We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Samara
Nearby Hotels
USD 170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 223
USD 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 351
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 444
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 317
USD 293
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 380
USD 316
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 304
USD 217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 831
USD 779
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 909/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
369
62
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
62
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice fieldsoutdoor showerjalan kajengyour luggagethe main streetmobile phonescooter rideminute walkour honeymoonaway from the hustle and bustlebusy ubudvisiting ubudreception areaubud centrerelaxing stayamazing placeyudi
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights late Januray 2012, and i must say the villa is an excellent accomodation with great service.
Lots of staff always available, only 6 villas for couples (a 3rd bed is possible but will be like sleeping on the bay window which is not the ideal)
The staff is very proactive and does their service with smile, sometimes even we don't ask for favour and they do it themselves ! :)
the food is also quite good, between italian and local style.
Thanks to the owner who is a great guy too :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. We should had arrived earlier on the first day to enjoy beautiful sunset time we did found in the second day that it's such a peaceful resting moment - surrounded by active rice fields, lying by the pool watching flocks of birds flying home. So my suggestion is be back from town before 4.30PM which you can also have your on the house afternoon tea.
Then again in the early morning, sit yourself at the same place to experience beautiful sunrise moment while enjoying breakfast.

It's a little long walk from main road though. Think that it's a good chance for exercise.

There's also s small cap between the main doors so be careful of those bugs.

Room Tip: 2 villas by the pool
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annapa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

There is nothing more that I can add to the previous reviewers! This place is amazing! Beautiful villas in an amazing location that is still walking distance into town! Great onsite resturant which serves lovely Italian food! They also offer ballinese food but we didn't get a chance to try it! The view from the villas and resturant is lovely! You feel like you have scored the best view in ubud and it's right at your door! Service was excellant! The owners are lovely and always up for a chat! Overall this place is a must stay in ubud!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esthermia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at the Samara for the first couple of days in 2012, we were returning from lombok having spent christmas and new year there and had a couple of nights scheduled before the return flight home, after staying at the samara we only wished we could have scheduled to stay there longer.

When you look at the brochures of Bali - and you see amazing green lush interior shots of the island marketed as the 'island of paradise' and you tell your travel agent - ''I want to go there!!'' pointing excitedly at the brochure. So you get your long haul flight out to tropical Indonesia.
When you arrive at the busy airport and get to Kuta (the main tourist area with crowded beach) you ask each other - where's paradise gone??

The problem you face is that you only have 2 weeks holiday to ''find paradise'' right?
You don’t have months to backpack round south east Asia and all the time in the world
to find ''your paradise''.

Sure if you base yourself in the busy tourist area in the south of the island you can book an excursion or take a day trip to take you to ''back to Bali'' and for one day in your special holiday so you can ''find paradise'' and you will take a transport up to the volcano and see the islands amazing interior only for the rest of your holiday to be spent within the isolating boundary of your 5* resort.

The perfect solution to the paradox? I’ll make a suggestion, you can escape to paradise and stay in 5* comfort at the samara in Ubud.

Should you seek a peaceful escape in the very best of bali's nature then look no further, this place is fantastic, great value for money and i only wish i could have stayed longer.

The genuine Italian food on offer is delicious (Stefano is from Lugano and is Swiss/Italian) and his wife Udi (the boss) are a great young husband and wife team who's energy and love for this relativley new project shines through, the hotel is literally built in the middle of a rice field, talk about an eco hotel.

Due to the location you need to use the hotels friendly helpful staff to transport you and your luggage from the entry point of the street of Jalan Kejing up to the top of the hill where the hotels sits in the peaceful location amongst the paddy fields, this is a small price to pay to escape the busy traffic of Ubud ( a culture tourist magnet full of arts and crafts shops and a monkey forest to boot )

If my experience is anything to go by then you will be given the warmest welcome and from a proprietor who's knows how to take care of her guests, nothing is too much trouble and complementary afternoon tea will be served by a delightful small team of staff who smiles will gently ease away your western hardened weary-ness leaving you to absorb ''slowly slowly'' the countryside of Bali's truly peaceful vibe. One of my favourite passtimes was watching the dragonflies and butterflies whilst remaining submerged in the swimming pool.

Having travelled to great extent through south east Asia in my youth - I can honestly say the newly created samara villas are a hidden delight that more people should discover for themselves, the only downside is when I decide to re-book my holiday here - you will be staying in my room - Fully booked !

Wonderfull.

Room Tip: Choose a lower room looking directly out on to the paddy fields
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The accommodations are superb! There are six newly constructed villas, all perfectly outfitted and situated by the infinity pool and outdoor patio. We loved the the private outdoor shower attached to our unit. The villas are located at the edge of the rice fields and about a 10-15 minute walk from the mail street of Ubud. City noise is absent; there is only the sound of the frogs at night. Breakfasts are very good and now there is an onsite Italian restaurant for lunch and dinner. Stefano and Yudi, the owners, are always there and provide excellent advice about sites to visit, dance performances and other attractions of Ubud and Bali. They and their staff are most gracious and helpful. On two occasions they found drivers for us for all day tours. As you can tell from our review we really loved our two weeks here and would readily come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews