We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! This Villa made our trip even more special!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pool
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
The Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Terrace
Terrace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom (Master Bedroom)
Bathroom (Master Bedroom)
Bathroom (Master Bedroom)
Bathroom (Master Bedroom)
Bathroom (Master Bedroom)
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
The Queen Bedroom
Bathroom (Queen Bedroom)
Bathroom (Queen Bedroom)
Bathroom (Queen Bedroom)
Bathroom (Queen Bedroom)
Bathroom (Queen Bedroom)
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Balcony (Twin Bedroom)
The Pool
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Garden
Garden
Garden
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
Terrace
The Pool
Patio
The Pool
Entrance
Open Plan Living Area With Indonesian collectibles
View of the main house
Queen bed in the bungalow
Large pool and gazebo
Open plan dining, living and kitchen
Bungalow
Bungalow Bathroom
Water Fountain in the Outdoor Shower
Lotus and Fish Pond
Breakfast Al Fresco
Upper Balcony with Balinese Daybed
Kitchen
Patio in front of the bungalow
Garden fountain
Garden shower in the bungalow
Veranda of the bungalow
Map of the area
Upper Bathroom
Upper Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Balcony on 2nd Floor Beroom
View of Pool from Upper Balcony
Loungers
Master Bedroom with King Bed
Bungalow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lyn S
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More like Air B and B than a villa”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this house 5years ago and loved both it and the area it is in and were looking forward to another stay there with our family. Made Pia made us feel very welcome and cooked us lovely breakfasts each morning. However, in the 5 years since our last stay the owners have accumulated many more personal items which they leave in the cupboards, drawers and wardrobes leaving very little room for guest's clothes and making you feel like you are intruding on someone else's private life. The owner was horrified to hear that we intended to use the kitchen to cook our evening meal and there was no fridge or freezer space for our drinks or food. Like many other people who holiday overseas I find much of the pleasure is relaxing in your accommodation as if you were at home. However, when we stayed in the villa during the day we felt like intruders as our maid Made Pia and her friends were there all day to clean of course but also to cook their own breakfast and lunch and sitting in the house and/or garden drinking coffee. Also mosquito nets do not fit the beds properly and being the beginning of the wet season, mosquitos were a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the garden.
Liked least: The owners personal items everywhere and no capacity for guests to cook a meal.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanparke...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Wow! This Villa made our trip even more special!”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We found Villa Semua to be "An oasis, within an oasis". The gardens were spectacular with many hidden gems within. Lazing by the pool after a busy day sightseeing was amazing. With no roads nearby, it was peacefully quiet.

The rooms were so clean, well appointed and could be opened up to the outdoors. We loved the outdoor shower [there is an indoor shower as well].

Host Barbara & Henry were so welcoming and has so many great ideas on what to do during our stay. Their suggestions, including the downhill bike ride was a holiday highlight. As was their suggestion to visit the mask and puppet exhibition [free]. It's a hidden secret of Ubud - yes we were the only ones there!

I was a little worried about the walk to the Villa from the main road - but this was nothing - in fact, its a very interesting walk that adds to the experience. And as I said before, the silence the distance from the road provides makes the stay even more enjoyable.

I wasn't sure what to expect in Ubud, but staying here surely made us experience more of this magical area!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindyep
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis in Ubud”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently ended our stay in Bali with 3 nights at Villa Semua Suka. As suggested by the owners we used Blue to transport us from Kuta to Ubud. Blue was friendly and spoke great english. Villa Semua Suka is located 5 minutes off the main road down a winding path and Blue helped us with our luggage. The Villa is very well appointed with beautiful landscaping. The owners Henry and Barbara are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Having lived in Ubud for sometime they were are able to recommend things to do and restaurants to eat at.

Made Pia ensured that our rooms were cleaned daily. She also makes the best black rice bread. She kindly shared the recipe with me. Made Ratna washed and ironed our clothing for a small fee.

We booked a bike riding trip through Henry and the company was very good and day was fabulous.

The Villa is well located with the Bintang Supermarket on the main road where you can stock up on supplies. There are many great restaurants on the main road or you can take the 10 minute walk into town.

After a week in the frantic pace of Kuta the Villa Semua Suka was a relaxing, peaceful end to our time in Bali.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The crisp refreshing pool in the Bali heat.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
setpguy
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa Semua Suka is a jewel.”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Villa Semus Suka is a gorgeous, quiet retreat close in to Ubud. We spent two weeks there in January and found it utterly delightful. The main house has two air-conditioned suites. The air-conditioned bungalow is separately rented, and has an outdoor shower and a separate outdoor tub in a private enclosure. The outdoor showers and tub were definite hits. The swimming pool was a welcome luxury after a hot day sightseeing.

Visiting Bali during the rainy season from January through March was much less an inconvenience than we had thought. When it rained, it did so quickly and then stopped. The rain rarely interfered with our activities.

We found exploring Ubud easy to do from this location. The villa is not accessible by road. You have to climb steep stairs and walk on paths for about 5+ minutes to reach it. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Also reasonably priced taxis are readily available.

Barbara Millstein is the owner. She always answered e-mail questions quickly and thoroughly. This availability on her part made a positive difference for us. Barbara was delightful to work with, though we never met in person. She has decorated her villa with unique and excellent art, and provided books on Bali which were helpful.

The woman running the villa on site, Made Pia, was absolutely gorgeous and delightful — and speaks excellent English. She is an outstanding cook: not only breakfasts but dinners if you wish to eat in. The dinner we had was a Thai banquet and was memorable. Breakfasts are included in the rental price. The fresh fruit in Bali was sublime. Made Ratna is her assistant, and is also a fabulous cook. Being able to have clothes washed and ironed frequently was an appreciated luxury.

Blue is the driver and guide associated with the villa. His English is very good and he proved an excellent guide all over the island. None of his services are included in the rental fee, but they are quite affordable. We tipped him after every day’s outing.

The only drawback for the whole two weeks was the initial walk into the villa from the street. The steps are steep and the path has some dramatic drop-offs with no guard rails. The point here is to arrive that first day during daylight. Our initial arrival in a black and rainy night was not pleasant. We were just unprepared for the challenge. Once we acclimatized to the walk during the day, it was fine.

Villa Semua Suka is a jewel. Reserve it early — and often.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quiet neighbourhood,and Made Pia
Liked least: The steps up from the street
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhbSydney
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

To Barb and all the Staff thank you sooo much for a wonderful Ubud stay. The Villa was great for the five of us. The separate bungalow was perfect for my elderly Mum who likes some peace and quiet away from the mob. The bedrooms are spacious, beautiful bathrooms and outdoor shower off the main downstairs bedroom and bungalow. The breakfasts were awesome (pancake heaven) and the feel of being in the middle of nothing - yet close to everything - was so peaceful. A great villa, a great position and given any chance we will be back.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing