We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food at decent price”

Japanese Diner AngKaSa
Ranked #293 of 954 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: USD 4 - USD 10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: When you walk along the Monkey Forest street in Ubud, you will find some narrow backstreets. Looking into one of them, there’s a two-storied small diner decorated with many Japanese-style red paper lanterns. -Backstreet Japanese Diner “AngKaSa” Here, you can enjoy home-style Japanese cuisine. Is this your first time to visit Ubud? Are you looking for delicious Japanese cuisine? The place you should visit is our diner, AngKaSa. It’s our pleasure to welcome you.
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Seating option just like you'll see in Japan

A reading space is available and books are in Japanese

Food was tasty and well priced. Also beer was at a reasonable price

Staffs are very welcoming and professional

I highly recommend

Thank Avinash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angkasa_ubud, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Avinash S,

Thanks for choosing our restaurant and giving us useful review. Happy to know that you were satisfied with our price as well as dishes. We try to offer authentic Japanese food which our owner prepare by himself.

Anyway thanks for your visit and hope we can see you again in Ubud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We have ordered two lunch sets and one sushi roll. The food was good. In that lunch set a main dish of your choice, a very small salat, ice tea and fruit plate is included. In our case, the fruit plate contained tiny piece of melon and watermelon.... this was like a joke.

Thank AnTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angkasa_ubud, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear AnTSwitzerland,

Thanks for choosing our restaurant. We are happy to know that you liked our food, but also sorry hear that you were not satisfied with the fruit plate in lunch sets. Actually, we manage our set menu prices to be reasonable and offer the value for money. Thank you for your feedback anyway. We're eager to improve them to be better restaurant. Hope we can see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Craving some Ramen while in Ubud. Found this place from Google. I had the seafood broth ramen and my husband had soyu ramen. Both taste okay. Not really super delicious ramen but it's good.

Maybe next time come back here we'll try other stuff.

Thank Wulan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angkasa_ubud, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Wulan R,

Thanks for choosing our restaurant. We are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectation enough. Please don't hesitate to let us know the points you were not satisfied with. We're eager to improve them to be better restaurant. Hope we can see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

This is one of my fave japanese warung in Ubud. I always come back here when I visit ubud. My fave dishes are ; fatty tuna sashimi, chicken karage, char-siu, humberg steak, gyoza and agadashi tofu

Thank Aida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ago97, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Aida
Very thanks for your frequent use of our place. We're glad to know that you really love our dishes such as Fatty Tuna Sashimi, Char-siu, Gyoza (Actually, gyoza is one of our recommendation dishes). Since we eager to improve our service and menus, please let us know if you found something that we can change. Hope we can see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We found this little Japanese restaurant down a lane off Monkey Forest Rd, Ubud. Not expecting a great meal, we were pleasantly surprised by how good it was...particularly at the price! We will return to it.
One star deducted for the plainness of the ambience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ago97, マネージャー at Japanese Diner AngKaSa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Richard
Thanks for visiting our restaurant. Happy to know that you were satisfied with our price as well as dishes. Though, as you mentioned, our building and interior is not sophisticated, we try to serve fine food and cozy service. If you would like to return to our place, we're so happy to hear that. We always welcome you. Thanks a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Japanese Diner AngKaSa also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Diner AngKaSa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing