We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“zoom” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Bunga Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puri Bunga Resort and Spa
Ranked #182 of 476 Ubud B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“zoom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

very clean, somewhat sterile high-rise Holiday Inn. Close to river walk area, overpriced cafe and buffet; helpful staff. Rooms are OK, cramped but not as dated as the rest of hotel; good views.

Room Tip: go high for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flashikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, Front Office Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us as your residence during your holiday. Hopefully you will comeback again with your family on the next future. We are looking forward to welcoming you at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    86
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
35
79
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I chose Puri Bunga based on previous emails from Trip Advisor contributors, figuring that its cheap and the views are spectacular. I didn't expect much more and was very pleasantly surprised. My room (a deluxe suite) exceeded all expectations...I was upgraded on arrival. Its enormous. The views are spectacular and the suite could comfortably house an entire school party! The hot water seems a bit elusive although I have a lovely jacuzzi! I didn't expect much of the breakfast but was pleasantly surprised....rice or noodles,(of course!), tinned frankfurters, grilled tomatoes, 'live' egg cooking station, fresh fruit, toast and jam. I always travel with my own teabags and request hot water - the tea looked as if it had been made the previous evening. The menu for dinner is comprehensive and the meals very reasonable. 85,000RP (about 6 pounds) for curry or noodles and a Bintang Beer. Can't go wrong with that! The staff are falling over themselves to be helpful...this is an oasis of peace and tranquility and after busy days out sightseeing, the pool is very relaxing to chill by. I love it here. The Rice Fields walk from Cafe Lotus in Ubud is a must do...about 2 hours...be prepared to get lost but don't worry the locals smile and point you back on the right track!

Room Tip: definitely go for a suite with the view of the Ayung River - you can hear the shrieks of the white w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertdebDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, management at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
greeting from Puri Bunga Resort &Spa

thank you for staying whit us and spare some time of your time giving us review which we really appreciate

we are very happy to know you and have enjoined your stay whit us recently

your recommendation absolutely will helping us to inspired our staff motivation to provide a better service and we are really expect in targeting to have personalize service in the future and put our guest needs on top of everything's

on behalf of all our staff , we look forward to welcoming you back to Puri Bunga Resort &Spa

whit kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had a super room overlooking the Ayung River, large & clean but the fitout left something to be desired. There was not one cushion, one standard lamp and the crazy yellow & red plastic chairs were hardly Balinese & the ones on the verandahs needed a good clean. The staff were lovely but the breakfast was very basic with requests for yoghurt to go with fruit greeted with amazement so muesli or any cereals were obviously out. The orange juice was either cordial or watered down juice. The saving grace was freshly made omelettes each day as the coffee & tea were also terrible. We had dinner the night we arrived and were the only people sitting at our bright red tablecloths which were not changed whilst we stayed.
This is a shame as mentioned the setting is beautiful but as mentioned in other reviews, the pool furniture was shabby & not clean, the Spa/Massage area very uninviting.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

again we took last two available rooms in that hotel for the day, they actually only left two suites. we checked in the room at night, the suites is huge, have so much space and doors!!! it's dark but we still found that window outside is cliff and along the river. the window and doors cannot be locked properly. may be it was a bit too big for two yellow-bellied girls like us. eventually we packup moved to upstairs piled with our other two friends...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpio25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suci L, Front Office Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Warmest Greeting from Puri Bunga Resort & Spa

We thank you for selecting our Hotel as your residence during your holiday in Bali. Hopely you can stay with us in the next future. Your valuable comments will assist us to improve our performance, which will able to provide better service during your next stay with us.

On behalf of all the staff here, we look forward to welcoming you back to Puri Bunga Resort & Spa

With kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

After reading the reviews here I was pretty sure what to expect and the reviews painted a good picture.

The most outstanding feature of this hotel is the location, the view and the serenity. Located about 10 mins by car out of town, the hotel is located on the side of a ravine, overlooking rice paddies and the river below. Eating breakfast with the sound of the river and nature was so relaxing and pleasant. It was like being in an Indiana Jones movie.... and so worthwhile if you want to be at peace and totally relax.

During the three nights we stayed, we practically had the place to ourselves so lazing by the pool was like being in our own private villa.

The drawbacks are the facilities - or lack of. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and they do not do room service or poolside service (not even a Diet Coke & Bintang!). Breakfast was very basic (toast, fruit, a noodle or rice, sausage and tomatoes with juice and coffee) but the staff were pleasant and the view to die for.

The rooms are adequate - air con, tv, basic mini bar and cupboard space. There was no in room safe and our bed was incredibly hard. We also had issues with the shower and toilet but these were no great drama and the staff were happy to investigate. Sure the towels were a little rough and the edges in the rooms were a little worn, but the rooms were cleaned daily and for a place to sleep and wash, it was fine.

For the price (circa $75 USD) per night, it was what we expected but not having stayed in Ubud before, I don't have anything to compare it to. Would I stay again? Probably not, only because it was a little far out. But if you want peace, quiet and to enjoy Ubud in its natural beauty, then you may enjoy it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the better rooms for a sweeping view of the ravine and a bit of extra space....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miss_gonewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Puri Bunga Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Warmest greeting from Puri Bunga Resort & Spa . I wish to thank you for your review and we are very happy to hear that you loved stay very much .our aim is to delivery a truly memorable experience for all our guest .we are very happy to know that our staff members a friendly and always readily available whenever you need them .we sincerely appreciate your suggestion for our room service ,frankly we provide for room service ,pool side service and also we open for Food and Beverage service from 11 pm up, shuttle service we provide 2 times drop and pick up .we address each point you have made .it was a pleasure to hear that you had a terrific holiday whit us .we very much look forward to welcoming you back again to Puri Bunga Resort &Spa

warmest regards
wayan sudarma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 km away
Bunga Permai Hotel
Bunga Permai Hotel
#121 of 183 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 km away
Villa Indah Ubud
Villa Indah Ubud
#1 of 1 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Villa Mandi Ubud
Villa Mandi Ubud
#264 of 476 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.2 km away
Munari Resort & Spa
Munari Resort & Spa
#165 of 476 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
6.4 km away
Ubad Retreat
Ubad Retreat
#80 of 476 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Bunga Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Bunga Resort and Spa

Property: Puri Bunga Resort and Spa
Address: Kedewatan Village | PO Box 141, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price range (per night): $47 - $84
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Bunga Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Bunga Resort and Spa is located in Ubud, Bali, Indonesia. It offers ten suites, all of which have air-conditioner, cable TV, and Internet connection. Some of its amenities include spa and massage service, swimming pool, yoga class, and free use of mountain bike. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Antonio Blanco Museum, Monkey Forest, and Basakih Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Puri Bunga Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bunga Hotel Ubud
Puri Bunga Village Ubud
Puri Bunga Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing