We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
385
64
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
64
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields outdoor shower jalan kajeng your luggage the main street mobile phone minute walk away from the hustle and bustle visiting ubud busy ubud reception area ubud centre special thanks amazing place yudi scooter ducks
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights mid Feb'12
Its all been said in other reviews but it really is a wonderful place in the middle of paddy fields away from the busy Ubud just 10-15 mins walk away (or hitch a lift on the back of the hotel motor cycles)
Hotel arranged airport pickup arrangements which went according to plan
A lovely place, great staff and one of those few places left inthe world where you can really chill-out
Thank yo Samara Villas - we hope to escape the frantic pace of Singapore and be back with you soon
steve & sheila

Room Tip: Presently 6 rooms - we stayed in No 5 Would suggest No 5 or 6 as these seem to have best views of the rice fields
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blister3304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My parents and I were very fortunate to have been able to stay here for 3 nights. It was the highlight of our trip to Bali! Not only is the setting divine but the accomodations are fantastic. The outdoor shower was such a nice touch as well. The meals were also superb. But despite all that, it's really the delightful owners that make this such a special place. They bend over backwards to make you feel right at home. By the time we were to leave, it was as if we just spent 3 days with old friends! I truly hope i can make it back sometime....soon!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 have unimpeded views over the rice fields but they are all great!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savahcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a stunningly beautiful place. Clean, bright and new set in a idyllic setting in the rice fields. It is a short walk to town so very convenient if you want to walk into town for a short bit and then return home. As other reviewers have pointed out, a car can only go within about 300 metres of the villa, but it is a quick trip in and the staff is always there to help with your luggage on arrival or departure. The owners Stefano and Yudi are excellent with the guests and the rest of the staff is attentive and friendly also. We were even invited to a special occasion on the house when we were there. An excellent choice to stay.

Room Tip: The room furthest from the office looking over the rice fields has an excellent view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassyca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We arrived 3 days early for our 4 day stay and ended up staying an additional 3 days. Somehow I missed the info about the Samara not being accessible by car, but once I got to the top of the hill and saw how it was nestled in the rice fields, I felt a complete calm. The villas are new and beautiful. The owners Stefano and Yudi are wonderful and personable. The staff are like family. Its just a short walk engaging walk to town, with plenty of little surprises (hidden restaurants, etc.) The area surrounding the villas is stunningly beautiful and its local farmers working their fields. There are nice walking trails all around the fields. It was HEAVEN!!!! Thank you Stefano and Yudi for making this such a nice home away from home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical but villa 6 is the one that is most private in that its at the end of the line. We stayed in villa 1 and could have moved but were happy there.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Amazed!
 
Content:
 
My wife and I stayed at The Samara for nine nights, and we wished we could stay longer. It's located a short walk away from main road Ubud, where cars cannot access, which makes the place incredibly quiet and pollution-free, with just a few motorbikes going up and down every now and then. It's so nice to walk through Jalan Kajeng all the way to the rice fields, and you finally feel you are in the real Bali, surrounded by nature.
It was so nice to leave the chaos of the town to go back to The Samara, where we could finally relax and enjoy the excellent service of the staff, always ready for you, and always smiling. Afternoon tea was a delight, as well as the peace of the swimming pool (and no kids allowed ensures even more quiet), or the joy of an excellent dish at the restaurant (try the tiramisu, is to die for).
Breakfast is also very very nice, they have everything you want, and if you have special requests they will be always happy to accommodate you.
I've been travelling a lot, and for the level of service you get, The Samara is an excellent value for money. Can't wait to come back! Tony Pensavalle

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews