We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally exotic and surprising we were like in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Nathaliee...
Mouscron, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally exotic and surprising we were like in a dream !”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Rice Field Joglo is totally nice and exotic. It has everything from the luxe to the charm at walking distance to nice and pleasant Ubud center and however in the quiet and lovely ricefield. The people there are very friendly and advised us with things to do around. We appreciate the garden of the house which gives another exotic and surprising touch of our stay. Kristien is really nice and respond all the time to my questions on time.
I would certainly recommend this place and will go again if I had the chance to visit Bali again. We were a group of 5 and everyone of us were the most enthousiastic with the Rice Joglo than on any of the 2 others houses where we stay in Bali because of this totally unusual exotic experience.

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and charming villa set in the rice fields.”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Rice Joglo is beautiful, quiet and unique. I stayed for two nights and was treated to fresh food from its organic garden and sunsets over rice fields. I loved the decor, which was a wonderful mix of artfully authentic and stylishly modern, with excellent luxury bathrooms. The The Rice Joglo felt more like a little community than a commercial villa and the staff take very good care of you. You want for nothing. It's also walking distance to Sari's Organic Cafe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulietSyd...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of heaven :)”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Beautiful design, beautiful hospitality, beautiful surrounds. The prefect place for a heartfelt, relaxing, getaway from the busyness of everyday life. Absolutely love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefulness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philamae...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A Truly Gorgeous Stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

There are few places that can combine authenticity, aesthetics and peacefulness. The Rice Joglo had all of these for my partner and I. We stayed for 5 days in the Lotus Suite and the warm and attentive people at the Rice Joglo made us feel so much at home in such a special place. What can beat freshly harvested coconuts and ducks’ eggs brought to us by Madi, RC’s organic gardener, to start our day! The suite itself is large and tastefully furnished, and the joglos are beautiful set against rice fields. When I mentioned I was thinking of massages for us, in no time at all in-room massages were organised for us – bliss! When we needed a driver (to/from airport, to activities and restaurants) one was swiftly and seamlessly organised. Nothing is too much trouble for the team; because the property caters only to a handful of guests at one time, you’ll get the personal touch and care, without all that ‘commercialness’ that comes with touristy places. We had a sneak peek at the Treetop Joglo as the final touches were put in and we were blown away – we are definitely coming back to stay, and will bring our friends and family! Thank you to the RC Team for the amazing time we’ve had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serenity, authenticity, service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo D
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Rustic, authentic, magic”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Nestled in amongst the rice fields we felt a world away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. The Rice Joglo Treehouse is a wonderful building in magic surroundings, however it is probably best suited for a family of no more than 6 rather than friends or multiple couples as privacy is limited due to the rustic nature of the house, and the layout of bedrooms. We were there as a family of 4 (including young kids) as well as our friends who were also travelling as a family (over 3 generations). Steep stairs and an elderly guest meant that our friends stayed downstairs on the living room divans but this meant everyone walking through their 'bedroom' to access the bathroom (which was fabulous, looking onto the ravine).

We were greeted beautifully by Soka, Made and Made and transported the few minutes into the rice fields by motorbike. Be aware that it is about a 20 minute walk through the (unlit) fields back to town if you plan to eat out, however, there were a couple of lovely restaurants along the path which had great food.

Thank you Kristine and your lovely staff for a very special experience in the rice fields.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being surrounded by the rice fields
Liked least: lack of privacy between bedrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing