We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Live luxury in the jungle”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Ensuite with a jungle valley view
Cocktail by the pool
Long lunch by the pool
Welcome fresh tropical flowers
The villa at dusk
Ensuite bathroom with flower bath
Welcome juice
Personal and friendly service
Complimentary daily afternoon tea by the pool
Main bathroom with flower bath
Tastefully furnished cozy lounge with views
Balinese feast cooked by villa chef
Upstairs bedroom and living with a view
Luxurious comfort
Sunrise across the valley
Hindu temple at the villa
Warm hospitality
Lounge area for relaxing and entertainments
Daily turn-down service
Secluded tropical home for a couple
Welcome to Shamballa Residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MinnieBuk...
2 reviews
“Live luxury in the jungle”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights and it was beyond my expectations. The villa is open and airy so it feels like you are living amidst the wilderness. The service was great, its very clean and honestly we didn't want to leave the villa during our stay. It's a perfect place to relax and unwind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bono56
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our second home never fails to impress!”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was our fifth visit to Ubud and third stay at one of the Shamballa villas. Not returning is not an option for us. Shamballa is our second home. It is airy, spotlessly clean and has everything we need for a great, relaxing break. We were again greeted by Ilyu, the manager, like long lost relatives - the newer staff are delightful, helpful and very eager to please. The villa is so peaceful and very much to our liking. Ilyu's cooking is simply the best and when we decided to eat out, she would help us with making calls and organising bookings (and drivers). It is, however, very easy just to stay put - all meals and drinks can be arranged, not to mention massages (really good) and yoga lessons. I particularly love the entrance to the villa from the road - there is no indication (aside from a sign) as to what lies ahead - a short track and you arrive to a little piece of heaven. Wendy and Atsu, the owners, are also wonderful and extremely efficient with the booking system (and very generous to returning customers, like us). My wife says I should stop recommending Shamballa Residence, because it will become so popular, we'll never be able to book again. I, for one, am happy to recommend what has become for us, the best value and most wonderful accommodation in Ubud.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
1 review
“My new #1”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I work in the travel industry, and was travelling with two colleagues who also work with me. Because of our jobs, we are fortunate enough to travel around the world and stay in some pretty special places - between us we have visited almost 100 countries.

All three of us who stayed there agree - Shamballa Residence has become our new #1 favourite and we will absolutely be back. The staff at the villa are fantastic - attentive, relaxed and funny.

The in villa dining is at a high standard, and the breakfast spread is spot on watching the sun rise over the Ayung river valley. Just order some of everything.

In villa cocktails could be improved - this is probably the only thing that needs work.

The fitout and furnishings of the villa is the highest quality, and the design gives you so much open space around each corner is a new feature - from the three bathrooms, infinity pool, two stone bathtubs, and great lounge area.

Just down the road from Shamballa is Mozaic restaurant - top level degustation dining and the Villa staff can arrange a booking and transport for you as well. Highly recommended.

Whether you are travelling with friends, or it is more of a romantic retreat, do not hesitate to book - you will not be disappointed.

Disclaimer: I have no commercial relationship at with Shamballa Residence or Mozaic restuarant, we stayed here out of our own choice and paid with our own money, based on reviews we had seen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruceraw6...
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing villa near Ubud”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent nearly three weeks at Villa Shamballa Residence and it's two sister properties. The villa is very private and located on a river gorge. The villa comes with three staff members who were unbelievable. They took care of our every need from cooked meals to arranging spa and excursion reservations. The rate includes a delicious full breakfast and afternoon tea. They also offer a full bar menu and diverse dinner menu. We ate in every second night. The villa is beautifully furnished. We loved the semi open air bathroom with it's double stone tub. We used the villa's driver everyday to get us into and back from Ubud, as well as day trips to the market at Sukawati, the beaches at Canggu and the coastal area of Candidasa. We also did white water rafting-must use Bali Adventures-they are the best!We did not care over much for the coastal areas, much preferring the spiritual atmosphere of Ubud. We certainly hope to return and will definitely stay at Shamballa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
498jj
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed 2 nights at Shamballa Moon, and then 2 nights at Shamballa Residence. We loved Moon and then we were literally left without words with Residence. It is the most beautiful place we have ever been. The owners have managed to build a paradise. The staff is absolutely lovely, and breakfasts and dinners were truly delicious. The best "restaurante" in Ubud no doubt. Many thanks for making our stay at Ubud one of the most amazing experiences in our lives. Ampy&Juan

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing