We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ticks all the boxes”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Living area into kitchen. High ceilings, cool and comfortable Comfortable lounge area. Cable TV and DVD.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Living area into kitchen. High ceilings, cool and comfortable
Comfortable lounge area. Cable TV and DVD.
Lounge Room
The gazebo is a lovely place for a coffee or drink
Meals and kitchen area
Beautiful comfortable giant bed, with waterwall and TV/DVD
The bed has lights and waterwall switches on it so you dont have to get out of bed
Watch a movie or listen to the waterwall trickling down the rocks. So relaxing.
Bathroom
Come and experience life in a traditional Balinese village.
Join in with ceremonies and activities, or just relax and read a book or watch a movie
Clean and comfortable, an experience you will never forget
Dining area
Relax on the porch and listen to the birds
Come and relax at Merta House in the jungle/mountain area. Experience life in a Bali village
Jasan Village
Home temple at Merta
terrace situation in the night,,,
Kitchen area
area situation in evening
Private pool and garden
Large private pool for your enjoyment
dressing table
Huge comfortable bed
hot and cold water in wash basin,hair dryer, and another amenities in bathroom
Bathroom amenities available always
kitchen and amenities
Pool
Fancy a swim in the pool?
our sign board in front of property
Large living area
Night time on the porch
So pretty
Come and take a break at Merta House
Pleanty of parking area and traditional kitchen for your use
The naturally lit bathroom is fully enclosed
Night time
Your breakfast is ready!
Beautiful Jasan Village
There is beauty all around, many places for walking, jungle trekking, rice fields. All beautiful
So close to nature
Come on in, welcome!
Merta House - your home in the jungle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
GSLK
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Merta House was great value - we could not have asked for any more. The house has all the facilities we could have possibly needed. The photos give a true impression. Breakfast was cooked at a time of our choosing, and meals could be ordered and delivered from restaurants, although we loved buying food from friendly local warungs.

But what sets Merta House apart is Made and his friendly, discretely attentive staff. We could be as private as we liked, but it seemed so natural to meet and get to know his family.

Made is also a driver, and can arrange tours and activities as required.

If you are looking for a great place just a little way from the main tourist action, with the chance to experience friendly Balinese hospitality, Merta House ticks all the boxes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Dear Mr Gavin
Thank you so much for your reviews..and stay in Merta ...hope we can serve you again next time many thanks
Made and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harshal26...
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Amazing stay! Were there for 3 nights but later regretted not staying longer...Made,his lovely family and staff,Wayan and the beautiful little villa will stay in our heart. We started missing them all,right from the moment we left the village.
Would highly recommend if you value good people, honest service and an authentic village setting with natural surroundings.
Thank You Made...for a memorable experience
Waiting to see you all real soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
dear Mr Harshal
thank you so much for your reviews,,and thanks so much for stay in Merta be part of merta family,,we miss you all too,,hope can serve you in merta next time,,best regards
made and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo W
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Fun”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Merta House is your own private piece of paradise, manager & staff are outstanding & do everything to make your stay amazing. So friendly and fun - cooked breakfasts are sensational. Awesome place to stay, highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
thanks so much for your great reviews Mrs Jo,,hope can serve you again next time,,,
bestr regards
made and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirelle G
Bondi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Villa, Stunning Location, Amazing Host, Wonderful đź’–”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Merta House is absolutely stunning! Divine getaway, peaceful, tranquil and so pretty.

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was such a wonderful stay!

Made is an amazingly beautiful soul who looked after us so well during and after our stay. He truly made us feel like part of his family. Great communication and very caring of our safety and enjoyment!

Merta House is set around 20 minutes from Ubud centre and the drive there is stunning. My fiancé and I scooted around on a motorbike the whole time and absolutely loved it! The drive is past villages, rice paddies, art work and a real view into Balinese life.

The actual villa itself is stunning. The decor is authentic Balinese. The architecture of the building is amazing beautiful. Four poster bed, ensuite bathroom, huge lounge and dining area, fully equipped kitchen and the pool area is just divine!

Made & his lovely family cook the yummiest breakfast every morning for you. Your choice is from western to Balinese but I highly recommend their Balinese food. We had fresh fruit every morning which was also always available in the house.

Made organised a pick up for us from anywhere in Bali and took both my fiancé and I on separate occasions to the airport as a part of our stay. After my finance left Made advised me to stay at his sisters homestay which was wonderful!

We felt so safe and at home at Made's home. It was wonderful and when we return to Bali we will definitely be back to stay!

Thank you Made for everything you did for us whilst we were there. We cannot thank you enough!

Suksma

Mirelle & Jaime

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Dear Ms Mirelle
Hello thank you so much for your great's review..and thank you so much for stay in Merta..hope we can serve you again next time..many thanks
Best regards
Made deada and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seantzw
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Superb Service, Great Facilities”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Staying here was a real treat with the very warm and friendly staff who provided absolutely fantastic service. There was a warm breakfast cooked in the villa every morning (at whatever time you wish) and Made the manager/private driver gave really good recommendations for food and things to do. He also gave us some insight into village living in Ubud, regaling us with recounts of the ceremonies rituals and simple day to day living experiences. The staff were also very accommodating with special requests and such.

The private pool is kept really clean with minimal chemicals and it's of a decent enough size for 4 people. Beds were more than comfortable (1 king and 1 double bed) and the air conditioning and fan were adequate in keeping the villa at a nice temperature. The main toilet with a shower is pretty big and well ventilated and there is another toilet just next to the kitchen.

Location wise, it's a 20min drive to Ubud town centre and it's fairly isolated - you won't be wandering around at night!

All in all, if you want some top notch service during your stay in Ubud, and you want some peace and quiet (though my friend was ready to strangle the roosters), away from the hustle and bustle of city life, Merta House is the place for you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
dear Andrew
thank you so much for your great reviews,,and our apology if there a our fasililty,service,and our village situation less in your mind,,so sorry,,and we hope can serve you again next time,,many thanks
best regards
made and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing