you. Which, I guess is fine if all you want to do is spend 24/7 at the resort. They are flexible with swapping some treatments out if you find you do not like something.
The "therapeutic" treatments (Deep tissue and Shiatsu) were excellent. The others, being the majority depend on the staff and often end up being the same strokes up and down your back without purpose for an hour. I had a bad experience with both the hot stone and the herbal compression massage where items where placed onto my body (and pressed in), that were way to hot and burnt! There is not a system to ensure a maximum safe heat.
The yoga was entirely disappointing. More of a gentle morning stretch then a yoga class. The teacher goes through the same stretches and movements in the same order each morning. Not worth doing or paying for if you have an actual interest in practising yoga.
The resort uses alot of plastic water bottles (ie; you are given about 6-7 a day). It would be great to see reusable bottles given and refilling stations.
The nurses that did the colonics were really good and you felt comfortable (as much as you can be :)), and relax in their care. Both are long term employee's.
Most of the staff seem to be long term employed, I mean at least 5 years and going up to 15 when the centre first started. So, on a good note, I assume the conditions of employment are fair and rewarding to the staff.
The accommodation was very simple, but I found it quite nice. Lots of water around = lots of bugs but the staff light candles and other anti bug gear to try and keep the bites at bay. A nice touch is the staff who come in the evening to "turn down" the bed, turn your light on and pull the mosquito netting around the bed. The room I was in had a comfortable bed, lots of pillows but the nets where dirty and with holes which allowed the bugs to get it. A nearby roosters also started it's calling between 3 and 4 am - so pack ear plugs! The balcony I had in the Zen villa was a nice way to hang out and start the morning or end the evening.
I found the program to restrictive, with stuff I didn't want to do and not enough time to do the things I did. For me, it was also a long walk to go to alternative yoga. If you want a week out, to totally organised and not have to do anything then roll out of bed, this might be for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mcmacca83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews