We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
380
64
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
64
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields outdoor shower jalan kajeng your luggage the main street mobile phone scooter ride minute walk away from the hustle and bustle visiting ubud busy ubud reception area special thanks ubud centre amazing place yudi ducks
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Escape the frenetic streets of Ubud by choosing this hotel. Situated in rice paddy fields you have to walk 10 to 15 mins to get into Ubud centre but it is worth it for the peace. Charming staff who cannot do enough for you. They even recognised my birthday from my passport and arranged birthday cake. They couldn't fix the TV in the 3 days we were there but since we were on holiday so didn't want to watch it anyway. The food was good and the rooms excellent (room 6 was best). They could do with some more shade around the pool for us very white Europeans (!) but nonetheless it was a great pool.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are the best for views,
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millietess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

WOW - what a wonderful experience we had at the Samara Villas in Ubud. The villas are situated about 1km from the main road - we might have had trouble finding them at night on arrival except for our guide - but the walk up was so worth it. We only found out later that the normal process is for the staff to scooter up luggage for you. You are surrounded by tranquil rice fields and sounds of nature. The staff are most friendly and helpful and made us feel very special from the first day - nothing was too much trouble. The walk into Ubud is peaceful and beautiful. Yudi and Stefano are charming, wonderful hosts who enjoy sharing stories and interacting with their guests. Villas themselves are clean and comfortable. I could go on and on, but we loved it - and would definitely stay their again - we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Try to get room 5 or 6 - the most private and quiet with the best view over the rice fields. However all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

If you are looking for accommodation in Ubud, this is a good place to go. Lovely villas away from the busy street. We stayed here for 5D4N and its just great. It is surrounded by padi fields and be prepared to walk a little (10-15 minutes). Before your reach the villas, be sure to call Samara so that they can arrange come over to the carpark to collect your bags. The walk to the villas are very nice and a little mysterious. We like it a lot. If you intend to do some shopping, be sure to bring some shopping bags for your convenience due to the walking distance between the street and Samara. PLEASE BRING A GOOD TORCH LIGHT! YOU'LL NEED IT AT NIGHT :)

We had a great time and its just so sad to leave. There are some people who complaints about the view from the villas. Ive check the views on all the villas (6 in total). Some are facing the restaurant, some are facing the swimming pool and some are facing the padi field. If you are intending to sleep with your doors and windows open, please inform the owner on your request so that they can give you a villa facing just the padi field. Otherwise, any villas will do.

Breakfast are included and you can choose ranging from Continental, American and Indonesian. We had dined at the Samara restaurant twice. The pasta are good with good size portion.

Stefano and Yudi are very passionate about their work. They always make a point to have a nice chat with us making sure we are comfortable, had a great time and always eager to help us if we need one. The staffs are very friendly and eager to pleased. It was our 10th anniversary and they decorated the villa on our last night!

Samara, we had a great time! Thank you very much.

Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We are currently in the middle of our stay at the Samara and everything is beyond expectations. The view IS the sweetest in Ubud, and Stefano and Yudi are great hosts. Every morning starts with a WOW when you open the curtains of your room. During the day the pool is super, and the breakfast and dinner are also very very good.
The service with the scooters down to the parking and into town bridges the little distance from town quite conveniently. This is such a heaven of peace and tranquility, could not have chosen any better.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank MexiDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had 3 days here , not much more I can say other than we loved it here. We were a bit nervous about the motorbike ride up the very steep hill, but once we were there it was ok. Ubud has grown like the rest of Bali but this place is away from everything. Total peace and tranquility. Just GO is all i can say.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 0r 6. Be prepared to walk everywhere. Dont pack too much.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews