We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Samara
Nearby Hotels
USD 170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 568
USD 471
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 312
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 359
USD 231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 356
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 862
USD 680
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 431
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 1,762
USD 1,688
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
369
62
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
62
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice fieldsoutdoor showerjalan kajengyour luggagethe main streetmobile phonescooter rideminute walkour honeymoonaway from the hustle and bustlebusy ubudvisiting ubudreception areaubud centrerelaxing stayamazing placeyudi
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Samara is a perfect place for those of you looking for a quite place to get away. The location is walking distance (about 10mnts) from the main Ubud. The room is clean, love...love...love the outdoor shower!! The food are terrific...if only they can serve more Indonesian food, that would be great, but over all they have very tasty Italian (mostly) food. Stefano and Yudi are both very friendly and helpful with all your questions and what to do. We love this place! If you love walking and sight seeing, this is the place for you to stay :).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acha0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Beautiful location within the rice fields of Ubud - a ten minute walk away from the busy main street and its noises. The walk is pleasant and partly hilly – but the owners offer a motorcycle transport whenever you do not feel like walking as there is no car access to the property.

The property is very comfortable, very quiet and the personalised service is excellent.
We will be back.

Room Tip: rooms 4-6 are the best location
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Fantastic place, where you are still walking distance to main part of town but out in the rice fields enough to have awesome views and a peaceful surrounding. Other accommodation nearby and closer to town looked like you would be boxed in and not have these luxuries. Service was great and Stefano was particularly helpful. The combination of Italian and Indonesian food in the restaurant was enjoyable and we tried items of both cuisines which were very nice. Pool area was simple yet nice to relax and enjoy the views and a swim. Rooms are well air-conditioned, modern, neat and elt in a lot of natural light if desired. Can't say enough good things about this place, and the person below saying it is already showing it's age and the breakfast is average is living in a complete dream world!!! We'll be recommending to friends and family without hesitation.

Room Tip: I'd request rooms 5 or 6 for most privacy/unhindered view, although we were room 2 which was still great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattheww34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

About 1.5 km from ubud agitation
In the middle of the rice fields
Some few cottages

It is just a little paradise

Do not expect 5 stars but very decent rooms, almost no service (just enough), poor amenities in the room (particularly shampoo and shower gel)
Swimming pool is nice with a terrific view on rice fields and volcano

Car park is about 500 meters from the Hotel and you will have to walk there (not an issue if you do not have mobility issue). They will go and get your back by motorbike.

We had lunch and dinner.
Food is not bad but pricy and portions are very small.

The rate we were applied for the room that we booked in usd was poor to say the least which I did not appreciated much given the fact that the room was already pricy enough

Still a real paradise !
Loved it !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for recommending the Villas.
What a lovely place to stay in Ubud, only a 10 or so minute walk from the main shopping street the villas are set outside of the town in the beautiful peace and quiet of the rice paddies.
The villas are furnished to a high quality with a very private and lovely warm water outdoor shower with good steady water pressure. There was also the thoughtful inclusion of an excellent insect repellent as part of the bathroom amenities and for one who is very much liked by the mosquitoes, it was very much appreciated.
We booked dinner at the restaurant for our first night and thoroughly enjoyed an excellent Italian meal. We also enjoyed the choice of Mei Goreng for breakfast each morning. It was nice to sit out by the pool in the late afternoon enjoying a fresh pot of ginger or lemon tea and homemade biscuits. Have a look at the vegetable garden, wish we had a hedge of basil.
The walk to the villas is not onerous with an easy climb up to the paddy fields and was easy to navigate in the late evenings with a torch.
Yudi and Stephano are warm welcoming hosts and the staff was always helpful and smiling. We will return to Ubud and the Samara Villas but for a longer period next time.

Room Tip: Try for villas 5 & 6 for complete privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicnHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews