We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and beautiful surrounds ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Ranked #158 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in November. You can’t get a better location than this - it is just off the main road in Ubud, surrounded by greenery and right next to the Ubud Palace.
The Bungalow rooms are very basic, but are surrounded by restaurants, cafes, massage parlours and are less than a 20 minute walk to the Monkey Forest.

On some nights there are traditional dances that you can hear (and sometimes see) from the Bungalows and they go from 7.30pm-9pm.

Pros:
Location - close to everything
Surrounds - stunning greenery and is picture perfect
Friendly staff
Nice breakfast (basic but plenty of food!)
Close to the monkey forest
Definitely ask to stay in the Gatot Kaca room if you can, it’s one level up (stairs only) but back far enough that street traffic is minimal and the view is incredible

Cons:
- basic accommodation. The rooms are quite basic, need a bit of updating and are worn out (need new curtains etc)
- if you go to bed early the traditional dancing will prove an issue for you or children
- rooms seem to be prone to ants wandering around

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were neat but defiantly not clean. On arrival a stray cat ran out of the room, shower was moldy, the glasses had clearly been rinsed but not cleaned, there was a build up of dirt behind the fridge from the bugs, the room was only secured with a padlock but I could still get half my body through the door and there was no safe in the room - however you do get the option to leave your belongings in a safe behind the reception desk counter. We had booked 2 nights but left the same day we checked in as we weren't comfortable with the cleanliness or security of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Location is excellent, right in the middle of everything but guest rooms are set back away from the main road so it's quiet. Gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Rooms are basic but the rustic feel of the place compensates for this. Beds were small but comfy, showers basic but powerful enough. No frills so don't expect in room tea making facilities etc. No room safes in the room they are at reception. Breakfast is extremely basic with the same menu everyday, but setting is lovely. Pool area small and only a few sun beds so not always enough space for everyone. Internet across the resort and strength was fine. You do get tourists walking around the resort because they probably think it's a temple due to the architecture.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Neenals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Just letting you know the Internet tells a very different story...I booked this hotel sight unseen but the pics and write up looked good. Upon arrival I was disappointed, to say the least. The rooms, I tried two, we're so old and shabby they should be condemned. The elderly male porters were grumpy and insolent, the bathrooms ancient and dirty. The bed, athough mattress obviously new, was as hard as bricks and the doors to the room didnt even meet in the middle, not the Balinese experience I thought I was going to get. I won't even mention the awful breakfast.decamped to a new modern beautiful hotel the following day.

Room Tip: My only recommendation is...do not consider this place, I won't call it a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jlcatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The hotel is located in Central Ubud next to the Saraswati temple, and unfortunately very close to the very busy Jl. Raya Ubud which is the main road in Ubud. The staff was very helpful and friendly and understanding when we indicated that we wanted to cancel our second nights because of the noise coming from the main road. The hotel itself has a lot of charm as it looks like a medieval balinese house.

Room Tip: Get a room as far as possible from the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 199 in Ubud
338 reviews
0.4 km away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#160 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
1 km away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#101 of 199 in Ubud
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
1.3 km away
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
Anini Raka Resort & Spa
#128 of 199 in Ubud
241 reviews
0.6 km away
Cendana Resort and Spa
Cendana Resort and Spa
#132 of 199 in Ubud
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ubud

Been to Puri Saraswati Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Saraswati Bungalows

Address: Main Road, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $49 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Saraswati Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Puri Saraswati Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Puri Saraswati Hotel
Puri Saraswati Ubud
Puri Saraswati Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing