We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Years On and Still Heavenly!”
Review of The Pavilions Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pavilions Bali
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We first came to The Pavilions in 2001 and have just returned home after revisiting the hotel ten years on and it was beautiful then, but just heavenly now! This hotel, although is child friendly, is really set out for couples and designed for romance! Each private villa is delightful with the attention to detail of the highest Western standard but with the Balinese touches so very evident. Various improvements have been made, although if you had asked me ten years ago, I would have said that there was no need to improve anything!

They now have a restaurant, which is not only set in a beautiful garden setting (where the library once was) but the food is exceptional! The entire experience is one of romance, with four separate wooden 'bales' set up amongst the gardens for intimate dining away from the main dining area. The simple spa area has been redeveloped into one of luxury and houses many more treatment rooms, which of course, makes it easier to book an appointment and the increased spa menu was a lovely suprise. They also have moved the gym to the new spa area and have updated all of the exercise equipment... but I can't say that I used it!! The lush tropical gardens are just wonderful and this is appreciated not just by us, but also the birds as there is an abundance of wild life around the hotel.

We chose a one bedroom pool villa and it was glorious. Fitted out with all the mod-cons that we Westerners want (air con, mini bar, satelite TV, rain shower, etc) but the extra touches of Balinese style always make it special (outdoor bathroom, hibiscus flowers on the beds, breakfast served in the villa each morning, attendants to the pool daily and all of the staff all had time to talk to us or at least smile at us... a huge bonus!) I can definitely recommend this hotel.

Sanur itself is a very likeable village. Way less developed than the Legian/Seminyak area but still with delicious restaurants snuggled either next to the ocean or set back from the main drag. Our favourite restaurant there this time was "Pergina", a traditional Balinese restaurant, where the food was just superbly fresh and really "made to order". This is undoubtedly the cleanest Balinese restaurant I have ever been too (this visit was my 15th!) and still very affordable, regardless of your currency. Lunch or Dinner was costing my partner and me around 120,000-150,000rps for a two course meal with drinks (beer/fresh juice).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 300 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in a private pool villa for two weeks. The villa is pretty big, with a separate living room and bedroom. It was clean and lovely. The pool was a good size too. and we spend many hours lounging around it.

There were just two negatives. One, the bed was too hard for our liking. Two, the loungers by the private pool (and also round the main pool) weren't adjustable. It was OK lying on your back but impossible to lie on your front.

On arrival we got a welcome drink and within minutes of arriving, a couple of ladies from the spa arrived to give us foot massages. We used the spa a couple of days later (a massage and a pedicure) and they were really good.

Breakfast was served in our villa every morning by one of the butlers. There was plenty of choice, you just had to fill out a form at reception the day before. The butler set breakfast out on the living room table and then left us to it.

On day three, I got Bali Belly (acute gastroenteritis). I picked it up outside somewhere. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more supportive. They got a doctor's note so we didn't have to pay for an excursion we'd booked outside and shuttled me to the clinic at the Hyatt for free (the doctor at the Hyatt was excellent and called me regularly to check I was OK and he only charged me for one visit, despite me having to visit him twice). One of the butlers - Abi - made me lots of special tea with honey and showed real concern.

We had lunch and dinner in the hotel a couple of times. Food was good and not particularly pricey.

The hotel was in a really good location. Just a five minute walk to the beach, although the hotel did a free shuttle back and forth every day. Turn left or right outside the hotel on the main road and there were loads of bars and restaurants. The only downside was that most closed at 10 or 11pm.

For good food, try the Little Bird warung. Turn left outside the hotel and its about five minutes walk.

We had a couple of excursions through the hotel. Both with Pande one of the butlers. He was very knowledgeable about the island and spoke really good English. The first was an all day trip around the island. We visited some temples, a volcano, an authentic Bali house and a coffee maker, where we tried the famous Kopi Luwak.

The other trip was an evening visit to Ulluwatu Temple. We were really unlucky because that evening the temple was really crowded. But we got good seats for the fire dance, which made the trip worthwhile.

The people of Bali were really friendly and helpful. And, despite the Bali Belly, we had a great time. We'll definitely return and probably stay at the Bali Pavilions, especially because of the great service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HppyTrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights. The villas are lovely, the staff are friendly and attentive and the pool is quiet and secluded. We didn't need a pool villa as the communal pool never had any other people there.
I had a coiple of treatments in the spa, which were excellent.
Sanur beach is a little disappointing, so we took a taxi to Seminyak which was a great beach and fun waves for body surfing.
All in all Sanur was wonderful-it closes early at night so don't expect lots of people and late nights, but great to relax.
The only critism was the really hard bed-we both got bad backs and had poor night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howshaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Great private villa with pool. Not on beach but sanur beach is very average. Walk out of hotel onto main street with good food all around.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammygaddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

When you're in Sanur, Bali pay a visit to Liz at the Glass House in Sanur. We were craving a BIG Western Breakfast and quality cup of Coffee and found both at the Glass House...and it was cheap! We sat outside on the super comfy chairs listening to their cool tunes and great, fast service. Also, highly recomment the choc cake and banana smoothie! Located on Jln. Danau Tamblingan.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrobran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2 km away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 km away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.2 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 82 in Sanur
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 82 in Sanur
562 reviews
2.4 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,357 reviews
4.3 km away
The Samata
The Samata
#2 of 82 in Sanur
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan no. 76, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: $187 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilions Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in a quiet corner of Sanur, The Pavilions Bali makes for your calming moment of bliss. Set between a reef lagoon and stretches of white sand, this secluded spot offers peace, yet is conveniently close to Sanur’s main shopping area. Enjoy The Pavilions Bali charming, spacious villas and leave your worries behind. Our personalised butlers are at your call with unobstructive attention ensuring complete privacy. Relax at The Pavilions Spa with our signature massages with handcrafted aromatic oils, enjoy breakfast in you private villa. See the real Bali with our private tailored made island tours with our butler, let our chefs create delicious Balinese candlelit dinners for you at Jahe Restaurant or at your villa. See why our guests cannot wait to come back to The Pavilions again, book today on our website for exclusive offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pavilions Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Pavilions Hotel Sanur
The Pavilions Bali Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing