We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ian H
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom

Pure bliss

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Dec 2023
It must be a wonderful place to stay as this was our third time here. We have stayed in many places in Bali , most of which look good but often have a significant drawbacks such as traffic noise or dogs barking 24/7
The Purist though is an absolute haven of tranquillity with beautifully detailed villas all immaculately maintained.
The restaurant serves extremally good food in a lovely poolside setting
On top of all of this the staff are delightful, being both very caring without being all over you .
We would like to make a special mention of Wayan who really is a fantastic asset to the Purist. It had been 7 years since we had last stayed, and yet he remembered us from then. He is extremally helpful and really went the extra mile to help out and give good advise.
Being just 1 kilometre from Ubud The Purist is either a quick car ride or an easy walk into the centre
We will return
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$467
  • travelup.com
    AU$1,785
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,686
  • Priceline
2.2 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$138
  • Expedia.com
    AU$444
  • Agoda.com
    AU$131
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Pool
Restaurant
AU$271
  • Expedia.com
    AU$304
  • Agoda.com
    AU$225
  • Hotels.com
    AU$279
2.2 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$301
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
  • Agoda.com
    AU$239
  • Hotels.com
    AU$279
0.9 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$286
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$254
  • Expedia.com
    AU$288
2.5 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$248
  • travelup.com
    AU$266
  • Agoda.com
    AU$221
  • Expedia.com
    AU$288
2.3 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$414
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$284
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$498
2.8 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$337
  • Expedia.com
    AU$311
  • Agoda.com
    AU$280
  • Priceline
2.4 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$154
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
2.8 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$909
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$818
  • Agoda.com
    AU$606
  • Priceline
0.9 km from The Purist Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ubud
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
750
81
15
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
750
81
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river villa private pool garden suite pure bliss our honeymoon free upgrade shuttle service outdoor shower boutique hotel living area relaxing stay afternoon tea tucked away ubud centre stayed longer choki massage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

Tailor made paradise…

Visited here at the beginning of October for 5 nights…wow it did not disappoint.

The location and it’s surroundings are breathtaking. It’s literally like being in the jungle! All the wildlife and foliage frames the hotel perfectly!

It’s low key beauty.

Room was lovely very comfortable and rustic traditional Bali. Beds very big and comfortable.

Very good service. Particularly Depi and Jocki - both lovely, warm people who couldn’t do enough for you.

We ate at the hotel most of the time, except for excursions and the food was very good. We had the couples package one night with service at the room the food was brilliant and something I’ll remember for a long time!

Spa session we booked was also fabulous and reasonably priced.

If you are thinking of booking somewhere special this is the place, you won’t be disappointed.

Room tip: Make sure you have bug spray - lots of wildlife
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank beckyb517
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed at The Purist for five days, whilst visiting Ubud. From the warm welcome on arrival, and throughout our stay, we were treated so well, by the amazing staff.
My husband and I, and our two grown up daughters occupied two River Villas, which were situated near the main pool. We found we had the pool to ourselves most days, which was wonderful. We had the most relaxing stay, and although there’s lots to do in Bali, we spent a lot of our time enjoying the peace and tranquility of this amazing place. Each villa was quite different, though equally lovely, with both indoor and outdoor living space. The breakfast each day was delicious, and the service was very attentive. We also enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea, on a few occasions, which was very nice. During our stay, one of our daughters became ill, with a high temperature and an upset stomach. Reception organised a doctor very swiftly, and all the staff showed concern for her. One of the restaurant hosts Choki (?) was particularly kind and helpful, he prepared a tray with ginger tea, fruit etc., and personally delivered it to her villa. The care and kindness shown to us, was what made our stay so memorable. We hope to stay at the Purist Villas again, one day.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LolaB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023 via mobile

An excellent property around 1.5 km from Ubud city centre (to which they provide periodic shuttles). Each staff member was extremely courteous and welcoming. Our room was excellent with an open air shower as the highlight. Housekeeping was discreet and efficient. Their spa and restaurant were also excellent. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sb1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2023

We stayed at this mini resort to celebrate an important birthday.

We really appreciated the fantastic customer service. We had a issue with our room and the staff went out of their way to solve it. Everybody at the front desk was understanding and helpful. Especially Mr. Surdama made sure that the issue was resolved to satisfaction.

We also booked a half day tour with driver from the resort. Mr. Mohammed who drived us around was very knowledgable, told us interesting stories about Bali culture and was a pleasure to have as company for the tour.

The breakfast is superb and the other meals were all delicious, served by super friendly staff.

We loved the place, the hill villa we booked had some issues with smell of humidity, we were moved to another room which was fantastic.

The team really goes out of their way to make you feel you are at a high end resort, one of the best we have enjoyed. Thank you team at the purist to make our celebration a special one to remember.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RobbertVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2023 via mobile

Unfortunately, the big villas were booked and we had two separate jungle villas for 2 persons next to each other with our two teenagers. The villas were in 1 word wonderful! They have 2 main pools. And the villas also have their own pools. You can even order floating breakfast. We had a beautiful time here! Everything is thought of. The staff is well managed and super caring and friendly.

The food was good. Breakfast was super! Massage was lovely. They have a car service to the village which is very handy!

The only thing that shocked us is Ubud and surroundings. We were here in 1999. Everything was natural. But now all the tourist attractions have turned into a giant circus. Hardly any rice fields and nature left. People are building hotels everywhere. It’s money driven. Incredible and a shame. The government does not seem to protect Bali. Traffic is too busy. The place is busted with tourists. But unfortunately this is the case everywhere in Bali.

But the Purist is a little green relaxt oasis. Far away from all the cheap tourism that is ruining the island.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lobrysteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews