We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
404
70
15
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
70
15
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle fish chapung se bali private pool the fine dining restaurant scandinavian design bedroom villa rice fields living area villa number dressing room resort and spa koi pond amazing resort river valley walk into town every morning welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in a Villa for 5 nights in July and loved it. The villa was very stylish, spacious, quiet and private. Perfect for relaxing. The setting was stunning, very green with a beautiful outlook.

The ride into town on the free shuttle was about 15 mins however we preferred to walk into town which took about 45 - 50 mins.

We thoroughly recommend the mountain bike ride (organised through the hotel), it was one of the highlights of the trip as we felt we saw more of the 'real Bali'.

The staff at Chapung were welcoming and friendly and happy to assist. We would recommend staying here and although we rarely stay at the same place twice as like to experience new places, we would definitely return to champing for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mel582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at this place and loved it. The villas are beautiful, the furniture and feel is geourgios, they are really big and the pool in front of the door is just great - absolute privacy. However, be aware that the pools are really deep and not secured f you travel with small kids.

We loved that the place was so quiet, outside the masses in Ubud but it is quite a ride to down town (6 km).

On the down side, the owner was there for a couple of days and obviously didn't think it necessray to great his guests which I found quite rude. The service staff is very kind and friendly, the quality of the service when it comes to requests is very good but should be no less than excellent given the rom rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in Villa 6 for 5 nights in the second week of June 2012. We have nothing but praise for everything about Chapung SeBali. The staff are incredibly attentive, they greet you by name at all times and the gardens are just what we were looking for as they are beautifully kept but still have a rural feel about them, including an endless array / species of water lilies, dragonflys (Chapung means dragonfly), frogs and birds.

We fell in love with our villa from the moment we stepped through the entrance. We chose villa 6 based on comments from other Trip Advisor reviews. Villa 6 like all Chapung villas is overly spacious, clean and has very comfortable indoor and outdoor furnishings - perfect for relaxing. Its swimming pool is exceptional, approx 10 x 3.5 metres, almost 2 metres deep and is fed with natural spring water. The real bonus about villa 6 is the views as it sits atop of the terraces upon which Chapung is built. The rice fields literally abut the rear and one side of villa 6 and the view over the hills and trees from the bedroom, outdoor lounge and the pool are exceptional (see photos). Of course you can step straight from the bedroom and bathroom into the pool.

You can casually walk into Ubud from Chapung (approx 45 - 50 minutes). It is a relatively easy walk and well worth doing. The resort also run a free return shuttle service into Ubud at prescribed times during the day and night. Travelling outside the set times will cost approx $5.

Close by to the resort are some small local (village) shops selling beer, soft drinks, cigarettes, snacks etc. They are about a 5 minute walk (turn right on the road after exiting Chapung SeBali).

Would we stay at Chapung again - absolutely. Apart from the quality of the villas and the attentive and first rate staff, the peace and quite at Chapung means you can relax and refresh in heavenly surroundings. There are only 8 villas at Chapung and all are private.

Finally, my wife had a massage and facial from Sri at Chapung and is still talking about how wonderful it was. One more thing, we had a candlelit dinner in our room and loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here earlier this year and both loved the hotel. The villas are beautifully decorated, lots of space, and the pool deep enough to dive into. The locaton was amazing, with breakfast over the valley peaceful and secluded. Food was good and resonably priced, and afternoon tea a nice touch. Overall we were here 14 days and other guests were couples, with no kids, so very quiet.

The free shuttle into Ubud was hardly used by other guests so we also used it for day trips to temples etc which meant we didnt need to hire a car.

All in all, a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalyncarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at an open air villa, this resort, and a major chain hotel while in Bali. We really liked this resort property for the spacious villas and pool, the gardens and terraces, massages in the villa, resort ammenities, and the ability to walk to Ubud. The staff was excellent.

We booked a 2 room villa which was actually 2 connecting villas. It was a huge amount of space! The bedroom and bath section had doors and air conditioning if you need it. We left one space open and one with a/c for when it was warm.
The property is located off the road so there was very little noise. We didn't hear any other guests either. There was nice privacy.
We had a wonderful massage in the villa instead of the spa and would recommend that.
There is an interesting path down to the river with decent number of steps. Its a pretty diversion after a full breakfast.
We took the walking path to Ubud and took the resort shuttle back. It was a nice balance of convenience and exercise.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Travelsal0t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews