We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
41
90
35
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
90
35
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomdutch touristsstaff on receptionbreakfast was includedtraditional balinese hotelno safe in the roomupstairs roombath mateggs and toastgarden settingegg stationsafety boxspring rollsamerican breakfastfresh fruithotel restauranttea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The photos of the rooms are not reflective of reality. No windows, just wooden shutters with large gaps making the air- con virtually useless. This is a very basic hotel which is seriously over-priced. The saving grace is it’s location and lovely pool area. Breakfast again, disappointing and basic. For the price it needs to be a lot better!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Sir,

First,we do apologize to you disappointed you for the room you have stayed.
for your information the room you stayed are a superior room wit Balinese
style which one the room with two smoll windows and carved door.
We also have room with medern style,we think that you are enjoyed with the room
we have reserve.
We thank you for your comment good for us for know.

Wishing you have alovely day.

Yours sincerely,

W.Padmi.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Initially disappointed, but … it got better.
Stayed late Oct early Nov 2017. A long but detailed review.

We arrived quite late (midnight) and were ushered into an unmade-up room. This seemed quite a surprise to staff, and from what we could gather, it probably WAS made up, but the previous guests had not checked out before it was cleaned, so they possibly continued to use the room without cleaners knowing. Wow, it was a bit of an eye-opener as to how other people badly treat the room – ash on the dresser, half empty drink bottles, gross rubbish left on benches. Anyway a cursory double-check by the supervising staff would have avoided this.

We were then shown another room, but the air-conditioning was not working. The technician was called, but could not fix it, so we were moved yet again, to another room – it had been cleaned and the air con worked. Each room looked the same as the previous - standard - very good size and layout with decent size balcony (we were on the first floor). Lamps and lights worked; fridge needed plugging in but then worked okay; tv not so good – it continually snowed, but had reasonable viewing choices. There was a decent size suitcase rack and wardrobe (with several hangers). The furniture was old-style Balinese.

No outdoor showers here - I’ve come to prefer these type of bathrooms, but alas, at least this one didn’t have a window in the door! The bathroom had a big bench for placing toiletry items on (yay!) with the usual little goodies - shampoo, conditioner, soap, tissues etc, but no hairdryer. The bathroom lighting was the usual not-so-bright and the shower was small but adequate (wouldn’t wanna be the size of a sumo in there tho), and the water pressure was good. Initially there was no hot water, but staff fixed that quite quickly. The toilet flushed but unfortunately there was a constant smell – sewerage type of smell, not overpowering, so not enough to complain about or request a move, just enough to want to get out of there quick and keep the door shut at other times.

Two bath towels, two flannels, a bath mat and a hand towel were provided each day, however the bath towels were often on the small thin side. I also felt that the sheet on the mattress was quite thin as well, and there seemed to be no mattress protector under that. Also, only a quilt/doona – no top sheet. If you’re fussy about these things, go for it; me, I slept well … always do in Bali . Bed was nice and firm.

All power points seemed to work, there was no street noise, construction work or barking dogs and the wifi worked really well in the rooms and all other areas – restaurant and reception. Two small bottles of water provided each day, with kettle, tea/coffee and drinking glasses. There’s no safe in the room, but there’s a safety box arrangement at reception.

Breakfast was included in our deal and was quite adequate. My favourite – crispy bacon was not on the menu each day, but about each third day. There was not a lot of choice but they did seem to try to mix things up a bit. Eggs and toast were always available, with limited cereals, juice, fruit, yoghurt, pancakes and savouries – rice, noodles, soup.

The pool is an adequate size and a wonderful deep blue colour. There were 23 sunbeds around the pool and about the same along the beach. Being a quiet time, there was always spare sunbeds, but I don’t know how it would go in busy time … there was the usual early morning “savers” of sunbeds on the beach, so it could be a problem in peak time. The pool had a mix of sun and shade areas, and umbrellas. The water temperature by the afternoon was quite warm.

We made our booking through Agoda and paid AU$96 per night per room. Airport transfers were not included in our deal, so we arranged it directly via email with the hotel and paid Rp350,000 for four people and luggage one way. We made our own arrangements with one of the drivers out front for the trip back (Rp200,000), as well as for other day trips.

Small Bintangs at the hotel restaurant were Rp30,000 each (inclusive of tax) and we had an evening meal and lunch meal there also. Grilled chicken (Rp75,000), fish and chips (Rp65,000), spring rolls (Rp38,500), chips (Rp20,000) and several cocktails (between Rp35-60,000).

The hotel is right on Sanur Beach and goes back the other way to the road, so you can choose either way to explore the shops and eateries. It is very central to everything. Just walk or catch a short trip on a Blue Bird.

We were in room 8.
Overall, despite our initial disappointments, I would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed on a par
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rinnie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Sir,

I do apologize for late replying.

Thank you for your stayed with us and thank you for your very long and good comment
for Vila Shanti Hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Wishing you have a lovely day.

Yours sincerely,

W.Padmi.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Good sized clean room with excellent air con, nice cold fridge and large screen tv. Beautiful gardens to walk through to get to the pool, restaurant and beach. Pool does get a bit warm in the hot sun but it's still nice. Breakfast is good with a decent choice and plenty tea and coffee refills. Western food is okay but the Indonesian food is delicious. All the staff are friendly and smiling and try to help as much as they can. If I come back to Bali I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank WendyA1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Sir,

first,we would like to thanks to you for your stayed with us,we are really happy with your best comment at trip advisor.

Looking forward for your next visit.
Wishing you have agood day!

Yours sincerely,

W.Padmi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Overall Vila Shanti is a lovely relaxed little Balinese style hotel with a beautiful calmness about it.
Although the rooms are getting a bit tired & in need of a re-furb (as most people acknowledge) they're still fine in terms of value for money.
Our room was quiet, near the pool but still felt private.
The bar and restaurant staff were always cooperative & the Bintang was lovely and cold!
Plus they were happy to provide ice and glasses for drinks if/when we drank our own.
The breakfast (included in the room price) were really yummy and there was plenty, including our favourite omelettes with the lot, fresh fruit & pastries.
An improvement would be if the after hours reception staff could be more understanding (in terms of understanding English) and cooperative.
And opening the pool later in the evenings would be a BIG improvement!

Room Tip: The views would be better upstairs but the downstairs rooms are quiet & private with a cute little terrace out front.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyfeet86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your stayed with us and thank for your
very good comment at trip advisor,

wishing you have a good day and we hope to see you a gain.

Yours sincerely,

W.Padmi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

After staying in Seminyak for 2 weeks, we ended our holiday for another week in Sanur to relax. Lovely hotel, lovely rooms, real Balinese style, lovely gardens, magnificent pool, the dining room sits on the edge of the pathway that leads to the beach. If your up early enough you get to see the sunrise. The staff are friendly, gardens are beautiful

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan P, Guest Relations Manager at Vila Shanti Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Sir,

We are very happy to read you a very good comment at trip advisor.

Thank you very much and hope to see you again in the future.

Wishing you have a lovely day!

Yours sincerely,

W.Pad,o/.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews