We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Place”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved this Place”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just got back from 10 'do nothing' days in Sanur. We stayed the whole 10 days at Pondok Ayu and what a delight the place is. It has the feel of a private villa more than a small hotel. It is just awesome value for money with the nicest most willing staff you could want. Ayu Pondok is ideal for couples and adult singles. Families with kids might find the complex too restrictive space-wise and those looking for cocktails at sunset in the pool would also be missing the point of this place. For the rest of us, it's just great. All these raps this place is getting on TA does mean it will be harder to get back next time. Ah well!

Room Tip: If staying for more than 4 or 5 days should pay that bit extra for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    42
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
126
175
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This place is wonderful. When they pick u up from the airport and u go down a million little alleyways you freak out but then luxury opens up when you arrive. its a 15 min walk to great food, the staff are soooooo friendly and the rooms are beautiful. we will always come back here!!!!! The only tiny down side is there isnt a large option of food but the food u do get is yummy!!!

Room Tip: we would prefer the rooms on the ground level so you dont have to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
217 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

God I love this place! Seriously this place is fior those who love luxury, seclusion (as it is only 5 rooms overall) and likes to see what its really like in a Balinese neighbourhood. The staff are truly lovely and cant help you enough, the rooms are still the cheapest Ive found for what you get. (Stayed in Kuta last time at a so called boutique hotel, never again!) Its about a 15min walk to their cafe at Sanur Beach, (where your breakie is included) and you walk thru the neighbourhood and markets, awesome. This time we took our 13 year old and she wants to come back asap lol! (don't think so....:) But if you like a unique experience this is awesome, cant say much more than that. Booking again soon!

Room Tip: Upstairs is cool as you get to have a beer and watch the kites fly skyhigh! If you have a small fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our visit started a little rough with a missed airport pick-up, but it was taken care of in a very professional manner by the owner, Barb. Once we began our stay of 6 days however, Pondok Ayu definetely grew on us! Very intimate compound with a clean pool as it's centerpiece and only 5 rooms made it feel like we had our own private villa. Rooms were immaculate and had everything we needed. Staff was very friendly and the communal morning breakfast was always good fun. Only downside was it's somewhat removed location from the beach, but nothing that a $1 taxi ride couldnt overcome. All in all, great little spot to stay for a few days!

Room Tip: Would spend a little more to get the largest room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffpry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was our second stay at Pondok Ayu. Once again we had a fantastic time. Tjhis place is a little slice of heaven. Beautiful clean rooms, relaxing pool area and such fantastic staff. Gede, Made,Putu, Kadek and Wayan do a marvellous job of looking after you, and Nunga is on hand to take you around Sanur and other places.
I highly reccomend this small boutique hotel for anyone who is looking for a relaxing place to stay away from the crowds and wants something clean, modern and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellsbells2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.7 km away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
2.6 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.5 km away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.8 km away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Property: Pondok Ayu
Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price range (per night): $105 - $138
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 5 (2011-2016) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing