We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alam Jiwa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saren Indah Hotel(Ubud)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
463
82
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
82
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaka lekecendrawasih suiteafternoon tearice paddiesmonkey forestcafe wayanoutdoor showereach morningfree shuttlecentral ubudshuttle service iswalk into towntraditional balinese stylesix nightshotel staffyogurton demand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

One of the best hotels we've stayed at across the world. Wonderful rooms, nice pool, friendly people. If it happens to rain (and it will) spend the time in the pool. Great grounds, and walks, and a pleasant walk into Ubud (don't let the monkeys scare you, and don't feed them or you'll never be rid of them.) It helped that we arrived the evening of Tawur Kesanga, the day before Nyepi, the Balinese Day of Atonement, their New Year's Day. The drive from the airport took two hours instead of 30 minutes, as we had to go through dozens of villages, each with a ceremonial parade of ...well, I'll review it elsewhere. You can't go out on the day of Atonement, and no-one is allowed to work. The hotel owner was very apologetic, and delivered our day's food to the room, and we spent a pleasant day by the pool. Apparently some visitors have complained in the past. My wife and I thought it was wonderful, and the evening's journey the most interesting two hours we've ever spent.

Room Tip: They're all good. Large cottages each have two suites.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Better late than never… My wife and I just noticed that the review we wrote about the hotel we liked the most of our April 2011 trip to Bali had not been published (I must have made a bubu when I sent it).
Because we feel that the Alam Jiwa hotel in Ubud should get the publicity it deserves we will here proceed to review it again.
After out first stay in Ubud ( Saren Indah Hotel and Cendana Resort) we traveled to Amed where we stayed for 3 nights (separate review). Because we found it a bit less interesting and far from everything we decided to return to central Ubud.
Located in the best part of Ubud just south of Monkey Forest the Alam Jiwa hotel is located right above a fabulous ravine. Our beautifully furnished room was located at the second floor of one of several small buidings with a marvelous view of the forest, a singing stream below and a large rice paddy on the opposite side. It had a canopied bed and a small fridge with lots of bottles of drinking water.
This small hotel had real magic; very quiet, it led to meditation and tranquility. The ample terrace had seats, a small table where 2 young men served us breakfast every morning and a couch to lay on and enjoy the marvelous environment an peace.
The bathroom was very large and well appointed, it had all the amenities including bathrobes.
The hotel has a nice pool where we were served a complementary afternoon tea with home made cake while we took a refreshing dive after a very warm and tiring day.
All the staff without exception was extremely kind and helpful. As most hotels located in this area of Ubud, they provided free transportation to the downtown area and back, although we rarely used it preferring to walk to it through monkey forest.
All together, of the three different hotels we stayed at in Ubud this one would definitely be the one we would stay at if we ever return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jose-Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights in the Garuda room which featured an amazing bathroom (partly open), huge and clean room and a stunning veranda over looking the rice padi fields.

Excellent breakfast and awesome afternoon tea & cake.

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Really impressed with the shuttle service into Ubud given that the hotel is a 10min drive away. Also provided us with a driver for $25 to Seminyak (an hour and half drive away).

Best service I've ever experienced, especially for the price. Would definitely return, it's paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This hotel is lovely, with friendly and efficient staff and gorgeous rooms set in a peaceful jungle setting. The breakfast was yummy, we took it each day on our top balcony with a view to the rice paddies. You feel very close to nature here. Our room had a few little 'quirks' eg. hot and cold water taps were reversed, the lighting was fairly dim and the switches hidden in different locations, also the ground floor rooms were a little dark. But the location, staff and view made up for it. Lovely pool, free internet, free shuttle to and from the hotel any time before 10pm, and the afternoon tea and cake were delicious. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Recommend top rooms with view to rice fields
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My partner took me to Ubud for my 50th birthday. We spent 5 nights in Alam Jiwa and could have stayed many more. The place, people and location were beautiful. Our room was large, clean, private and surrounded by a stream and a beautiful garden and overlooked rice paddies. Each morning after having an outdoor shower (wonderful), we had our breakfast on the verandah, listening to the birds and the sounds of the birds being shooed from the rice paddies. Coffee and cake was available throughout the day and delivered to our verandah. I can't thank the people who work here enough for what was a magical birthday gift.

Room Tip: We were shown other rooms which were just as lovely as the room we stayed in.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenO129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews