We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indonesian food”

Warung Pulau Kelapa
Ranked #60 of 839 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Indonesian restaurant with Cafe and Lounge. Authentic indonesian cuisine, coffee and ice cream. Our restaurant is also equipped with a - Garden - Parking Area - Meeting Place - Wi-Fi
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Went to Pulau Kelapan after some years' absence. If anything food has improved. No concesssions to foreign tastes, no attempts at (con)fusion cooking. Terrific satays, rendang, pecel, and so on, Even very nice site dishes: rempeyek, emping, and such. Very authentic and tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waltertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeninCorreia, Guest Relations Manager at Warung Pulau Kelapa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Greetings of the day

Thank you very much for your review on Warung Pulau Kelapa. We are grateful your feedback. I will Convey your compliments to all the employees. On your next visit, please do visit our lovely organic garden and you can also pick some fresh vegetables, herbs which the chef will prepare as per you liking. If there is anything we can improve-on, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

This restaurant was by far and wide the best Indonesian food we had during our 5 weeks in the country.

The flavours were complex with plenty of spice and local ingredients used.

It was very clear everything is made from scratch using traditional recipes served up in a contemporary fashion.

The family appears to have a 'garden to plate' philosophy with a commitment to using organic, local ingredients in most dishes.

They also produce ice-cream and gelato on site.

Highly recommend the set menus (listed at the back of the menu) if you'd like to taste a wide variety of dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeninCorreia, Guest Relations Manager at Warung Pulau Kelapa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Greetings of the day

Thank you very much for your review on Warung Pulau Kelapa. We are grateful your feedback. I will Convey your compliments to all the employees. On your next visit, please do visit our lovely organic garden and you can also pick some fresh vegetables, herbs which the chef will prepare as per you liking. If there is anything we can improve-on, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I went here with my wife and son, we were not expecting them to have a high chair for our toddler but we where very happy to be offered one upon arrival!

The food was excellent! I had the pork ribs and they where just lovely! Juicy, tender and tasty! The dish came with some vegetables that was also very tasty! No other condiments was required, left the place feeling very satisfied!

The staff was very friendly and helpful, our toddler didn't want to sit still (as usual) but the staff didn't mind him running around the garden in front and even volunteered to look after him for short moments.

The somewhat busy street outside can ofcause be annoying if you come here at a really busy time of day, but the garden and the setting really helps you forget about it!

Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeninCorreia, Guest Relations Manager at Warung Pulau Kelapa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Greetings of the day,

Thank you very much for your review on warung pulau kelapa.
Will definitely forward your compliments to the ladies and gentlemen at Warung Pulau Kelapa and glad to hear you appreciate our ambience . On your next visit please feel welcome to walk thru our garden with the Chef and/or Gardener and pick some fresh vegetables, herbs; which the chef will be happy to cook as per your liking. If there is anything we can improve on, please let us know.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The place is quite nice, we had a nice dinner there. I especially recommend the garden part of the restaurant, even though some of the tables are located slightly too close to the street. The service and food were overall good, the choice of typically Indonesian dishes is wide and, sadly, rarely encountered in Bali.
The nice part of the experience is the menu which talks about Bali culture, food, and nature.

Thank Ewa Ł
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeninCorreia, Guest Relations Manager at Warung Pulau Kelapa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Greetings of the day,

Thank you very much for your review on warung pulau kelapa.
Will definitely forward your compliments to the ladies and gentlemen at Warung Pulau Kelapa and glad to hear you appreciate our ambience . On your next visit please feel welcome to walk thru our garden with the Chef and/or Gardener and pick some fresh vegetables, herbs; which the chef will be happy to cook as per your liking. If there is anything we can improve on, please let us know.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

First impressions are that the owner cares by the way the gardens and alfresco dining area are immaculately presented. The staff are beautifully groomed and helpful. The menu is mouthwatering and when the food arrived in good time it met our expectations of well prepared and delicious Indonesian. The atmosphere at night particularly takes you to a romantic place of intimate relaxed dining. By day it's a great place to meet friends and share a few plates of great sate cooked over coals outdoors in the garden area. Toilets first class and ample parking behind the Warung. Looks good for meetings also and the kitchens can cope with large groups.

Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeninCorreia, Guest Relations Manager at Warung Pulau Kelapa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Greetings of the day,

Thank you very much for your review on Warung Pulau Kelapa and we are delighted that you enjoyed our ambience.
Will definitely forward your compliments to the ladies and gentlemen at Warung Pulau Kelapa. On your next visit please feel welcome to walk thru our garden with the Chef and/or Gardener and pick some fresh vegetables, herbs; which the chef will be happy to cook as per your liking. If there is anything we can improve on, please let us know.

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warung Pulau Kelapa also viewed

 

Been to Warung Pulau Kelapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing