We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
419
70
16
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
70
16
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle fish chapung se bali private pool scandinavian design blind pig the fine dining restaurant bedroom villa rice fields living area villa number dressing room resort and spa koi pond amazing resort river valley our honeymoon walk into town
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Staying at Chapung was by far our favourite hotel in Ubud. We stayed in 3 different Ubud hotels over 2 weeks and Chapung hands down was the best. We had the 2 bedroom villa which blew our minds in terms of space and interior design. Just so gorgeous. Every detail was well thought out. The food amazing!!! Jungle Fish, what can I say, the best pool in Ubud. Gorgeous setting and run so professionally.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom villas are huge. They feel like a hotel within a hotel.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AngelaOconnell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapungSeBaliResort, General Manager at Chapung Sebali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Angela,

Thank you for this tremendous review and sharing your experience!

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Beautiful environment, very comfortable & delightful and always helpful staff. We are an older couple who stayed in a Pool Villa, one of four that were more secluded. We loved the privacy, the greenery and the peaceful surrounds. We also loved the small rice paddies around and within the complex.
The food at the two restaurants and Jungle Fish Bar was very good, particularly the breakfasts.
The Spa offered a wide range of treatments and the staff were highly competent.
There is a good shuttle service between the hotel and Ubud and we really appareciated that our daughter and family who visited were able, for a small cost, to take the hotel shuttle back to their lodgings. (I don't know if the hotel would always be able do this, particularly if they were super busy.)
If you enjoy walking, do take the Campuhan Ridge Walk into Ubud early in the morning (sunrise); takes about 45 mins and is beautiful.
If you are on the wrong side of 60, or have very young children, be aware that there are LOTS of steps between the rooms and the restaurants and spa. (We enjoyed the exercise!)

Room Tip: There is accommodation at Chapung Se Bali to suit pretty well everyone from honeymooners to families to oldies. Just check out carefully the options and prices and choose to suit your needs.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunbank16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapungSeBaliResort, General Manager at Chapung Sebali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for such a detailed review and for your words of appreciation!

At Chapung Sebali we always thrive to deliver a true and authentic Balinese hospitality.

The Hotel indeed bares some stairs but this allow us to have the amazing views of the Osh ridge.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again!

Thanks again for sharing your great experience !



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We stayed in one of the deluxe suites with valley view for two nights and had a great experience. The view from our balcony was spectacular and the room was good looking (a mix of Scandinavian and Balinese style) and clean. We are a family with three kids and the two oldest slept up on the mezzanine loft. The ladder/stairway up there was frighteningly steep and those beds didn't have any mosquito nets but all went well and to our surprise there were no or very few mosquitos.
The pool is beautifully located with a jungle/valley view and the kids loved the large floating beds. There are quite a lot of stairs to walk up and down between the rooms, pool and restaurant but all worth it because of the view and feeling of being surrounded by jungle. If you have small kids/toddlers, you will need to keep an eye on them.
Staff was friendly and helpful and they sent over a repair guy immediately when we had trouble with one of our night lights.
The food from Jungle Fish pool bar was good (mostly western type dishes) but our favorite meal was breakfast. Doubtless one of the best breakfasts buffets we have tried with freshly made smoothies and juices, good coffee, yogurt, granola, cacao nibs and lots of fresh fruit. And some good savory choices as well. We tried the Arabic breakfast (vegetarian dish with hummus, eggplant and poached eggs), avocado toast and Indonesian omelet.
It's located outside of Ubud so unless you are up for a long walk, you need to use their shuttle service to see the city. It takes around 10-20 minutes by car depending on traffic.

PROS: The amazing view! The pool. Nice rooms. Breakfast!
CONS: Outside of Ubud. Lots of stairs so keep your toddlers close.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapungSeBaliResort, General Manager at Chapung Sebali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Chapung Sebali.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, the Resort is indeed situated on the outskirt of Ubud and allows you to embrace the authentic Balinese countryside and jungle.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again, you will then be able to enjoy one of our private villa with pool!

Thank you again for choosing Chapung Sebali during your stay in Ubud.

Theo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Loved the place. The villa was good, spacious and service was perfect. Really enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is close to town but you need a scooter or a taxi to get around. Great restaurants and the pool is fantastic.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank JulioH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapungSeBaliResort, General Manager at Chapung Sebali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Julio,

Thank you for your kind words and great review.

We are indeed situated on the outskirt of Ubud, the "city" center can be reached in 10 to 20 minutes (depending on traffic) while using our free shuttle service running all day.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again.

Theo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

My husband and I recently stayed in this gorgeous resort for 2 nights and brought along our family who was in town from the US. We were so thankful we chose Chapung Sebali as our stay in Ubud because it was the perfect modern escape, but still felt like you were secluded in the jungle! Both of our rooms were loft style and unlike any we have ever seen before in Bali! The view from our balcony made us never want to leave our room, however that was until we laid eyes on the amazing pool at Jungle Fish! I also spent quite a bit of time at the gym because there were rowing machines literally on the water. It was an experience I will never forget! I could not more highly recommend this resort if you're looking for an Ubud getaway that still has the feel of western comfort and luxury!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taramichellebrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapungSeBaliResort, General Manager at Chapung Sebali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Tara,

Thank you for such a great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chapung Sebali.

We thrive to blend "occidental" design to the traditional and an authentic Balinese feel which makes our hotel such a unique place.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again.

Thank you,

Theo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews