We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
389
45
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
45
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsmanager gedebreakfast tablehome away from homefree transportrooms are largesmall hotelhave stayed here many timesboutique hotelhidden awaybusy roadwonderful stayten minute walkthoroughly enjoyed our staypeace and quietfamily holidaygreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed 5 nights at pondok..what an AMAZING place..picked up by GEDE at the airport and as soon as we got to pondok we received a welcome drink and got settled..the grounds were immaculate like our room with fantastic air conditioning..the pool was great for a refreshing dip...breakfast was very good and COOKED to order and a lazy lunch by the pool was very RELAXING...so PEACEFULalso...free transportation to the many good restaurants in sanur..we both got a massage from a lady that is booked thru pondok and we both would recommend that service also...a big thank you to all the TEAM at pondok ayu...a special thank you to PUTU for treating us like one of the family...

EXTREMELY WELL PRICED... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi there,
Thank you so much for the great review, we are so happy that our guests find exactly what we work so hard to achieve at Pondok , you certainly covered everything and we hope we can have the pleasure of having you stay with us next time you plan a holiday to Bali.

Our best regards to you both,

ALL STAFF AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We recently spent 6 wonderful relaxing days at Pondok Ayu. Our trip was a last minute decision, so to find a vacancy at Pondok Ayu was surprising and very, very welcome. Our flight from Sydney was delayed and then after a detour to Darwin for refuelling due to Mt Agung's "imminent" eruption we arrived in Denpasar a little weary...but that all changed when we were welcomed by Wayan's smiling face and happy chat on our way to our accommodation. We found our room to be very comfortable, with everything we needed. Being on the first floor we enjoyed an afternoon breeze, which was appreciated after hot days. We appreciated being away from the hustle and bustle of Sanur "central". The 10-15 minute walk was not an issue for us so we did not need to avail ourselves of the free transport offered. Pondok Ayu is a small establishment, but we consider that part of the charm. We enjoyed sitting around the breakfast table getting to know the other guests along with the owners, Barb and Steve . What a thrill that was. They were charming hosts who extended such a friendly welcome to all the guests. The staff at Pondok Ayu are what makes this such a wonderful place to stay, so thank you all for making our stay one we will not forget.....and have not stopped talking about. Thank you too, Barb and Steve...it was a joy to meet you and hear about your lives in Bali. We look for to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank potsmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you so much for your time and lovely comments and we would LOVE to see you back at Pondok in the near future.

You were such an easy, happy, friendly, funny and easy going couple that our jobs were made so much a pleasure in looking after you.

Barbara and Steve would like to say that they enjoyed your company as well. They too enjoyed their laughs and stories with you both.

We wish you all the best. What more can we say but a big thank you.

Regards
ALL AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We started our 10 nights in Bali with the first 4 at Pondok Ayu. The aim was to have a quiet place to really kick back and let go of life back home. We were not disappointed. This place pays attention to all the little details and is very concerned with ensuring that you are completely comfortable and stress-free. Right from the start we were met at Denpasar airport with Gede's smiling face and driven back to our very comfortable and spacious room and welcomed with complimentary drinks.
Whilst the hotel may seem to be a little further from the main action of Sanur, this for us was one of its qualities – quiet, private and much more personal. And anyway, a 10 minute walk or 5 minute bicycle ride will get you to the shopping streets or beach in no time. You might think the hotel is a bit small but this too is a plus as it strikes the perfect balance between being able to socialise (especially around the fabulous round breakfast table) and having your own personal space.
We were lucky enough to meet owners Barb and Steve (the original and only 'Benno') whose warmth, friendliness and down-to-earth approach to life and relationships served to enhance our stay even more – what wonderful people... (thanks for the Sanur bike tour Steve!)
Whether it's relaxing with a novel by the pool, shopping for bargains at the nearby local market, or having a super-relaxed base from which to tour some of Bali's great day trips, you can't go wrong with Pondok Ayu.
Thanks to Gede, Made and the team for looking after us (and singing with us!!) – you are the heart and soul of Pondok Ayu and you really went out of you way to make sure everything was perfect – terima kasih. We'd love to be back someday.

Room Tip: The owners' suite is the creme-de-la-creme if you can get it. The other four rooms are perfectly awesome though.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisH1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thaaaannnkkksss.

All comments are greatly appreciated and we really love receiving them. We love all the time and effort people put into writing them. We must be the luckiest hotel in Sanur to have the guests and families that stay with us and that we are able to make your stay the best in Bali ever.

You certainly covered everything. It is so good to have the comments on our big boss "Benno" and Barb, yes they do put everything into making Pondok the best with EVERYTHING.

From all of my staff, we enjoyed every minute with you and your girls. Heaps of thanks again and hope that we can have you back at Pondok sometime.

Regards
All Pondok Ayu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My mom and I had the pleasure of staying at Pondak Ayu the last few nights. Gede greeted us at the airport and brought us to the hotel without any hiccups along the way. We settled in with a facial on our first night! Gede and his wife, Made, answered all of our questions and helped us with our travel plans. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners, Steve and Barb, lovely people who ensure every detail of the stay at Pondak is seamless. ❤️the fresh breakfasts every morning that are complimentary and made fresh to order! Totally impressed and loved the calm and peaceful oasis that is Pondak Ayu!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank becca t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, General Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to send a great comment for Pondok Ayu

It was our pleasure having you stay with us and you traveled such a long way to experience Bali.

Our talks and laughs regarding our lives around the large table were most enjoyable and we hope you are having a great time with the last half off your holiday.

Safe journey home and would love to have you back at Pondok some other time with all the extended family.

Regards,
GEDE & ALL STAFF AT PONDOK AYU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

What can I say? Don't stay anywhere else in Sanur! We stayed at Pondok Ayu for 6 nights during out recent honeymoon. The staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect and we felt like family! Our room was big and well maintained, with a gorgeous large bathroom and a balcony for relaxing. The pool was small but excellent with plenty of seating. They even made me special gluten free banana pancakes for breakfast! The hotel is definitely a little bit further from town than is convenient, but they make up for it with their shuttle service. Even if a car isn't available to take you into town or they beach they will give you cash to cover your journey! How's that for service. It is possible to walk, but I wouldn't recommend it - it's across a major road and drivers in Bali are crazy! Take advantage of the excellent lady they have for massages! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Once again another great comment from our guests.

We also agree regarding our staff and believe it would be hard to find any staff as good in most of Bali.

Some of us have been at Pondok for 18yrs and it seems like it was just yesterday.
You mentioned our massage lady and she has been massaging since 9:00am this morning and really enjoying helping our guests.

Hope to see you again maybe for your anniversary or when you have your first baby.
Regards,
Gede and ALL AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews