We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“we love this villa - its perfect for a couple”
Amazing villa, gardens and pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing villa, gardens and pool.
Open plan living area Even the king-sized bed is in the living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Amazing villa, gardens and pool.
Open plan living area
Even the king-sized bed is in the living area.
The TV viewing area has a large day bed.
The dining area abuts the kitchen for your convenience.
There's even a separate lounging area and a desk.
The kitchen is fully equipped if you choose to cook.
The bathroom is huge, with a separate toilet.
The open shower in the bathroom has a rainwater shower head.
The 10m pool has sun lounges beside it.
The gardens are spectacular.
The villa has 2 fish ponds.
There is a breakfast area on the terrace.
Come and stay for a few days, a few weeks or a month or two.
Upik is your villa staff member.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
luvlight
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“we love this villa - its perfect for a couple”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

second stay here and we loved it.
would recommend without hesitation (unless you need aircon) its perfect.
great staff
every step is easy from booking to leaving

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmileyJan...
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Villa Damai for 10 days over Christmas. This is our third time to Ubud and by far our favorite place to stay. The villa is large, private and quiet. Steve, the property manager made our booking and logistics very convenient. Upik, the villa staff made our stay very comfortable. I would highly recommend staying at this property.

If you have a little time here are the details of our stay at Villa Damai.

The location
Situated in Penestenan about a 10 minute scooter ride or 30 minute walk from Ubud central.
Accessed via lanes, about a 5 minute walk from Jn Penestenan. A car is too big to enter the lanes so upon arrival you will need to walk with your luggage from the main road to the villa. This is common for most villa’s in Penestenan. It’s what makes it so private and quiet. Scooters fit easily in the lanes.
About a 5 minute walk from some excellent restaurants in Penestenan. A list of local restaurants is provided at the villa. Some of my favorite are: Warung Mendez, Kue, Yellow Flower Cafe and Sari Organics.
About a 10 minute walk via lanes to Intuitive Flow Yoga.
About a 10-15 minute walk to the big Bintang Supermarket (directions provided in the villa)
About a 10 minute walk to the Campuhan ridge walking track (very beautiful walk approx 2km each way)
About a 1.5 hour drive from Denpasar airport

The Villa
Located at the end of a lane so no traffic
Large garden, well maintained surrounded by high walls on all sides made the setting very private. The original pictures on the website show a wire fence and open access to rice fields. There are now villa’s where the rice fields were. We were happy about this as it felt much more secure.
The garden has a large pool (approx 10m), a bale (hut with very comfortable couch) and two coy ponds.
At the back of the house is a washing line and washing machine (yea!) which can be used if Upik isn’t washing the towels.
The villa is a large open room with a fully equipped kitchen. There is also a large bathroom and separate toilet.
The villa has lots of fans, an extraction system for when it is cooler outside than inside and a large portable fan. There is no air-conditioning but with the fans we felt comfortable.
A bonus with this villa is the fly screens on some of the windows. This is a rarity for Bali villa’s and means you can leave the windows open at night for the villa to cool down. Most other bungalows and villa’s in Bali don’t have this option and if you would rather not be eaten by mosquitoes at night you need to close up the villa which makes for a hot evening.
The bed is comfortable with lots of different sized pillows. The couch is very comfortable and could be used as a bed.
There is a TV with video and lots of DVD’s in the drawers. Also provided is a nice library of books to read and a stack of National Geographic magazines for a lazy day of reading by the pool.
There is a large veranda around the entrance of the villa with a table and chairs. This was particularly enjoyable to sit at watching the monsoon rains.
The villa comfortably suits two people and there is a fold out bed for a third. Due to the open floor plan I wouldn’t recommend sleeping any more people. However, it is a great space for entertaining a bunch of people.
As there is no fence around the pool or coy ponds, so people with infants and small children would need to be extra vigilant when staying here.
A safe is provided inside the villa.
Free Wifi is available and the signal was excellent.

Property manager Steve
Steve has been very helpful in all our interactions. From booking to checking out he was easy to contact and replied in a timely fashion via email. He even arranged for us to have a late check out which we really appreciated as our flight left in the late evening.
Be sure to read Steve’s book in the villa as all the recommendations are very helpful. From directions to the supermarket to restaurant descriptions it was all informative.
Transport to and from Denpasar airport was arranged by Steve for us and cost 350,000 IDR each way.

Property maintenance – Upik
Upik made our stay very pleasant. He made us breakfast in the mornings (eggs, toast and fruit) and cleaned/maintained the villa. If you wish to rent a scooter Upik will set it up (usually 50,000 IDR/day). Upik is also happy to book any tours or outings for you on the phone.

We had such a lovely time at Villa Damai and will return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa60...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A dreamy, delightful place to stay in gorgeous Ubud”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Like previous reviewers, this place is lovely to stay in (as are all Steve's villas). All the staff charming and helpful and can answer any queries. It was wonderful to have the garden. The understorey plantings encouraged a lot of birdlife, more than we've seen in other places. The villa is clean (thanks to Upik) and comfortable with everything you need. As we stayed for a month it was good to have the kitchen and we had quite a few deliveries from local restaurants, all of them good. We certainly will be back and hope for a month here each year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the friendly staff
Liked least: can't think of anything I would like to see changed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terbangbe...
Batam, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Damai Delight”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed already in some of the villas of Private Ubud Villas and are always pleasantly surprised by the excellent management of Steve. Airport pick-up service, daily house boy, tours etc. everything is quickly arranged. Villa Damai is one of our favourites since it has an open view over the unfortunately continues shrinking rice fields in the front. It is one BIG room where you can easily can accommodate some children and a comfortable bathroom. It has a spacious terrace over the whole front to enjoy your private breakfast or a dinner party with 10 persons as we did one night. Again Steve arranged one of his great staff who helped us tremendously well and took even the initiative of buying candles and placing them around the lovely pool in the front. The only thing you have to know, there is NO Air-conditioning in the house, so no place to cool off during a long walk or day full of sun. However you always can take a dip in your own pool off course.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious room and unobstructed view.
Liked least: No Air-con.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl928
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great villa - close enough to Ubud”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Damai. The villa and garden is beautiful, breakfast is great and the pool was an added bonus. We did find it a bit too hot at night, there is no air conditioning, but we still got our 8 hours sleep! We liked the location in Penestanan, which has some nice restaurants.. Our favourite was Yellow Flower Cafe - it was definitely one of the best places we ate during our trip to Bali. It's about a 20 minute walk into Ubud from the villa or a short taxi ride. We used Eve Spa in Penestanan for massages which were great - very good value. We also did a bike ride with Banyan Tree Bike Tours which we would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing