We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
390
45
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
45
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests manager gede breakfast table home away from home free transport rooms are large small hotel have stayed here many times boutique hotel hidden away busy road ten minute walk wonderful stay thoroughly enjoyed our stay peace and quiet family holiday each morning
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My mom and I had the pleasure of staying at Pondak Ayu the last few nights. Gede greeted us at the airport and brought us to the hotel without any hiccups along the way. We settled in with a facial on our first night! Gede and his wife, Made, answered all of our questions and helped us with our travel plans. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners, Steve and Barb, lovely people who ensure every detail of the stay at Pondak is seamless. ❤️the fresh breakfasts every morning that are complimentary and made fresh to order! Totally impressed and loved the calm and peaceful oasis that is Pondak Ayu!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank becca t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, General Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to send a great comment for Pondok Ayu

It was our pleasure having you stay with us and you traveled such a long way to experience Bali.

Our talks and laughs regarding our lives around the large table were most enjoyable and we hope you are having a great time with the last half off your holiday.

Safe journey home and would love to have you back at Pondok some other time with all the extended family.

Regards,
GEDE & ALL STAFF AT PONDOK AYU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

What can I say? Don't stay anywhere else in Sanur! We stayed at Pondok Ayu for 6 nights during out recent honeymoon. The staff went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect and we felt like family! Our room was big and well maintained, with a gorgeous large bathroom and a balcony for relaxing. The pool was small but excellent with plenty of seating. They even made me special gluten free banana pancakes for breakfast! The hotel is definitely a little bit further from town than is convenient, but they make up for it with their shuttle service. Even if a car isn't available to take you into town or they beach they will give you cash to cover your journey! How's that for service. It is possible to walk, but I wouldn't recommend it - it's across a major road and drivers in Bali are crazy! Take advantage of the excellent lady they have for massages! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Once again another great comment from our guests.

We also agree regarding our staff and believe it would be hard to find any staff as good in most of Bali.

Some of us have been at Pondok for 18yrs and it seems like it was just yesterday.
You mentioned our massage lady and she has been massaging since 9:00am this morning and really enjoying helping our guests.

Hope to see you again maybe for your anniversary or when you have your first baby.
Regards,
Gede and ALL AT PONDOK AYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Well what can we say ! 1st of all thanks Barb for having the place built , next thanks Gedde and Made for the trips and help you gave us throughout our stay , next thanks to all the staff for looking after us so well a special mention to Putu . Ive no doubt I spelt your names wrong ! But you can tell me off in June when we are back . The only improvement I could think of would be more English speaking TV channels but that is a tiny suggestion . Look after our daughter next week . if your thinking about going get it booked !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rugbylee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello to you both and a big thank you for your comments regarding Pondok Ayu.

We waited till now to reply so we could let you know daughter and friend have arrived safe and sound and what happy refreshing young girls they are.

There has been very big blessings happening in Bali today so our night driver picked them up and all good.

We all want to say that we are looking forward to your stay with us again next year and so glad you were able to get the dates that you wanted.

Our best wishes to you both and again a big THANK YOU
GEDE & ALL THE STAFF AT PONDOK AYU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pondok Ayu. Staff were friendly and hospitable. The pool was lovely and very welcome in the heat. Our room was comfortable and spacious,with good aircon. (The bed was not the most comfortable, however.) As the hotel is not that close to the beach, they offer a free transport service in and around Sanur, which was great. Would definitely recommend Pondok Ayu.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Just returned from five nights at Pondok Ayu and I am left wondering one thing... How on earth did it take me so long to find this place? We have been to Bali quite a few times in the last few years, and I have always found myself rushed, pressured and not totally relaxed. So from the easy check in to our final dinner everything was relaxed and easy. Room was spacious and well looked after, and as there is only five rooms there is always room for all by the gorgeous pool. Breakfast is plentiful, cooked to order and delicious. Lunch or dinner have limited options but delicious and simply perfect for a poolside snack or early dinner if you are tired of going out. Staff are amazing...helpful, friendly, around when you need without hovering. Our room was beautifully made up by the time we finished breakfast each day. Pondok is a couple of minute drive to all the sanur areas and if a hotel driver is not available, a taxi is provided to take you wherever you like in Sanur within minutes...all included in price. It was very nice to come home to such a peaceful place each day. Massages by the pool were extraordinary and very well priced. Can't wait to come back and thank you so much to all the Pondok family. ❤️

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trish2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gede_Kartaya, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello and thank you so much for your time and great comments regarding Pondok Ayu.

The fact that you spoke about the transport around Sanur was so appreciated as we take everything that we do to make our guests stay the best and i think we have covered the fact that we are not on the beach is taken care of with the free transport and even the taxi contact if our driver is unavailable.

We hope to have you back at Pondok next time you plan to come to Bali also Pondok is a great place for groups and many take advantage of that with families or friends and it is like having your own big big villa.

Thank you again.
Gede & ALL AT PONDOK AYU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews