We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Ubud”
Review of Jangkrik Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jangkrik Homestay
Ranked #107 of 653 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We enjoyed three seperate stays at Jangkrik during February and March 2013.
The room is fantastic value. Only 150,000 for a double room with hot water, great wifi and a extremely tasty pancake breakfast.
The homestay is in walking distance of a number of very good restaurants and a 20 minute walk from the main street. Some people may think that is a bit far but walking around Ubud in itself is an attraction.
Jangkrik offer a number of tours as well. We decided to do a full day tour with a driver which cost us 300,000. We visited three temples, a coffee plantation, Kintamani and the rice terraces. It was a great day which enabled us to engage with the whole region.
The family are very friendly and are always fun to talk to and take great interest in your trip.
There are a number of cats and kittens dotted around the homestay which was great for animal lovers like us but if you are allergic to cats then stay away!
There is also a very friendly dog and a very grumpy dog. The latter will bark at you everytime you return but is completely harmless and acts as a very good security system!
Our final stay at Jangkrik occured during the Nyepi celebrations and the day of silence. The family made the effort of cooking all the guests lunch and dinner as nobody is allowed to leave their homes on the day of silence.
Ubud became a base for us during 5 weeks in Bali and Jangkrik always felt like home.
Thanks for having us!

Room Tip: The kittens will steal your chairs if you have a room downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed at Jangkrik with friends this month and enjoyed my stay. The rooms were simple, clean and comfortable. Made and Kadek and their family were nice and helpful. The breakfast was great and it was small and cozy. We also arranged for transportation to other areas in Balli and were able to do so easily at Jangkrik.

Room Tip: I liked the upstairs rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Sadly I was only in Ubud for 2 nights but thanks to a great recommendation I was told to stay here & that suggestion was a very good one!

Made & Kadek & their family were so lovely, kind and friendly. You weren't just another guest filling up a room. Your a person that they want to get to know.

The room (not shared- your own) was very clean & there's even good locks. There is no air conditioner but the fan works a treat.

Breakfast is totally divine. Be sure to have banana Pancakes - when I say the best in Bali - please believe me. I already want more :-)

The home is in walking distance to many great stores & the monkey Forest.

If your wanting to do tours just ask Made & Kadek. They are only too happy to help. If you can I suggest going to the dance show that Made & his daughter perform in. True Bali style dancing, Singing & fire dancing. Amazing!

Also Kadek runs a shop - be sure to check out the lovely scarves & dresses :-)

Also if you need a driver made & Kadek have a very friendly driver with great English - Dewa was a fantastic driver & guide! :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamazical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I am rating this place a 5, because for the low price and the fact it meets or exceeds expectations. Lets start with the hosts, a nice smiling helpful family that makes you feel at home very quickly. The house is within a cluster of 3-4 other homes, in typical Bali style. Not much open space has been left within the compound, but that just might one of its charms as the place as it brings you very close to local culture of the average Balinese. A not so friendly barking dog welcomes you but stays away. Though you have to be careful around the dog as it is never in a good mood. On top of that their are a bunch of rooster that will wake you up at dawn if not sooner. The breakfast is great and served right outside the room. Don't expect much from this place in terms of quality of furnishings. This place is meant for the young and adventures backpackers and therefore everything is just very basic. You cant go wrong for the price.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the upper floor to avoid guest traffic movement and other noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed at Jangkrik for 3 nights in the summer. From the moment we arrived there it felt like we were part of the family. Made, Kadek & their family are so nice. They help you to arrange for dinner, trips and other things. Breakfast is really delicious and is different every day. Rooms are very basic, but the shower and the beds are really comfortable.16 euros per night for 2 persons including very nice breakfast is so cheap, that i had to give them 5 stars, for the given value. Ofcourse there are better accomodations when you pay like 100 euro/night, but for only 16 euros it really exceeded my expectations. The locations is perfect in the centre of ubud. Everthing is only minutes walking away. We wished we had stayed for like a week so we could have enjoyed everything more and do more things in and arround Ubud. In the night there are soms roosters crowing. The first night we couldn't sleep much, but after that we get used to it and we slept very good. The roosters are crowing everywhere in Ubud, so it will be the same at other places. Bring earplugs for the first night, or enjoy the traditional Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBakker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 km away
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
#12 of 653 in Ubud
401 reviews
4.7 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
6.4 km away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,868 reviews
4 km away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jangkrik Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangkrik Homestay

Address: Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $15 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangkrik Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search on Google for "jangkrik ubud". Jangkrik Homestay is a family guesthouse in the center of Ubud on the 2nd largest shopping street of Ubud. You will find us behind our clothing shop named CITADO. We started in June 2011 with 2 rooms and now we have 6 rooms with all modern amenities; good WiFi, hot water in a private bathroom, super-clean rooms with double beds and excellent mattresses, free breakfast. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, cafes and supermarkets and the famous Yoga Barn is just around the corner. Despite all the buzz around our homestay, you will enjoy tranquility and peaceful life the Balinese way on our grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Jangkrik Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangkrik Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing