We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
PricelineUSD 53
Trip.comUSD 82
Booking.comUSD 53
Hotels.comUSD 53
CheapTicketsUSD 53
eDreamsUSD 53
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
509
97
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
509
97
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey forest sister restaurant rice fields central ubud our honeymoon monkeys shuttle villa peace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just far enough. We hired a moped (very very cheap from near Alam Shanti) to zip around Ubud and miles and miles beyond, on we parked up right outside Purwati. Our accommodation was delightful, in the middle of a rice field, where the monkeys would rock up while we were having breakfast and occasionally be a bit cheeky and take a piece of fruit from the table, we saw the odd guest now and again in reception on our way out, but other than that it felt like we had the place to ourselves although obviously we didn’t. We liked it here and could totally understand why it gets great reviews; we would have preferred a shower to the huge sunken bath that took forever to fill but that our only was minor issue. We would stay here again and tell our friends to as well. Nice touches were breakfast brought across the rice field to our accommodations for us to enjoy on the veranda, and if were were there in the afternoon, tea and cake would appear.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Panna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed in the Purwati room which is the downstairs room overlooking the rice fields. We loved our room however would definitely try and get in earlier next time to try an grab an upstairs room, as many of them had large, private decks.

As mentioned by other reviewers, we had the lovely pool to ourselves most days. We loved the breakfast and found it to be more than ample in amount.

We caught the shuttle into town for dinner most nights and a cab back. As all Alam properties are well known, taxis never had a problem finding it.

Alam indah is literally 2 minutes down the road closer to the monkey forest and also looks amazing.

Only downside was the height of the shower head in our room. You could not stand up and use which was a little annoying.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms look amazing
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanniesDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed in the Sarasvati room, wonderful! Second floor of a villa and a private oasis. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. Staff were amazing, so friendly. Afternoon tea and breakfast brought to our balcony (huge!) every day. Lots of choice with food. Highly reccommended, there is a reason you have to book so far in advance! We finally got to stay here after booking 9 months in advance! Great location, so much to see and explore in Ubud. Highly reccommend booking a motorbike (if comfortable doing so) to explore the local villages and surrounding temples.A short 10 minute walk into Ubud from the hotel, but they also provide a free shuttle service. Stay here for a true taste of Bali.

Room tip: We stayed in the Sarasvati room, very private and quiet!
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaliGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This was our second stay at Alam Shanti and it was great both times. The grounds are gorgeous and immaculate, with frog and lily ponds and private trails to the rooms. The room was luxury with outdoor bathroom and private waterfall and pond in the shower area, the staff fabulous, the breakfast wonderful, and the location was near the center of Ubud but away far enough for quiet and solitude.

Room tip: second floor has the best view but all the rooms are gorgeous
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llamamamabzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The accommodation is two story houses - each story is separate accommodation. There is a pool available and a free shuttle to Ubud town center.

The staff are helpful, and the location is good. It will take you about 35 minutes to walk to town, otherwise there are many taxis. You will not have any trouble finding a taxi...

The only thing that went wrong was the toilet blocked, but it was quickly fixed.

Room tip: The most expensive room has a private pool - but they all have access to a separate shared pool.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatthewH146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews