We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
385
64
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
64
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields outdoor shower jalan kajeng your luggage the main street mobile phone minute walk away from the hustle and bustle visiting ubud busy ubud reception area ubud centre special thanks amazing place yudi scooter ducks
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Samara is a perfect place for those of you looking for a quite place to get away. The location is walking distance (about 10mnts) from the main Ubud. The room is clean, love...love...love the outdoor shower!! The food are terrific...if only they can serve more Indonesian food, that would be great, but over all they have very tasty Italian (mostly) food. Stefano and Yudi are both very friendly and helpful with all your questions and what to do. We love this place! If you love walking and sight seeing, this is the place for you to stay :).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acha0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Beautiful location within the rice fields of Ubud - a ten minute walk away from the busy main street and its noises. The walk is pleasant and partly hilly – but the owners offer a motorcycle transport whenever you do not feel like walking as there is no car access to the property.

The property is very comfortable, very quiet and the personalised service is excellent.
We will be back.

Room Tip: rooms 4-6 are the best location
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Fantastic place, where you are still walking distance to main part of town but out in the rice fields enough to have awesome views and a peaceful surrounding. Other accommodation nearby and closer to town looked like you would be boxed in and not have these luxuries. Service was great and Stefano was particularly helpful. The combination of Italian and Indonesian food in the restaurant was enjoyable and we tried items of both cuisines which were very nice. Pool area was simple yet nice to relax and enjoy the views and a swim. Rooms are well air-conditioned, modern, neat and elt in a lot of natural light if desired. Can't say enough good things about this place, and the person below saying it is already showing it's age and the breakfast is average is living in a complete dream world!!! We'll be recommending to friends and family without hesitation.

Room Tip: I'd request rooms 5 or 6 for most privacy/unhindered view, although we were room 2 which was still great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattheww34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

About 1.5 km from ubud agitation
In the middle of the rice fields
Some few cottages

It is just a little paradise

Do not expect 5 stars but very decent rooms, almost no service (just enough), poor amenities in the room (particularly shampoo and shower gel)
Swimming pool is nice with a terrific view on rice fields and volcano

Car park is about 500 meters from the Hotel and you will have to walk there (not an issue if you do not have mobility issue). They will go and get your back by motorbike.

We had lunch and dinner.
Food is not bad but pricy and portions are very small.

The rate we were applied for the room that we booked in usd was poor to say the least which I did not appreciated much given the fact that the room was already pricy enough

Still a real paradise !
Loved it !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoying our stay at the Samara. After a rather unconventional arrival-you (and separately, your luggage) travel the last part of the journey to the hotel on the back of a moped because the turning area is about 400 yards short of hotel and the path too narrow for cars- we were warmly greeted and shown to our luxurious villa. The rooms exceeded our expectations, beautifully furnished and lacking nothing. In the morning we awoke to a stunning view of paddy fields - the  location is very special . Throughout our 6 day stay all the staff were really helpful. They were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome without being at all intrusive. We couldn't have asked for better service. We were lucky enough to be there for the first birthday party of the Samara to which they invited all their staff-  the Balinese dancing was a treat and it was great to see the owners thanking their staff so openly and taking such pride in providing the best Balinese hospitality.  We went on a tour with one of their regular drivers and he too, was delightful. The food was very good, both at breakfast (great selection and more food than we needed) and in the restaurant. I'd like to thank Stefano and  Yudi for being so friendly and approachable and recommend this to anyone who wants a boutique hotel experience with a real personal feel

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocciojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews