We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,839)
Filter reviews
3,839 results
Traveller rating
2,661
777
251
85
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,661
777
251
85
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service arwana restaurant kulkul bar cornerstone deli kul kul bar a lagoon view room our honeymoon lagoon access beach front access room sun loungers welcome drink real bali shopping centre beach bar nice beach low tide
Filter
Updating list...
2,642 - 2,647 of 3,839 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The hotel surroundings, rooms, staff, cleanliness are impeccable but I find it rather crass and annoying that at the relatively high price of the rooms they still charge $15/day for internet use in the rooms (even cheap hotels offer it for free), they convert the $ price of the room to Ruppiah at a rate that is about 6% higher than the going rate (you can't pay in $ using a credit card), their breakfasts are about $20 a person, and their spa prices (such as massage) are 3-4 times higher than outside the hotel. This is very bad behavior for a hotel that considers itself classy. The fitness center has minimal equipment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelaguna, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear Valued Reviewer

Greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa, Bali, A Luxury Collection Resort!

I trust you had a smooth landing at home and have returned to the busy routine of daily life after your recent holiday in Bali.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.
Thank you also for your constructive feedback in regards to our internet charges, fitness facilities, spa and breakfast pricing as well as our exchange rate.

Your feedback is very much appreciated in order for us to review our products and services so that the next time you stay with us, we will be able to provide you with a distinctive and enriching experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when your travel plans bring you back to Bali and The Laguna, we will ensure that your next experience with us is perfect one.


Warmest regards from Paradise

David C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Took my wife to celebrate our anniversary, she was not dissappointed! Most reviews have already given accurate feedback. For those comments about expensive food, this is a 5 star hotel, thus expect 5 star prices, but you get 5 star service. We had a secluded lagoon access suite (168) in the back corner, very quiet and peaceful. Butler service a nice feature. Room service excellent. This hotel also targets couples, with no ammenities for kids. We love kids, but for this holiday, we wanted luxury, and an adult atmosphere. I booked the Nusa Bagus island for a private anniversary dinner, and this was spectacular. Staff excellent. The manager (David) has done a very nice job here. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelaguna, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua, Bali!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to learn that you had a most enriching and distinctive wedding anniversary while staying at The Laguna and that our team looked after you very well.

On behalf of The Laguna family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.


Warmest regards from Paradise

David C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My husband and I have just returned from our one week honeymoon at the Laguna Resort & Spa and frankly, this is one of the best holidays that we have ever had.

The Laguna is not a new property (we met a couple who had been traveling there for the last 12 years or so) but what it may lack in 'newness' it most certainly makes up for in welcome. Praise where praise is due, I don't think that I have ever had the pleasure of such a professional, courteous and genuinely welcoming team in any property that I have ever stayed in. There are so many people that I would like to thank but extra special thanks should go out to Ika of the Concierge Desk for her follow up on our various requests; she really went that extra mile to help us.

The food at the Laguna is second-to-none; from the breakfast through to the afternoon tea and dinner. I noticed that other TA members reviewed the food as pricey. It is perhaps on the expensive side relative to non-resort restaurants in Bali, however, for a property of this standard we found the prices reasonable, most especially given the excellent quality of food and service. The linguine king prawns is not to be missed and don't forget to try the chicken avocado and cashew nut pizza.

We were late risers so some mornings we did struggle to get the best pick of the sunbeds but it was never a real issue as other guests tended to move around and vacate them quite early plus the beach staff were always happy to find a solution for us. If you feel like treating yourself to a sunshade gazebo these can be pre-booked via the spa at the cost of USD 25 per full day or USD 15 for four hours.

Perhaps given the proximity of the Bali Collection (a shopping centre style place a short walk, free shuttle bus or cab ride away) the shops in the resort itself are very limited and ridiculously expensive (e.g. standard bottle of Ambre Solaire sunlotion USD 45) so make sure that you stock up on your sunlotion before heading to the beach the first day. We didn't and regretted it come the first evening! The Bali sun, even though it's quite cloudy and windy on the beach, is way more powerful than anything in the Middle East (where we live)...you have been warned!

To complete my review and give a balanced insight into our trip, it is important to outline a couple of the negative aspects (even though they are really quite minor). Firstly, 24 hours prior to leaving home I had emailed the hotel requesting two very low pillows. I did not receive a reply until we had already checked in and discovered that housekeeping didn't have any....mmm...a little advance notice would have helped as we would have brought our own. Secondly, our room didn't have a hairdryer which I found quite strange for a resort of this quality. Needless to say housekeeping immediately brought us one upon request. Thirdly, be prepared for your credit card to be debited without prior notification two or three days prior to your departure. This was not an issue for us, however, we were somewhat alarmed to receive sms notification from our bank of a significant debit as we sat on the beach.

Overall the Laguna makes for a fabulous holiday and we would not hesitate to recommend it to other travellers. Bali is beautiful and the Balinese spirit of welcome is truly personified at the Laguna. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebsDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelaguna, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua, Bali!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to learn that you had a most enriching and distinctive honeymoon while staying at The Laguna and that our team looked after you very well.

Thank you for your constructive feedback in regards to your pillow preference and the readiness of hairdryer in the room. I have personally shared this with my team to ensure improvement is made immediately.

On behalf of The Laguna family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality on your second honeymoon.


Warmest regards from Paradise

David C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This was our third visit to the Laguna Resort. "Welcome Home" was our greeting on arrival, and yes it does feel like home. The pool area is far superior to anything else we have seen.
The beach is clean, The gardens are immaculate. The rooms are spotless.The staff are wonderful.
We had a mix up on arrival with our room,but eventually sorted out to our satisfaction. The hotel was at its busiest that we have experienced, but the service was still very good and the grounds are so big that we still felt that we had privacy if we wanted it.
The spa is quite expensive by Bali standards, but the staff are very experienced and the surroundings are very serene and relaxing.
The Bali collection shopping area is a five minute walk away, Meals are cheaper here and you can buy supplies of snacks and drinks if wished. Further down the road is a small traditional market area where you can barter for T shirts and the like. much better than the streets of Kuta
Hoping to return"Home" next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caberdeen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelaguna, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua, Bali!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to learn that you had once again a most enriching and distinctive experience while staying at The Laguna and that our team looked after you very well.

On behalf of The Laguna family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality next year.


Warmest regards from Paradise

David C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I thought I would start from the top to try and give other travellers a few tips.

Currency
We were advised to take US dollars and US dollar traveller cheques. This was a waste of time as those places that did accept dollars did not give very favourable exchange rates, therefore I would just suggest taking Rupiah.

Airport
Upon arrival at Denpasar you will need to pay $25 per person for a visa. The queue to join is the one on the left when you arrive. Once purchased you then need to join another queue to get through passport control. We were directed to passport control (to the right of the main queues) and got through very quickly. Once you get your luggage avoid the Porters at all costs. They will try and grab your luggage from you, or offer assistance, but they will demand payment before they will give you your luggage back. Politely, but firmly tell them No thanks, otherwise you may find out this could be quite expensive "help". When leaving the airport you will walk through a walkway full of money change windows who will be shouting at you to change money...just walk through and out.

Hotel
The hotel is about 20 mins from the airport. We had arranged a private taxi which I would recommend. Upon arrival you will go through a security check point to get into the hotel complex of Nusa Dua and another security scanner when you get to the hotel. This was rather re-assuring in a strange way and didn't feel intrusive. The hotel is surrounded by other 4 - 5 star hotels so you will need to get away from the complex to experience the real Bali. The hotel itself is fantastic, you will be greeted with an ice tea and a cold towel on arrival in reception whilst they do the paperwork for your stay. You will then be escorted to the room and shown how everything works.

We had a requested a nice quiet room and were situated in the far block away from the main reception (room 372). The room was big and spacious and had a very large comforable bed. A nice power shower and a corner bath, which was decorated with flowers when we arrived as we were on our honeymoon.

Their is a 24 butler service who will bring you complimentary tea (including herbal teas) and coffee, usually within 15 mins of ordering. You also get two complimentary bottles of water per day, although after a few days sunbathing we were both dehydrated, we simply asked for an additional six bottles of water per day which were also provided free of charge. We struggled a little bit with our stomachs coming from the UK, however a quick visit to the onsite doctor ($50) and armed with some pills this soon settled down. The doctor called the hotel to inform them we had visited and the hotel called us and arranged to send us some porridge (non dairy) free of charge to ensure we were eating. A very nice touch.

A word about how to avoid the stomach issues, dont drink the water, we used bottle water to brush our teeth also. Avoid dairy products and spicy food, it appears our western stomachs were too sensitive! Drink plenty of water also, around 3 litres per day is recommended if you are not used to tropical heat.

There is afternoon tea and cakes provided between 3 - 4pm in the Mayang Sari resturant which is also free and we can thoroughly recommend. We were not told about this during check in, but fortunately had read trip advisor first and found out that way.

The food in the various restaurants is excellent, although pricey. The Bali collection does offer more reasonably priced food, but lets just say the scenery isn't so nice! The breakfast choice was vast, catering for all tastes. It can get busy around 10 am so best to go just before or after, although contrary to the handbook in the room breakfast finishes at 10.30 and not 11.

The staff were fantastic, everyone smiling and saying hello and couldn't do enough for you. The grounds are immaculate and always seem to have someone tending for them. The only frustration is people reserving sun loungers early in the morning around the lagoons, we didn't use the ones on the beach. You had to be up early to get a decent lounger and they had all gone before 10am...a bit of a drag when you are on holiday.

The beach is OK, although you can get spectacular sun rises, you need to go over to the other side of the island to get the dramatic sun sets.

We had a moonlight massage at 8pm which is outside in a large pergoda, very relaxing, however avoid booking this on a Friday night, as this is when the hotel has some 50 dancers in during a traditional song/dance which did spoil the mood a bit.

Tours
We had a few day trips out, the one with Bali Traditional Tours was excellent, google them for details but book in advance as he does get busy. Excellent guide, very informative and a really warm genuine person. We also visited Kuta, which I would avoid unless you want to be in any shopping centre anywhere in the world. Taneh Lot was nice for some great photos, and alledgedly great sunsets, although on the day we were there we had too much cloud cover.

Finally regretably you will be hassled by people trying to sell you stuff at all the tourist locations, including the beach if you choose to get a lounger there, although you are OK if you stay around the lagoons. Some of the sellers can be very pesistant but the rule of thumb to avoid them is do not make eye contact with them and dont indulge in conversation, just say No thanks and keep walking.

Finally on leaving Bali you will need to pay another 150,000 rupiah each (about $15 US dollars) so bear this in mind.

All in all, a great hotel with fantastic staff which I would highly recommend to you.

I hope the above is useful to you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuffolkRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelaguna, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua, Bali!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to learn that you had a most enriching and distinctive experience while staying at The Laguna and that our team looked after you very well.

On behalf of The Laguna family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.


Warmest regards from Paradise

David C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews