We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service in a beautiful environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #8 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service in a beautiful environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just had a wonderful 4 night stay at The Purist and thoroughly enjoyed everything. We stayed in the Garden Villa which was just magic - beautifully decorated, very romantic with a stunning pool. The staff could not have done any more for us - always obliging with that wonderful Balinese smile and happy to share a joke. The food was first rate - an excellent selection and different every day - would even make something that was not on the menu. The villas are all very private with beautiful landscape design features around every corner and having only 7 villas makes it very intimate and special. Would absolutely recommend The Purist to everybody! Thankyou for a wonderful holiday in Ubud.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude3106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    59
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
115
310
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the purist for four nights in the Hill Villa as a family of two adults and two children. We had an excellent stay. The Hill Villa is a very upmarket and stylish two bedroom villa with lovely artwork from ubud, much of which you can purchase in the Ubud area. The breakfasts were outstanding with many staff eagerly serving you with really great food. The staff are very friendly and will drive you to the genuine art and craft makers rather than the commercial tourism hubs where the prices are inflated. Being a boutique hotel you really feel looked after and the manager always ensures that you have achieved what you want out of your holiday in Ubud.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My partner and I chose The Purist Villas as our base for Ubud and our expectations were exceeded. From the intiial booking process to the farewell, we felt special. I would like to note the service provided by Sukang, Antarres and Agus was far superior to most other hotels I've stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble for these men. The accommodation was quiet, luxurious and immaculate. The outdoor showers and bathtubs made us feel as though we were bathing in the jungle. Very special. Treat yourself to a massage whilst there. We changed villas throughout our stay and particularly loved the Garden Villa and Timor Villa. I highly recommend The Purist as a romantic and well located venue. The staff welcomed us like friends visitng their own homes. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the Purist in September 2011 for our Honeymoon. I know i am terribly late posting a review but it kept gnawing on me(it is the least i can do for their service) and here i am finally!

I wanted things to be perfect obviously for my honeymoon and so I booked Purist based on their stellar reviews on Trip advisor. Oktri responded promptly and gave us a great deal. We stayed at the Garden Villa which has a huge private pool for 3 nights and then in the Bamboo Villa for the last night. Right from the moment we stepped in, we were made to feel at home. The staff is extremely friendly and warm. Purist has a small but breath taking property and I loved all the extra personal attention we got which isn't usually possible in a big resort. Both the rooms we stayed in were very aesthetically done right down to the minute details.

The food was excellent. We had to fill out a form choosing from myriad options for breakfast each night. I am vegetarian and Oktri went out of her way to accommodate my requests. Our package included a romantic dinner in our villa. The staff lit candles all around the pool and then brought us a delicious 4 course meal served at the pool side. What can i say, I was so pampered at Purist, I still talk about it often to people. Their spa was amazing as well and we really enjoyed our couple massage.

There is nothing I would want to change about my stay at the Purist and I hope i get a chance to visit Bali soon to experience their hospitality again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetraveller295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had a lovely 4 nights stay in the beautiful bamboo villa at the Purist in October 2011. We chose the hotel purely on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Luxurious shower products, best breakfast ever, nice butler who even babysat our 2 small kids (aged 3 and 5 yrs) one evening and bought a pirated dvd of their favourite latest cars2 movie (no charge, but we gave him a nice tip), freshly prepared wholesome dinners (but order everything you need otherwise it takes too long to arrive 2 nd time around) , average massage, cool temperatue pools and friendly smiling staff. We were not too impressed with Ubud town itself (about 10 mins drive, dont walk, crazy dogs on this street!) and much preferred to stay in and enjoy the luxury of the Purist.

Room Tip: Bamboo villa had its private pool, but try to get a room that faces the small jungle near the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArpitaBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 km away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.8 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.3 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#10 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.2 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
2.5 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): $255 - $772
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four minutes’ drive from Ubud centre, The Purist Villas is a design-inspired oasis of calm. A collection of seventeen unique and spacious luxury residences, villas, and suites, most with private swimming pools, complimented by an elevated wellness centre, poolside restaurant and lounge areas. Contemporary and Indonesian architecture has been thoughtfully combined, well-furnished, and styled with a large and valuable collection of fine textiles and Indonesian artefacts. Owner-designers Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes, together with architect Joost van Grieken have created a most spectacular villa resort, a beautiful estate, in harmony with the landscape of the lush valley of the Tawar river. Featuring an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, lava & limestone, green river stones, and authentic artefacts from years of traveling the Indonesian archipelago. Balisimo restaurant, situated poolside in the peaceful Purist environment, honours the slow food philosophy. Fresh, organic produce prepared by an experienced team of Chefs results in a collection of healthy and delicious seasonal menus. The devoted and well-trained team of dedicated Butlers are intuitive to guests needs, establishing the Purist villas excellent reputation for superior, attentive service. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and uses high-end Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and wellbeing, focusing on re-balancing energy. The Purist's meditation and yoga therapists are finely attuned to the practice of working with energy, having mastered the art of mindful touch. The Purist Villas have brought a new benchmark of luxury boutique villa resort accommodation to Ubud and should not be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing