We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting restaurant.......what a rip off!”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgetown, Western Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disgusting restaurant.......what a rip off!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Decided with my husband to lash out for a fancy meal at griya. Huge mistake! With a little one in tow we asked for kids menu - there wasn't one! Ordered two cocktails that tasted like fruit cordial. Received dinner - steak tough as boots, overpriced and came with no sides (available if you would like to pay more), fish undercooked and tasted just a little fishy (off?). Told them about fish -told that because I had a couple bites I had to
Pay for whole dish! This restaurant charges 21 percent tax on everything too! A con by Balinese standards. Tonight was our way of deciding whether to stay here next time - not a bloody chance! And to think I grew up spending childhood holidays here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shoegal40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    520
    128
    43
    14
See reviews for
372
733
55
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The words "I am sorry the room you have booked is unavailable" sent a shiver through me, but it was quickly followed by "so we have upgraded you to one suite and one deluxe room!" Ummmmmm woooohooo!!!

We spent 3 wonderful nights in a suite and my parents had the deluxe room. The resort is beautiful and everything was perfect. Food was great, albeit service was a bit slow at times.
The pool areas were lovely and you had a choice of the three pools, so you could pick anc choose where you wanted to be. Had a lovely massage in the open air parlour, whilst the family splashed around in the pool.

The hotel is in a great position, right on the beach in a secure compound, very close to some fabulous restuarants.

Would I return, you bet!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthbornandbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have just returned from our eight night stay at the Griya Santrian (May 2012) and had a fantastic time. We had booked a newly renovated Deluxe room but were upgraded on arrival (around 1am after late night flight) to a Suite - loved it! The Griya is just perfect - modern, exceptionally clean, with great facilities, beautiful grounds (well maintained by their busy gardening staff), a fantastic location, gorgeous swimming pools and really welcoming, smiling staff who are just so friendly and extremely helpful. The location is perfect - close to all the good eateries and has the best location as far as beach frontage goes. We spent every evening relaxing under the beatiful gazebo on the beach with cocktail in hand - which were all of a generous size and very well priced. It was our first trip to Bali - we did a lot of looking around the island in that time but think Sanur (and the Griya Santrian) were the pick of the places we visited - not too busy but just enough happening - and we will definitely be staying there again next year!

Room Tip: Suites are quieter and away from the main pool area - but close to the much quieter pool which suits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had a short stay at Griya Santrian, and at the Santrian Suite. The bathroom was big and spacious and the bed had nice fluffy pillows with mosquito netting around it so we don't get bit at night! They have three pools, though not very large, but enough to accommodate its guests. Each room, as we can see, have large balconies equipped with chairs and a couch for reading or lounging purposes.

The room service was prompt and the hotel's restaurant had good food choices. The staff were friendly and helpful and some are even quite chatty!

I'll definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Santrian Suite and it was roomy indeed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtanbrainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My wife and i and our 14month old daughter had the pleasure of staying at The Griya Santrian for a short 5 day break and i have to say we had a fantastic time!...the staff were so friendly and always there to help, plus the resort was in the perfect spot right on the beach!...we had a beach wing room overlooking the pool, which i thoroughly recommend. The pool by the beach with its swim up bar was great, especially as it had a shallow area for children, which comes in handy when you need to keep a watch on the kids...it was a fair bit quieter than Kuta, but that suited us much better, and although quieter the restaurants and bars were some of the best i have been to. The food at the Griya could not have been better, and very affordable. We booked this holiday on their website and the information and details they gave us by e-mail could not have been more helpful, and we particularly would like to mention Yulia for all the help prior to coming, and arranging a cot in the room for our little one...nothing was ever too much trouble. If i had to be in the smallest way critical, some of the rooms needed a bit of an upgrade such as a seperate shower instead of shower in the bath, but that did not spoil anything for us one bit, and while we were there we noticed they were upgrading parts of the resort anyway. That aside this was a great place to stay, and we will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.2 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.5 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.2 km away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.7 km away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.8 km away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price range (per night): $144 - $284
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing