We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Bali family @ VILLA AGUNG KAHLIA.”
Review of Villa Agung Khalia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Agung Khalia
Ranked #36 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melville, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Bali family @ VILLA AGUNG KAHLIA.”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I have been there 3 times and are going back again. For us there are not enough words to describe how much we love the staff the location and the whole sense of belonging in the village.

From the minute we arrive to the day we leave it feels like we belong and the hospitality we get from the staff is second to none.We regard the staff as members of our Bali family.

We can not recommend this place enough since we think we have found our paradise.

I am looking forward to retiring sooner rather than later and spending time in the village with my Bali family. Agung, Guru,Dewi, Putu,Kadek,Nyoman the driver ,Made the gardener & Nyoman the chef & all the other staff are wonderfull. God bless them all.

See you soon my family. Thomas & Helen Kouzinas. Perth WA.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastrips, Owner at Villa Agung Khalia, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
On behalf of the staff we'd like to thank you for taking the time to recognize them by writing a review. It's lovely to see that you've embraced the welcoming and gracious nature of the staff and we are fortunate to attract guests like yourselves who seek interaction with the people and culture of Bali during their holiday. We all look forward to welcoming you back to your Bali home very soon.
Sincerely;
Darren, Laura, Agung, Guru and the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    22
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
138
82
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have stayed 6 times at VAK since Oct 2009 - with friends, on my own and the latest visit in Jan/Feb this year, with my family. They have all loved it and each time I visit it only gets better. The management are incredibly responsive to any suggestions that are made and are continuously upgrading and improving the villas. Recently, there has been an upgrade with decor, lighting and new fans. Also Villa 1 has its own private entrance which I noticed one reviewer commented on. Problem shared, problem solved!
The staff are all very special people and you are always welcomed, treated with respect and every whim is catered for - nothing is too much trouble!

Why do I love it and return each time? Because it is a haven from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. Every day I see genuine Balinese life in the padis enacted outside my villa. I have been lucky enough to witness the full cycle of rice growing and harvesting right outside my door. I can have the best of the Western world in my spotlessly clean villa and experience the culture of Bali as the incredibly friendly staff share their homes and traditions when I show interest. There are bikes available for a ride through the local villages, walks through the rice padis, visits to temples all at no extra cost and it's all the real deal - not put on for tourists. And you are not continuously putiing your hand in your pockets (although I would recommend a generous tip for the gorgeous, patient staff when you leave). The breakfasts are yummy, with heaps of variety and more than enough to eat. For dinner, try my favourite - pork spareribs with eggplant sambal - delish! The shuttle service to Ubud is excellent and provsion of a mobile phone makes life so easy. Why would I want to stay anywhere else? I have tried other places including a lovely hotel in Seminyak and zen resort in Candi Dasa but nothing compares to the tranquility and welcome of VAK, my home away from home. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All great! I've stayed in all and love them all for different reasons Honeymoon suite (upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a very laid back, enjoyable time. The staff were fantastic - helping us to go to town and back, planning day trips, serving breakfast, doing our laundry and keeping the whole place clean and tidy. The location is wonderful - it's a slow drive along a bumpy road that leads you to the villa, surrounded by paddy fields. Its a 10 minute drive to Ubud but the staff are ready to drive you any time (at no extra cost) and you get the benefit of living in amongst the paddys. Perfect. And I was surprised by the lack of mosquitoes too - another bonus. The one area for improvement is the furniture which could have been more traditional Balinese in design.

Overall, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacket99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in Villa 1 in December with 4 people. The Villa is amazing, very spacious, with beautiful tropical gardens and a huge pool in the sun, but plenty of shaded deck area if you like the shade. Surrounded by rice fields, It is a very peaceful haven, the moment you enter you feel relaxed! The staff were exceptional, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We especially enjoyed the free shuttle service into Ubud, where you are given an in-house mobile to call for a pickup whenever and where-ever you need. Drinking water is provided ad lib so there is no need to worry about buying copious amounts of plastic bottles during your stay. Yummy breakfast provided each day, either in your villa or the restaurant. Great value for money, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I've traveled a fair bit in my short number of years (25 to be exact), but i have never stayed at a place this awesome! The staff were magic, the villa made me feel like a king & i never wanted to leave the pool. It was one of the most relaxing experiences i've ever had.

As a nerd, i'd also like to mention how happy i was to have fast and effective internet access throughout the whole villa. That is an essential tool of the 21st century traveler and it was perfect!

5 out of 5, 10 out of 10, whatever you want to call it. It's amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.1 km away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#10 of 542 in Ubud
148 reviews
10.7 km away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#13 of 542 in Ubud
275 reviews
3.3 km away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#38 of 542 in Ubud
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Temuku Villas Ubud
Temuku Villas Ubud
#3 of 542 in Ubud
145 reviews
4.2 km away
Lily Lane Villas
Lily Lane Villas
#20 of 542 in Ubud
229 reviews
1.8 km away
Kano Sari Ubud Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Agung Khalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Agung Khalia

Property: Villa Agung Khalia
Address: Banjar Sala | Pejengkawan, Ubud, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price range (per night): $76 - $461
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Agung Khalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Agung Khalia consists of a new 3-bedroom and 6-bedroom villa, each with private pool and panoramic rice field views located 4km (10 minutes) northeast of central Ubud. The villas blend elements of traditional Balinese style and tropical outdoor living. An engineered vent design creates a natural cool environment day and night, with air-con as a back-up for those that prefer. Experience traditional Balinese culture from the comfort of your luxury villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Agung Khalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Agung Khalia Hotel Ubud
Villa Agung Khalia Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing