We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
380
64
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
64
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields outdoor shower jalan kajeng your luggage the main street mobile phone scooter ride minute walk away from the hustle and bustle visiting ubud busy ubud reception area special thanks ubud centre amazing place yudi ducks
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Samara is not accessible by car, the hotel will send mopeds to the car park pickup point which is approx 400-500m away. We were not aware of the moped journey before we made our reservation. Upon arrival we were greeted with cold towels and refreshing fruit juice. The Samara was fully booked and we were allocate a room nearest to the reception, which meant we were slightly overlooked. If possible try to get a room near the pool end for increased privacy. The room was well appointed and extremely clean with modern facilities and a fresh fruit bowl every day, their is air con but we still found it hot at night to sleep. There was also a minibar (payable locally) if you so wished to use it. Breakfast choices were American, Continential or Balinese - the Balinese was very good. The pool was functional but would become crowded if there were more than 2-3 in their at the same time. There are only 4 pool loungers for the potential 10 guests which was disappointed, an improvement would be to purchase more loungers to accommodate all of the guests perhaps locating some in the garden area? The walk to/from central Ubud is approx 10-15 minutes, and is safe however you will need a decent torch to return at night. Overall a great stay, friendly owners and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try and get a from near the pool, this is the other end to the reception and will provide the most privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzie85_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

For the price, you cannot beat this property! It is gorgeously designed, small but quaint. The pool could use a few more lounge chairs and could stand to be a little longer, but you are going to be mostly shopping, bike riding and eating your way around town....so not too much of an issue. The food is great and the staff are very friendly. You have everything that Ubud has to offer at your fingertips, w/out ever having to get in a car.

Room Tip: There are only 6, so I think all are good!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyharvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Right from the moment we booked, the Manager, Yudi, was in touch asking if there was anything special we needed. This was an unexpected touch but that level of service was maintained for the whole 4 days of our stay. The location is fantastic; its right in the middle of the fields but only a short walk from the centre of Ubud. I especially enjoyed running on the tracks between the fields. We ate in the restaurant each night and the Italian menu is of high quality. The rooms are high class of international design and I loved the outdoor shower. Everything is spotless. Don't let the thought of motorbike transport put you off its only a 400m ride and the staff are experts at transporting "nervous nellies" safely

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footloose_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My mum and i stayed here for 4 nites from 15th March 2012
From the pick up on the motorbikes from the parking bay our stay was perfect.
Looking over rice patty fields from the room and swimming pool.
Amazing food in the resturant to die for.
The room is so clean and comfy.
I really enjoyed the quiet at night. Also these villas are on a protected part of Ubud.No traffic except motorbikes or walking.This is a beautiful part of ubud to walk.
10 min walk into town for more amzing food and shopping.
You can hire motorbike,push bike or the Villa staff will drop you in town and just call for pick up.
My mother is 75yrs old and she coped so well on the back of a bike to and from town.
The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Will be doing a return trip with family next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and the views from our bed and balcony are so beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The second we got to Ubud it started pouring with rain, our taxi driver had no idea where this place was & couldn't find it but we said keep driving down this road. Thankfully, when we got to the end of the road, we saw a sign with the name of our accommodation. Our driver called the owners & in no time 4 motorbikes turned up. Two of them for luggage, the other two for my partner & me. It was still pouring but this made for a very interesting ride up to the villas. The owners, Stefano & his lovely wife Yudi, were there to greet us. They wanted to talk but we just wanted to get to our villa & get into dry clothes. Stefano led the way & gave us a satisfactory description of the essential stuff (air con & tv operation etc, breakfast times). From then on we had the best experience. The villas are new & in excellent condition, everything working, nice small pool with sunbeds, property surrounded by rice fields, croaking frogs, chickens & ducks close by including rooster(he was our favourite), outdoor shower (unbelievable), good reliable wifi (free), in-room safe (although ours was not secured, you could have just picked it up and walked out with it). Breakfast & also afternoon tea is included. I have tried really hard to find a fault & the only one would be the breakfast, small & not a lot of choice. It's a 15 minute walk into Ubud along a path that becomes a road. Coming back at 11pm at night is not to be missed. Although it's dark in some places there is enough light most of the way to see where you're going. During the day, if you like fresh coconut water, there are vendors on the path. I highly recommend you don't miss this opportunity to experience something completely different.

Room Tip: Only 6 villas so they're all good
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews