We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“cheap and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunhouse Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunhouse Guest House
Ranked #11 of 129 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“cheap and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

i stayed in the standard room which is really small, but as i was traveling alone, this wasn't a big issue. the rooms are really basic, but kept pretty clean, so that's good enough for me. there's a tv, but no english channels, but there's a dvd player and a small selection of dvds. the toilet is pretty spacious, but the flush pressure is low. the bath water also takes a long while to drain.

it is located at the quiet side of sanur, which means less noise and ruckus, but on the downside, have to travel a fair bit to get to the main stretch. despite it being on the a quiet street, street noise of pesky motorcycles is still unavoidable and i often get woken up be chirping birds in the morning. the bed, pillows and quilt are pretty comfy and the aircon cold enough.

the staff speak little english, but they seems like really nice people. they keep the place pretty clean, except for the pool. breakfast is not included, but for less than US$30/night, can't ask for much. there's a kitchen, but i've not used it, opting to walk to the nearby restaurants for my meals. overall, i think it's pretty ok considering the price, just don't go with too much expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    64
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
87
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The place is great, clean has a nice pool, staff very helpful, and to get to beach you will walk just a couple of blocks, where you will find nice and cheap restaurants, just make sure to pick a clean one, to avoid food poison, very common in Bali. Sanur beach is not as clean as Kuta, but is quieter, so if you want to relax, thats your place! the price might be a little suspicious, don't worry, the place exist and you wont regret!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed in their Tulip and Orchid rooms for 2 nights and did not find any faults major enough to stop us from recommending this place!

Sure, it's location on Mertasari road is far from the madding crowd of Tamblingan but if you prefer the quiet side of Sanur at an affordable price, here's a great option for you. There's even a bike rental shop nearby if u don't fancy walking all the time. It's a fantastic way to go to the beach or just explore Sanur.

The rooms are amazingly clean and the staff really made sure that the rooms are kept in tip top condition. The pool is not that inviting, even the gazebo too. I wish they would keep those two as good as they do with the rooms. I hope they will.

But apart from that, great lodging option. The staff made us feel at home, made sure everything is taken care of. They even suggested lovely local spots for us to eat at. Great service for the price that we paid :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
กรุงเทพมหานคร (กทม.), ไทย
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The Orchid room in old building is nice clean and charming while the Jasmin room in new building is tiny and toilet is not clean enough. The shared kitchen is useful, yet not clean. The proximity of the hotel is too far from the backpaker area i.e. Perama office etc. but plenty of taxi passing by. Art market, beach, and reasonable restaurant i.e. Gardenia is in a walking distant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_NooK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I didn't want to write this review as I wanted to keep this place a secret. I stayed at Bali Sunhouse for 4 weeks as a solo lady traveller. I am planning to return every year. I loved Sunhouse it had everything I needed and after hiring a bicycle from a local lady there was no stopping me. I was able to cycle to Hardys supermarket to buy supplies and pick up a few dvd's. cycle to the market at 6am for my fish and vegies and cook them on my return home. The swimming pool was great for a dip in the afternoon. The beach is a 5 minute walk and there are many restaurants in walking distance. If a bycycle is not your go there are the Bemo's which travel all the way along the main strip to the market. My room was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. The only draw back is the fridge as it is quite small and is for the use of 6 rooms and the staff. There is no where to put cold drinks but there is a local shop around the corner to purchase as needed. The kitchen is also very small but you will find most people dont use it to cook a meal as the restaurants are very handy. Air Con worked well, shower was sufficient, DVD and TV supplied, free wi fi , safety deposit box in room and swimming pool to cool down. All in all a great affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazzxf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 km away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#13 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.4 km away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 km away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 74 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
2.5 km away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#9 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.8 km away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 74 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Property: Sunhouse Guest House
Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price range (per night): $37 - $46
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing