We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST IN SANUR!”
Review of The Pavilions Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pavilions Bali
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom pool villa. From arrival to departure eveything was just perfect! Lovely Villa's, refreshing pool, nice bathroom with big shower area.

Staff were really so nice and very genuine. The lady that does the welcome foot massage is a gem! Breakfast is served exactly at the time you request and is partly prepared in your own villa by a butler.

The main pool is also lovely and very peaceful. Food is really excellent and at very reasonable prices, WiFi works well throughout the resort.

An oasis of tranquility in the centre of Sanur... the manager is a lovely Korean lady who takes service and quality seriously.

Don't miss this, it's worth spending a little extra as it will transform your Bali holiday into something very special!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this Hotel, let them choose for you, knowing it will be fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 270 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is our second visit to the Pavilions in Sanur during the last 14 months and I have to say, It does not dissappoint.

From the moment we were met at the airport to the moment we were dropped off again there is always a smile and a humble thank you.

As it was our second visit I had emailed ahead to arrange champagne for our arrival. Very easy and quick email communication. Sorted in 2 small emails.

The weather was appaulling and wet when we arrived so we were dropped straight to our room to complete the check in paperwork. As we walked into the villa we had been given the same one as our previous visit which was a nice touch also they had put our name over the entrance on a name plate. Again really nice.

Day 2 was both of our Birthday's and as breakfast was delivered to our villa we were presented with a hand made card and a wrapped present each. What a great suprise and thank you

Little things like this really make this place special

As many have said breakfast is prepared daily in your villa and very unobtrusive and laid back. The butlers are so quiet humble and helpful. Anything you want you can have.

We had lunch about 3 or 4 times during our stay as we could be bothered to walk out due to poor weather. However lunch is pretty reasonable if you can see past the annoying double tax on everything. So add 21% to everything. This is one of only 2 gripes.
The second while we are here is the Internet connection. Although free it is so unreliable. In this day and age a reliable wifi for free should be a given in a property like this. That said if this is all I can moan about we are onto a winner.

Would I recommend The Pavilions? Hell yes, would I go back? Well this is our second visit so I guess that says it all.

It's not cheap but just turning into the secluded bamboo lined driveway makes you smile with happiness.

Go on book it.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mad_Man_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our main honeymoon in November 2011. We wanted somewhere long haul, hot and luxurious without being a cliched honeymoon destination.

Sanur itself is typical of Bali, with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops selling fake designer gear (Paul Smith and Ralph Lauren being particularly popular brands to rip-off) and there was feel, in certain bars, of it being akin to an 'Aussie Benidorm'. Having said that, this was owing to the heavily tattooed and pierced Australians wearing football club vests (who incidentally were actually quite friendly) as opposed to drunken, maurading 18-30s.

The Pavilions therefore, was a quiet oasis in the middle of all this. As described in previous
reviews, just walk a few yards down the bamboo-lined driveway and all is calm and peaceful.
It is quite a large complex and we stayed in a private pool villa at the far end, approx five
minutes walk from the entrance which meant we were nicely secluded. The villa itself was two-storey and very spacious with all facilities included. Large living areas and bathrooms gave a
luxurious feel and the private pool was very welcome for a cooling dip.

The staff are very polite and friendly and the butler-service breakfast was delivered to the villa
on time and as ordered on a daily basis. Fresh flowers (beautiful Birds of Paradise) were in the
main rooms which added to the very pleasant ambience.

The main pool area is very pleasant and well appointed and the attendant brings you insulated
glasses of iced water as soon as you arrive. Sandwiches from the bar menu were nice and
reasonably priced for this type of hotel but we chose to eat out at local restaurants for our
main meals. Eating out was very cheap indeed (a delicious two course meal for two with a
local beer and a soft drink costs around £12 Sterling at one of the nicer little restaurants).

We only saw a handful of other couples the entire time we stayed so assumed that The
Pavilions was rather quiet. The only criticism we have is that the 'private beach' is in fact part
of a general beach with an area reserved for Pavilions guests. This beach was approx a
fifteen minute walk from the villas, although there is a free shuttle service organised from
reception and was actually quite disappointing so don't come here if your idea of a great
holiday is lying on a secluded, idyllic beach. If, however, you want to experience a different
culture whilst having good restaurants and entertainment in various bars available and an
incredibly relaxing villa to retreat to, then The Pavilions @ Sanur is well worth considering.

Ps- there are numerous local spas offering amazing treatments for a ridiculously cheap price, i.e. £6 Sterling for a ninety minute Balinese massage!

Room Tip: Private pool villas are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MulliganG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

People fantastic. Arrival foot massage wonderful. Location centre for everything and set back from the town. Spa treatments wonderful slightly more expensive but relaxing surroundings. Breakfast delivered daily with a choice of food the night before , news paper divered and someone cleaning your place through the day. U do not need to lift a finger. Ask for a sun facing pool villa to get sun all day. Beach about 10 minute walk. Walk through hotels bear by and turn left to end of parade of hotels. Or use the free taxi from hotel and driver to get u there. Simple. We didn't eat at hotel restaurent as local places much cheaper but still it's nice to get room service every now and then with fresh cooked meals. Very nice.
Best restaurent near by turn right out of hotel accross road. Everyone has little flowers in their hair!! Very traditional food and good cocktails.
travel to the breeze restaurent about an hours drive away. Reception will book for u. Sun set dinner perfect. Not cheap but it was our honey moon. Wine about £60 a bottle standard red very nice but blow the budget on this night out we did and steak was amazing.
We would go back to pavilions tomorrow.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in November - in summary the place is beautiful, VERY peaceful but if anything, perhaps a little too private and tucked away.

So lets start with negatives - food was moderate but expensive, I definitely thought they could do better here; The location is set 5 -10 mins from the beach amidst various shops (although the long drive puts a real distance between you and the commercial side of Sanur); there is only the one restaurant and the hours are a little limited.

Also for me, staying here felt a little too much like hiding. Its just SO private. Even breakfast is brough tot he villa. This is personal taste. If you really want this level of privacy, consider my review a five star. For me, I like a little bit of a buzz.

Another thing which is more weird than negative. They have a butler service but its not like you get in other hotels. The only time we saw it was when the 'butler' took us on a (excellent and good value) tour of the island and NOT when we first arrived with offers to unpack bags or iron, etc. This may have been offered but if so it was definitely blink-and-you'd-miss-it.

And now the positives, of which there are many. The room was immaculate, and everything was a good spec. The pool was nice and we never used the larger shared pool in BP. The service is perhaps the best bit - everyone is so incredibly NICE, especially the people on reception. It feels like the whole place is really willing you to have a great time. This is a hotel where I think they genuinely hate saying no. The service is friendly too - you dont have the stufffy pretensions of some of the large fiuve stars here. You'll find yourself really liking some of the staff because they are nice and down to earth and they put being pleasant above formality so so well.

So to wrap up, if you want to really zone out / get away from it all / hide away for a few days (honeymooners I'm talking to you....) this is an excellent, excellent place. But if you want a bit of a buzz or proximity to a beach you might want to look elsewhere although you still wouldnt go too wrong here.

Room Tip: Gardens can be small - ask for good sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2 km away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
536 reviews
1.4 km away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 79 in Sanur
557 reviews
2.4 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#19 of 79 in Sanur
2,347 reviews
0.3 km away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#17 of 79 in Sanur
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan no. 76, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $199 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilions Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in a quiet corner of Sanur, The Pavilions Bali makes for your calming moment of bliss. Set between a reef lagoon and stretches of white sand, this secluded spot offers peace, yet is conveniently close to Sanur’s main shopping area. Enjoy The Pavilions Bali charming, spacious villas and leave your worries behind. Our personalised butlers are at your call with unobstructive attention ensuring complete privacy. Relax at The Pavilions Spa with our signature massages with handcrafted aromatic oils, enjoy breakfast in you private villa. See the real Bali with our private tailored made island tours with our butler, let our chefs create delicious Balinese candlelit dinners for you at Jahe Restaurant or at your villa. See why our guests cannot wait to come back to The Pavilions again, book today on our website for exclusive offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Pavilions Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Pavilions Hotel Sanur
The Pavilions Bali Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing