We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to introduce "bravehearts" to your kids.”
Review of Bali Sobek

Bali Sobek
Experience for Yourself
More Info
USD 63.53*
and up
Sobek Bali Ayung River Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in Bali in 1989, SOBEK was the first Adventure Tour Company of its kind on the island. Taking pride in a proven 100% safety record even to this day, SOBEK invests heavily into thorough industry recognized safety training standards. Each and every one of SOBEK's 265 staff receives on going training and development to ensure they are the very best in their field. Ultimately SOBEK works hard to maintain its reputation and market position as No.1.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“How to introduce "bravehearts" to your kids.”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is the one! Whether you have any doubt or not that your kids are having bravehearts, Sobek is the best organiser to test the confidences of your loved ones. A team mate spirit, courageous, fun and safety are at the same time introduced.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank apurwoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    100
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sobek Expedition”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Same what I wrote about Water Rafting, go with The Best! Sobek Expedition!

Helpful?
Thank Dian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Not the best in Bali!”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Did this white water rafting and it was fun and the guide was fine etc. but the lunch was awful, served in pretty un-hygenic conditions. Bali Adventure offers a much better deal and a much better lunch, we did their rafting a few days later and was much more impressed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing first experience!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Could not have asked for a better first experience down the Ayung river. Paid US$55 per pax and never regret it. Our guide, Tiger suit us up with life vests, helmets and paddles at the starting point and we traveled down hill for what seems like forever to Ayung river. It was probably a good 10-15mins scale through the forest. The stone steps can be slippery so be careful as there are no hand rails for a good 90% of the trip down. But the magnificent view was unbeatable. Despite the heavy flow of people it was amazingly clean. Reached the foot of the hill and Tiger got busy ensuring the raft was in good condition before giving us a short safety briefing. As it was raining the usual rapid 2 and 3 became 4 and 5! Tiger said we were lucky as we get to enjoy the optimum capacity of Ayung. It was exhilarating and for a first try at river rafting, we truly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely return. Choose Sobek as Tiger and the rest of the guide were great fun to be with! They always ensured that you are safe but playtime was a definite must as well. We had fun splashing the other rafts as we passed them by. With Sobek, you get a longer journey down Ayung (we passed by other company starting point down the river). The picturesque view down Ayung was amazing, so refreshing and there were a couple of waterfalls as well. We will definitely return and will no doubt choose Sobek again. Notes: Valuables are kept in a small dry bag before being kept in a bigger dry bag. This is attached securely to the raft. Clothing are padlocked in a big black bag and will be kept safe till the end of your trip. There's a halfway stop down the river where you can enjoy a cold can drink for RP20,000. Yes, more expensive than the usual mini-mart but you will see none of that along the river so just keep some notes handy in the dry bag if you care for a drink. Food was provided to give you energy to scale up the hill (different route as the down hill climb) and you will be greeted with a string of locals trying to sell you souvenirs. Just move on if you are not interested, they will not chase after you. Your picture will be taken at one point during the ride and you can purchase it for RP45,0000 a piece at the end of it. There are also some souvenirs that you can get (t-shirts, caps). Shower rooms and toilet available.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MOE_Eash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

They pick you up from your resort and drop you off afterwards, which seems pretty standard amongst these tours, but a nice touch nonetheless. When we arrived it was mayhem - there were really big groups everywhere! Given it was just my husband and I we felt a little lost but the staff were really nice - they showed us where to sit and wait while the bigger groups went through and came and got us once things settled. Our guide was really lovely and friendly (his name was Rocky) - he sets you up with all the equipment you need, makes sure its all secure, gives you a waterproof bag for all your belongings, and off you go! Yes there is a bit of a walk down to the river but you can really go at your own pace. Once we reached the bottom my legs were quite wobbly but then you get on your raft and sit for 2-3hrs anyway so it was quite ok! Unfortunately we were on a raft with a couple and their young child - they couldnt speak English properly and just refused to listen to any instructions, even when Rocky would speak in their language! It was quite frustrating - he was quite clear in the beginning we were to listen to his instructions for a fun and smooth ride - but they just didnt want to listen to him and would often do their own thing. Rocky definitely knew what he was doing and did his best to make the ride lots of fun (splashing, bumping against rocks, racing with other rafts, going under waterfalls, explaining things along the way, allowing you to have a swim midway and at the end). Halfway through the trip they stop off at a little spot where you can swim and have a drink - but beware, the drinks are not complimentary! We had a great time, and afterwards were treated to a lunch buffet (the soup was lovely). After a walk back up (much shorter than the walk down!), they take you to have a shower if you wish as you get quite wet, and a chance to buy a photo they take during the ride, and then they whisk you back to your resort! Lovely day! Just a short tip - we were going to book online before we left but accidentally forgot, but while we were in Ubud we came across a AUTHORISED tourist information centre (not the little shops on the streets that say they are...) and booked through them, and paid US$59 per person, rather than the online price of $79. It is a bit more expensive than other rafting companies but its definitely the longest ride (you can see where the other companies start and end on the river) and they definitely ensure you're safe and having fun at all times!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunray82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bali Sobek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing